Layla, the depressed soul

27 38
Avatar for Princessbusayo
1 year ago

“Genuine poetry can communicate before it is understood.”

T.S. Eliot

I tried coming up with a poetry last night as I wanted to enter for a challenge that just started in Hive Learners community on Hive. I decided to ask for help from my professional, KP to help me scan through it and I was excited with his reply that it was brilliant. I love poetry but I just don't know how to come up with something but I tried right?

Well, you will give me your response after reading through it.


Been a while since I have been in this world

I don't seem to understand humankind

It feels as if the whole world has been contaminated.

My name is Layla, the young local girl.


My soul is depressed

Not hygienic for a young girl like me

I feel like crossing the great beyond

This wasn't what I expected from human beings

This is Layla, the young local girl


How do you define love to be?

I thought love teaches all things?

But I don't seem to see those who model what they talked about

Everyone keeps shouting love love

But I don't see it around me


You told me love is patient

But I see everyone killing themselves for money

The thirst for wealth has made people slaughter another being

Is that love? Is that what you preach?


You told me love is not jealous

But I see friends ruining each other's lives because of social recognition, fame and the likes

Why can't everyone be happy with one another?

Is that what your love says?

To be jealous and destroy each other?


You told me love isn't proud

Why do I see people not bowing to authorities?

Everyone wants to be in power

No one wants to humble another

Should love be so?

What are you preaching?


The world is confusing and it feels like heat to me

I am depressed and wish to return to where I came from

I am Layla, the young local girl

I am depressed, and so is my soul.


We all have underrated the word “love” and we don't seem to practice with a sincere heart what it means. I wonder why the world is such a mess that we don't love each other, but we derive joy in slaughtering and destroying our fellow human beings.

“Love your neighbour as yourself”.

Isn't that what the Bible says? We don't even remember the word of God and the greatest commandment which is LOVE

This poor young girl, Layla is so depressed, not when she had read that part that talks about loving each other. She felt sad seeing how the world has turned to. We aren't negotiating for peace at all, but all we want is violence everywhere, thereby wasting lives, involving in rituals.

If we truly value our lives, if truly we know what love is, if truly we understand what sacrifice means, we won't have to go this length to damage lives and properties.

Let us come together and show love. Only by this would we be united. United we stand, divided we fall.

With the recent killings and what is happening in the world, it makes my heart bitter and I was inspired to touch something about love. I think studying the qualities of love should be our priority and stop hating another.

Love is kind

Love is patient

Love is not selfish

Love is not proud

Love is kind

Love does not brag, it is not arrogant

Love is not jealous or envious

Love is not rude

Love is not self-seeking

Love does not provoke

Love does not get angry or over sensitive

Love gets excited in truth and it bears all things etc

These are the qualities of love that can also be found in the Bible. Let's show love to one another and see how amazing the world would be.

Someone asked a question in a movie I watched last night;

“Is it possible for everyone not to embrace love and peace?”

Answer that in your mind.

There are some parts I didn't include in my other blog on Hive, I had to add more here.

Thanks for reading

Image by Khoa on pexels

[July 03, 2022] (No 184 articles for the year)

12
$ 2.18
$ 1.88 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
$ 0.05 from @tired_momma
+ 7
Sponsors of Princessbusayo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Princessbusayo
1 year ago

Comments

You don't understand how impressed and excited I am to see you lay your hands on poetry and deliver this masterpiece with such effect too. KP...you are doing well.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I guess the spirit took over me when I wrote it and for the fact that you gave a nice review, I am glad. Thank you, kP😘

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is amazing, no doubt. I am super impressed.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The poem is perfect.... poem comes from within and it's best to express the situation of things.

in our world today, the word love has been turned upside down, those people who says they love you , will always love you because of what they got from you. and some people claim they love you will even hurt you .

Have seen a situation where a boy killed his gf because of what, and I ask myself, what's the word turning into? Is this the love Christ preached to us?

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I also heard some days ago how a small boy killed his mother. For what exactly? We are in the last days though but isn't it better we embrace love? So sad.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

A lot of things has changed as time progressed, and sadly, younger generations' view of love has become more narrowed, because of influence of TV shows, or how it's portrayed in some series. I still admire the genuine love in the past times, where sincerity and enduring for love really prevailed.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

We hope the true love returns back to this generation so we can live in peace together.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Great work! This is second article I have read today about depression but this is in another form.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you, Articlee. I hope you are doing fine?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We born with love and should be love.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That is it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

love is often not in accordance with, biblical commands.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

People have given it a different meaning from the Bible.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I still believe in the power of love, even behind all of the hatreds coming all overt the world. Love still heals.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yea, love heals.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

How do you define love to be?

I thought love teaches all things?

But I don't seem to see those who model what they talked about

Everyone keeps shouting love love

But I don't see it around me

I love this part, love is patient truly but where's the love in our world today?

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes, oo, let's ask that question. If many people can just give the right answer to that, then I don't think there would be reason to love but to do it unconditionally.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

They surely would but their words aren't practiced. Just words, no action.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Love is most sacred feeling we have someone special but unfortunately people don't take its meaning like this. They all take and make negative comments about it. You are good poetess sister. Be a more precious poem writer. I wish you all the best.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

😎😎Thank you, Blueflipper. I will try my best too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is genuinely great princess, love covers all things, genuine love is connected to many things

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes, that is true. Thank you

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Love bears all things, that's my favourite. It truly is! I enjoyed that Princess. 😊

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yea, that line alone covers many aspects of life. Thank you ma

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nice poetry! You did justice to this one!... I must say you are good... Live has different definitions to people... but one thing I know is that love is a selfless act!... It's sacrifice!... It's kindness.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yea, love is sacrifice and we must understand that. Thank you, Cesca. I appreciate your reading it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Gracias Princess...

$ 0.00
1 year ago