Cold today - vegetable soup recipe!

3 15
Avatar for Pouki
Written by
2 years ago

Hello everyone,

Winter is almost here, some cold has come already (at least here in Greece, because I know in other countries you already have enough cold) and it's the best time to start eating healthy and full of vitamins plates, such as soups!

Personally I enjoy all kind of soups, but one of my favorites is the one with vegetables only. I usually put onion, carrot, potatoe, celery and cabbage. These are the basic ingredients for me to start a vegetable soup, and then I add whatever I like. Let's see today's ingredients I used:

  • 4-5 tablespoons olive oil

  • chopped leek (1 medium)

  • chopped fresh onion (2 medium)

  • chopped carrots (3 to 4 carrots)

  • chopped celery (2 pieces)

  • chopped pumpkin (3 big pieces)

  • chopped beetroot (3 medium pieces)

  • chopped red pepper (1 piece)

  • chopped mushrooms (3-4 big ones)

  • chopped sweet potato (1 medium)

  • chopped cabbage (about 1 small plate)

  • chopped broccoli (4-5 flowers)

  • baby spinach (200gr)

  • chopped tomatoes (2 medium)

  • some orzo (4-5 spoons)

  • ground black pepper

  • sea salt

  • fresh lemon juice, optional (2 pieces)

Heat the oil in a pot over medium heat. Add the fresh onions, carrots, celery, and leek. Stir until the vegetables have softened about 5 minutes.

Add the mushrooms, cabbage, broccoli, red pepper, sweet potato, stir them again for 2 – 3 minutes.

Add the pumpkin, beetroot, tomatoes, and baby spinach, stir them all together for 2 – 3 minutes.

Add about 3 cups of water, salt, and pepper, and leave them cook for about 20 minutes.

I like my soup have the feeling of “velvet”. If you don’t like the idea, you can make the soup, without removing the vegetables, still you must cut smaller pieces of them.

Remove the pot from the heat and remove all vegetables, mash them in another vessel, and when you’re done, add them into the leftover soup in the pot.

Optional add lemon juice, the orzo, stir and let it cook for about 10 minutes in low heat. Taste and season with more salt, or/and pepper. Serve.

The taste is delicious, I wish if you make it enjoy it! Bon Appetit or else, “Kali Orexi” in Greek 😊

2
$ 0.84
$ 0.74 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Bloghound
Avatar for Pouki
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Pouki, you made me very hungry right now I swear!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

lol :) That was the purpose! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ugh! haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago