Another Murakami Masterpiece: Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki

3 31
Avatar for Plint
Written by
1 year ago
Topics: Review, Personal, Blog, Books, Book, ...

This year I have set myself the challenge to read 52 books in 2022 or one book a week. This is a decent challenge but I am very excited about it!

Number 20 was Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage by Murakami.


Sources

Now I love pretty much everything that Murakami has written. He is a Japanese/ English writer that manages to mix in real worlds with imagined worlds. They often involve a single man with a very neat household and some very strange things that happen from there on out.

The Review

Tsukuru Tazaki had four best friends in highschool. All his friends had a color in their name, except for Tsukuru. When he leaves his hometown for university his friends tell him they can no longer be friends with him and cast him out of their group. Tsukuru becomes estranged from life itself, unable to make friends, keep relationships or find a direction is his life he has been disconnected since his friends cast him aside.


Source

All changes when he starts dating a woman who says whe will not continue dating him unless he searches for the truth of what happened between him and his friends. She has realized that Tsukuru cannot truly be himself if he cannot move on from the trauma of being cast aside by his friends.

Tsukuru goes on a travel to find out what happened and why his friends cast him aside. He will embark on a journey that will take him to his hometown, Sweden and his own dreams to unravel the true story.

Why I Love It

I am pretty biased as I love almost any book written by Murakami, but this is yet another masterpiece. It is unbelievable how Murakami manages to mix our world with the magical without it seeming fabricated or unrealistic.


Source

Like his other books this one takes you on a travel not only physically but also into the mind. At times it can make it feel as if you are on a personal journey with the protagonist. I would really recommend this read!

Have you been reading anything fun lately? I am looking for recommendations for my summer reading!

4
$ 2.40
$ 2.38 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @Mictorrani
$ 0.01 from @Sequoia
Sponsors of Plint
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Plint
Written by
1 year ago
Topics: Review, Personal, Blog, Books, Book, ...

Comments

Haven't read it yet but I think it's quite interesting. Might take a glimpse of it

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have wanting to read Murakami for a long time and what you tell seems to be so interesting... I think Murakami will be in my next books.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Oh he has amazing books! Would definitely recommend to read a murakami!

$ 0.00
1 year ago