The most Southern tip of Africa continent

6 22
Avatar for Pixidust
2 years ago

I'm at the most southern tip on the African continent. On the photo you can see the deviding line of both the Indian Ocean to my left or the east and the Atlantic Ocean to the right or west. I'm looking South when I took the Pic.

I took this one to show the start of the rocky shore view that's going up the eastern side of the content.

This Pic I took shows the starting view of the rocky shore going west up the African continent. Standing at this point is mind blowing, as thoughts started going through my mind of positioning and direction and distance of cities and countries from where I'm standing. I've been here a few times and it's always breath taking. I see lots of visitors taking selfies and photos and actually spend very little time at this point. I found that taking a world map and sitting down at a spot and finding your home brings a awesome feeling of amazement and awe.

If you turnaround and face North up the deviding line, you can see a sculpture of the Africa continent. It's very well done as when you stand on the southern tip you get a better simulation of where in the world you are actually standing at that moment. Live and enjoy the moment as it's memorable.

1
$ 0.03
$ 0.03 from @ARTicLEE
Avatar for Pixidust
2 years ago

Comments

Have you noticed if there is difference in the color of water? I remember standing at a bridge overlooking the Philippine Sea and South China Sea. Our teacher said that there is a difference in color and where they meet it's noticeable although I haven't seen it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The locals say the same yes. I fish often in this area and I haven't seen it clearly. But at times I can see a color change as I move around up the coast. It's about the two ocean currents that splits up. One goes east up the continent which is warm and the other one goes west up the continent which is cold.

You can feel the difference in temperature for sure. I did a Ironman triathlon in Durban and East London and the water was warm. I ve been up the west coast to Langebaan and my toes went numb

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That would be interesting to witness. I didn't know there is a change in temperature too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I went out to the tip to take a look and nothing. I'll maybe need to go up the lighthouse to get higher elevation. I got some fotos but can't post them in a reply it seems. The stingray weren't home to, but got some fotos of birdies and odds and ends. I can't resist a chance at taking some pics. I'll put that foto off the water color on the bucket list to take for a future post 😊

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's too bad. I'm sure the other photos are interesting :D

I hope they can incorporate photos in the comments just like in noise.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm heading out in about a hours time. I'm trying to get our local stingray on video and foto in the Struisbaai Harbour. I'll go to the tip and take a pick or 2 of the ocean for you. Maybe we can see a difference. It's cloudy and windy at moment. It's a awesome reason to give the misses to go out. Thanks loads 😁👍

$ 0.00
2 years ago