Preserved Tragedies

27 52
Avatar for Pichi28
2 years ago

I was looking at my pictures in my external hard drive like I always do - randomly typing in a character in the search box and and adding ".jpg" at the end so it filters and just result to all images.

The search workflow.. I typed in "22.jpg" in the search and it game me all images with "22" in the file name and file extension of .jpg

This way, I get to randomly time travel through my pictures. If I get to see something interesting (to me), I make a story out of it or tell its story. If an image has no impact (to me) whatsoever, I allow myself to be bothered with thoughts of keeping it or deleting it. Since I do keep digital clutter, "keeping" it usually wins.

Sponsors of Pichi28
empty
empty
empty
my lovely sponsors! Do read them!!

Also this habit or hobby is also one of the culprits why sometimes I end up not writing anything at all. Because sometimes, images will show up, get me excited, I open the main folder that image is stored and I end up with a whole lot of images and videos I get too engrossed looking back until I no longer have the brain-ergy (get it? Brain plus energu is brain-ergy) to type in what is in my head.

One time I was looking at the search results and I saw two travels : Coron's shipwreck sites locally and then there's Cambodia's Choeung EK Genocidal Center.

Two sites that tourists flock into. Two sites that got me musing about how the past generations' tragedy is a tourist spot for the next generation.

It is sometimes with educational takeaways - connecting to the past - and most for travel photos.

First Pick : Coron

I have for a long time wanted to share my Coron experience with the extended travel buddies. It was also in a November - year 2016. But every time I look into those videos I'd forget that I was intending to write about it.

Coron is no doubt beautiful. We had so much fun looking at how's life down there. Fishes, soft sand, blue water, yummy food and dive sites with ship wrecks. But of course since I am not a diver, it was my friends who went to see the sunk ships in the deeper part of the sea. I only got to see the one on the shallow end. You only need to look down and voila the ship wreck's there. Some of the wrecks, I had my friend take my cam with him so he can take footages of what's the wreck like.

For me.

And It was in Coron, however, and during one of those times I was swimming around the wreck and admiring the life that now inhabits the previous mighty war ship that I got to thinking that most of the places we enjoy now for leisure and tourism were places of tragedy at one point.

This place was where a lot of lives were lost. Save for the cerulean color of the water, this place was once filled with thick red blood- of agony, faded dreams, broken families, etcetera.

Second pick : Cambodia

This was part of our Indochina getaway. And I think this one part of that trip was the most solemn. The moment we got off the vehicle we were on, there was a looming, heavy feeling already.

It was a good thing we did not rent audio guide. We used the map that was given out in the entrance and, well, we did not follow the sequence anyway. In case we felt we were kind of lost, we tailed some other tourists. It was one thing being conditioned to think it is the killing fields after all, it is another reading the stories behind those bracelets, the trees (yes, trees!), the spots where a wooden plank were used as bridge so as not to step on the ground. This part, the greens of the growing grass and the brown colors of the drying ground, used to be red as well.

It was that one place that I probably would not want to go back to. Not because I'm scared of it but because you feel the sadness in that area. One experience for that place is enough. The rest I can read and watch in documentaries.

It is one of the odd beauties of life, I guess? One's tragedy is a learning tool for another or leisure? Some places linger with the tragedy others bring leisure?

Life goes on.

Let us just enjoy going to places and mark the learnings as good-to-know about history.


© Pichi28 | #ClubBrokeBCH

All Original Content

Unless specified otherwise...

18
$ 8.85
$ 8.39 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Eylz2021
$ 0.06 from @TengoLoTodo
+ 12
Sponsors of Pichi28
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Pichi28
2 years ago

Comments

Coroooon! Pero di rin ako mag eenjoy, takot ako sa tubig. Hahaha pang dalampasigan lang talaga beauty ko. 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

waaah Missjo! merong life vest!!! tapos tapos ang cute ng ilalim kahit yuko ka lang marami nang life forms ...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

this is one part of history that I do not like.. the tragedies but yes we learned a lot from it, it's just odd that when you visit those places you can still feel the sadness, the grief no matter how many years have already passed.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

even the cuchi tunnel had the same feel. i guess imagining the happenings then connects us somehow. imagine those things had to take place so we can be "free" now..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We do need to remember atrocities in history to ensure we as humans stop doing it to each other. I love your travels wee pp, me is very jealous.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Uncle Ed!! Visit Philippines!!! You will most likely love the underwater world,, specially that you dive..!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I know wee pp you owe me a coffee over there;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Travelling, the best way to know a different culture by living such incredible experiences!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

True. Though I hope I get the chance to stay in a place longer. few days for traveling as a tourist and extended days to live like locals do. It's hard to "live like a local" the first time visiting the place specially when what you see is super beautiful and super far from your usual scene! waah!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The good thing about traveling is we get to learn about the culture and the history of the country/place. 💙 I hope i get to travel in the future pag marami ng pera 😂

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Go go go Alpha corn!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is Awesome Pic Captured By You and You're achievement I wish I would be there and enjoy our day like you Coron is a beautiful and nice city according To you

Best wishes for you Best wishes for you And I really appreciate you dear For telling us to about you're visiting

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I want to go to Coron. Maybe if I have enough money to travel I will visit Coron. I look the pictures of that, how amazing it is.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

mjaytech! oo :) include Coron in your prayers for places to go to God permitting!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ohh I love Coron so much sis. Been there last 2018. Grabe, nakaka amaze ang place. Want to go back there soon

$ 0.01
2 years ago

imagine mo sis... by now.. naka pag pahinga talaga ang mga kilalang nature tourist spots.. MALAMANG sa malamang.. ang ganda lalo ngayon nun ... bawi sis bawi! at balik sa coron!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think they were good trips despite the tragedies that happened in those places in the past. Good things and bad things are inevitable, but they will always create a new memory. It's great to travel even though the place you go to before there was a war, because today it's something better, a monument, a historical site, a tourist place. Bad things will always be there, you just have to know what to do.

PS: I would love to be able to dive in the water like you did to explore the shipwrecks, it would be a great experience.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

hi ArteFM! Thank you for reading!!! Yes that is true!! Oh go dive .. I cannot dive deeper though. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have a student who does scuba diving, he once invited me but I couldn't go. I would have loved to learn. He lives in another country now

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ang ganda pala talaga nang Coron eh..makakapunta na sana ako jan kung di lang nag pandemic

$ 0.02
2 years ago

uu mommy kim! dibale bawi ka lift ng mga restrictions! sarap lalo malamang dun mommy k! Matagal tagal nakapahinga ang nature!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sometimes I spend some time aloe to think about tragedies in history... we have come a longgg way, at least for women

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh yes! and that, too.. that one is a one really good and refreshing to revisit. Imagine if we were still thought of as we should just be doing house chores and nothing more...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Those coral pictures are so awesome dear. Loved it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you Luci dear friend!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awnnnn..I love fishes so much! I think its probably because i am a fishery student. They are just so precious looking!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hi Mizhutty!! nice meeting you! I haven't met anyoine who's taken up fishery!

$ 0.00
2 years ago