Life Meter

15 59
Avatar for Pichi28
2 years ago

Life is beautiful!

It is true, right? Do you agree?

But despite that truth we also cannot deny that life is also full of strife and hardships all in different magnitude and levels depending on one's life, standpoint and experiences. At which point we sometimes also say life is tough, hard, cruel. I wonder if overall, in the end, we would say life is beautiful with all the scars and lashes it brought us.

Part of this beautiful life is that part where we "grow old". Ageing. Going grey and wrinkling.

Eventually, we will not be as physically strong as we used to be. I remember feeling the signs one time when I was not able to finish a trek during a tree-planting drive. I was partly embarrassed and hugely amused. Embarrassed because I was so set to finishing it. And everyone also did not expect me, being known to be sporty and physically active, to raise the white flag few more meters away from the area where we would be planting. Hugely amused because it is my reality. No matter how much my mind was set to finish strong and complete my body refuses to move.

Sponsors of Pichi28
empty
empty
empty

I have quietly been observing my grandmother. I was watching a movie in Netflix one time and she was seated in the dining area and me on the chair right in front of the telly. Then I heard a loud whack on the table and I turned around to see my grandmother holding the fly swatter and turning ninja in gingerly smacking fat flies.

And I observed that she is still strong for a 92 year old. She gets tired easily though. Her hearing have faded. And all other signs of being old is there. Yet she is strong and well. Praise God.

When my cousins were still here in the province with us for the holidays, there were morning greetings with lola where she would do a little dance.

And she would also laugh at me when I show even a hint of trying to offer her my hand to walk around the house.

It is not easy getting old, though. You do become dependent on people who would take care of you. Fact. That said, I'm curious...

Until how old would you want to live?

Lols. That sounded rather blunt and out of nowhere. But it is one of the questions that I have a varying answers to lately.

My cousin would tell our grandma, "cheers to 100 more years, lola". To which my cousin will get a smack on the forehead or a pinch on the side. My lola would reply, "that will make things hard for me." And she laughs with us about it.

I have a close friend who said she'd like not to reach 50. To me that was a horrible thing to say. But she has her reasons.

We cannot put a hard stop or dead (oh a pun!) line on our life span we can only do our best to make the most of it until we are called back home.

I remember playing badminton one time and watching one game set of seniors on the court beside us. They were still really swift and quick on their feet! Playing against them one time and they did play well! What they cannot make up for speed, they make up for smart placing- with us the young ones ending up with aching back sides. Oh, but their smashes were still hard to hit back and return, too. We were like, oh when we get to their age we have to be as good if not better.

When we were walking around Paris we saw three ladies of age and we watched them slowly go up the stairs. We looked at each other (the three of us) and thought, would we still be able to travel like them when we get to their age?

However long, though, I pray I would not stop to thank God for the beauty of life - the good, the bad and the ugly - all packaged and ribboned in one huge box as a gift I am yet to enjoy every nook and cranny of.

Cheers to discovering more of our life stories as days go by, as seasons fold in and out and as years turn in. Praying we draw strength each time from God.


Day 13 lols. It is honestly hard to consistently be posting when the weather has been making the bed and under the covers the best place to spend the rest of the night in. That said... Night night!

© Pichi28 | #ClubBrokeBCH

All Original Content

Unless specified otherwise...

19
$ 9.79
$ 9.14 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Eylz2021
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
+ 12
Sponsors of Pichi28
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Pichi28
2 years ago

Comments

I'd love to see your lola doing the fly whacking and hopefully she can still be able to do that for a long time :) My lolo is a lot years younger than her but he is now more confined to bed. Growing old is inevitable.

My partner doesn't want to live beyond 50 too thinking it's an age where it is too old. With our lifestyle, our environment, what's happening to the world, etc I'm starting to think that 50 is really too old. I don't want to live to see another pandemic or worse.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't know why but that fly swatting comment on your grandma made me smile a lot.. ahhh bless her!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I will be happy until the morning I don't wake up wee pp

$ 0.00
2 years ago

aliw si lola... pero until what age? i don't want to get that old if I am single :) but heaven above planned it already so I guess whatever it is let it be done according to his will :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! 92 na si lola mo? Grabe long life pala lahi nyo sis.. I would say let's just bloom where we are planted and will be living life beautifully..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We have to go with the flow patiently through the ups and down of life with a smile on our face. And what you said about weather i feels the same but during exam times.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As it said, no one knows the future. So yeah, you're right. Let's just live the most of it and better enjoy it while we can.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Life is a mystery yet to be solved.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Consider yourself lucky if you get to reach the age of 50. Haha. For me, I really don't mind how long I want to stay alive. I just I want to have a peaceful death with no regrets.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your close friend reminds me of a friend of mine too. She said she'd be gone by 45, I said that's way too early! For some, life starts at that age, for some it ends there. But she has her own reasons too. We can't blame them for seeing life like that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I never imagine myself reaching my 70s age hahaha kidding but yeah parang hirap kasi pag tumanda na yung grandma ko masigla pa namn sya but makakalimutin na talaga kahit names namin di na niya maalala. Minsan kinakabahan na lang kami kasi pati name nya di na nya maalala by the way she's 90 yrs old na and thanks God strong pa din.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There' a part of me thag is curious on how would it feel to be old. Pero di ko na ata need ma curious ate pichi, ngayon palang may signs na ako eh huhu. Sumasakit na baalkanh ko at tuhod ko. But growing old is an amazing thing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My grandma is turning 85 this march. Still strong but she barely hears what we say. We would have to shout until she hears us. I don't want to reach that age. I bet I will never reach that age. With all the food and unhealthy lifestyle that I have, I would be blessed if I would still be lively at 50.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako sis, ayokong tumanda if ever, early lang ako mawala kasi ayoko mag suffer relatives ko pag ako magkasakit.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How old would I want to live? Tough question. But I just want to have a peaceful death.

$ 0.00
2 years ago