In Between Sips and Clicks

9 46
Avatar for Pichi28
2 years ago

Whenever I do a random browsing and viewing through my gallery both in my laptop and my phone, I love the flashbacks that run in my head.

Pictures are mere still frames of what transpired, right? May it be an epic night out, a casual conversation, a catch up or maybe an impromptu getaway. Or a simple intimate moment with your self while walking down the street musing about some things and right in front of you a scene that starts speaking of incomprehensible stories and taking a snap of it makes you feel like you captured the story it is trying to convey.

I remember I called taking pictures as freezing a second in a frame. That second of capturing the light and the registry of whatever is in front of the frame cannot be repeated again no matter how many similar shots you took. And from that second roots a thousand possible stories.

Pictures do paint a thousand words and it reels in a review of thousand pasts and replays of thousand dreams - fulfilled and still taking place.

It takes you back in time.

Like this one for example. It flashed in my "some years ago today" in google photos. Three years if I remember the flash back correctly.

the cork ain't our cork if my memory serves me well

It was a night that we discovered that this particular Coffee Bean and Tea Leaf in Global City is serving wine. It was a thanksgiving-slash-Christmas celeb of me and my friends in the office. We have been working hard, not having time to talk to each other about life and not being able to plan our trips, we decided to set time for some dinner and coffee. Originally. That was the plan. We had to try this, though.

And another flashback came when I saw the picture of the Sangria we discovered in one of the nearby bistro near our place of work and it was one delicious drink. It was a perfect choice for non drinkers like us and a good pick for when we had a rough and tough day, not wanting to go home yet and we'd want to cool down a bit. Coffee of course comes after. Not right after but for when everyone's home.

That picture led me try to mix one up for myself. I did not know how to fix one so I tried googling it up. I only had my dad's red wine, his orange and his pear. So I said, whatever. I also remember I have a citrus juice drink and thought I can use that, too. The result was far from what I envisioned how it should look like. Besides, I was a little too lazy to mince the orange and the pear so, I dunked chunks of them in my small glass.

chunky chunky

I crushed the orange and the pear briefly and then poured in the citrus juice and then the wine. I liked the taste though. While I was doing that of course was a chance to take shots of what's happening. It was a messy cleanup after.

While I was sipping the drink though, it reminded me for when I first tried Sangria. It was in Hongkong one weekend night. So me and my teammates share a pad so we have common living room, common kitchen, etcetera. So it will be hard stay in the living room and not mingle.

My colleague, Luke (not his real name), invited a friend, Linda (also not her real name), over who is working in one of the bars in Hongkong. We were with two or three other colleagues in the pad and most of them have met Linda from the previous times they have been deployed. They were telling me I should try and taste Linda's version of the drink and they are sure I would love it. She fixed us up some Sangria and ,man, that was crazy mix! So that was when I noted that "Sangria" is a friendly drink. Then the chips, some more booze and food came in and someone brought in the Magic Sing for videoke night. They set everything up while others get a good conversation going.

So while the adults do their rounds of shots on the table, we kids are swigging our favorite soft drink - mine's a coke (yes the drink) then. So while the Sangria was awesome I still know it is alcoholic so I stopped with after one glass. I and my friend Joey (not his real name) took turns in belting out our stress on the microphone. Then I picked one song from Whitney Houston. While I was punching it in, my friend looked at me with a questioning look on his face.

He asked, "You sure?"

We were already singing off-key on most of our songs so I said, yes. The adults are busy with whatever they are talking about. The only other person who would be a witness to my murdered Houston-ing would be Joey.

So I started with the song and Joey started laughing. He'd stifle that laughter in and snicker in the middle of the song, cover his mouth and then shake his head.

Then he told me something that will have Whitney's "Saving All My Love For You" and memories of Sangria that will forever be etched in my head. Turns out, the friend, Linda, is Luke's girl in HK while Luke is still married to someone else in the Philippines.


What is your story? LOLs. Turning in for a good night night!

© Pichi28

All Original Content

Unless specified otherwise...

15
$ 9.31
$ 8.70 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @TengoLoTodo
$ 0.10 from @GarrethGrey07
+ 11
Sponsors of Pichi28
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Pichi28
2 years ago

Comments

Hhhmmmnn What sweet memories when you flip through your phone and Google photos refresh you of those moments.🥰 Hope you didn't get tipsy after taking the alcohol.lol😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

fruit cocktails...hmmmm

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's why I always saved pictures because I want to keep them remember in the future. Memories are always saved in the pictures that captured.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Memories. Pictures bring a lot of memories. Wann try that sangria, di ba kaya nakakalasing? Haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaha i like how adventurous you are when it comes to mixing drinks.. lets do that soon 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

D ko pa tlga natikman mga ganyan. Ano kya lasa hehe . nkakalasing b? 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sanaol magaling kumanta at karaoke talaga ang hindi mawawalan every celebration.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaah sis tapang tapang tapangan lang pag "safe" kasama.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe so wee pp is a sangriaholic and a star karioke singer! Photos are great for memory prompting

$ 0.00
2 years ago