Had I Known

11 70
Avatar for Pearlkel
2 years ago

This statement kept reoccurring to me after our English language teacher gave us a brain teaser during our literary week in school where students from other schools, representing their school, in a debate and quiz competition, to make ten sentences that must end with the phrase:

Had I Known.

It was my first time representing my school. I fidget upon handling the microphone and speaking through it to the loudspeakers. You know, I could hear my voice oozing through the speaker and I felt the fear. Something ce into me immediately and the voice changed and became confident. After all, it was my stage, let me, Lord, over it. That was the nature of my disposition when I first handled a microphone to speak to a tumult crowd. From that day, it became something I always want to do. Little did I know it would later in life become a career for me.

In one of the programs I was invited to address a group of students who were passing out of secondary school, the principal gave the opening speech. It was the speech that made the turning point in my life. According to the agenda of the programme, my duty was to talk to the students about how to prepare for life after secondary school but I couldn't because Mr. Metibemu the principal had said all. His speech was as thus:

Many years ago when I was like you, after completing my secondary education. It became clear that life has just begun. Some of my classmates were already heading to study abroad. For students like me whose father was farmers or low-income earners or those who worked at a very low cadre with the government, we do not know what life holds for us. We jubilated that our secondary school life had come to an end. Only a few of us thought about what the future holds.

After the whole celebrations had ended and hadn't spent two weeks at home, everything became boring again. My father was always away from home while my mother traded her wares in the marketplace. I was always at home alone. It dawn on me to get busy with something but nothing seemed to come to mind. I started reading old newspapers and would soliloquy. Some of the newspaper contents looked new even though they were stale news. I got used to some political terms we weren't taught in school through reading newspapers. In one of the publications, I read about how you can start a pig farm with just little funds.

The pig thing caught my attention. I started going to the public library and reading books about how to keep a pig farm. It isn't a child's play to rear a pig so I didn't venture it. While I was reading books about pigs, I found a book that talks about keeping local breeds of fowl. I have saved up some money from my little pocket money. Straight to the market I bought a cock and hen to start with. In the morning, I'd just pour out some guinea corn then set the fowls to walk around the compound. In the evening, they would return to their cage. In a year, my fowls had grown from two to six and the rest is the story today.

During the Easter celebrations, I sold cockerels to many of our neighbors and made an abnormal profit. It was time to harvest and I did harvest. I reinvested all the money rearing more local breeds of fowls again. Eggs too we're available to sell. Those days, the poultry business wasn't as lucrative as it is now.

My immediate sister who was six years junior to me was learning all the procedures I followed in nurturing for my fowls. With the money I got, I bought a university matriculation examination form, sat for the exam, and passed. My parents never knew I had done that, they were so shocked when I brought home my admission letter to study economics at the university. I have saved up enough money to cater for everything I would need in school for my first year in case my parents do not have the financial power to sponsor my admission. As if I knew, mom cried and told me to defer my admission.

Mom, you need not worry about money. I have enough money to see through my first year.

How did you get money, my son? Mom asked

I kept money from my fowl business and I have shown Adela how to go about it. Please mom, just help me keep the proceeds from the fowl, that's what I depend on to pay me through the four years.

Today, I am proud to say that little initiative saw me through my university. I wouldn't have amounted to anything if I hadn't discovered that there is more to life at an early stage.

The principal ended his speech and everyone including me gave a standing ovation with a round of applause as he climbs down the podium.

The programme ended because I couldn't find the word. I just whispered to the master of ceremony to skip the next speech. I knew right there and then that I needed to find my balance else I would lose relevance. I went home that day with a challenge to be a better person than I had been.

Lead image

15
$ 6.76
$ 6.40 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @HappyBoy
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 8
Sponsors of Pearlkel
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Pearlkel
2 years ago

Comments

Thank God you were challenged yo be a better person than you were.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is so smart of the principal at that age. The thing is we must not be idle if we truly know what we want and going for.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I am inspired by this article, sometimes I just feel like jumping to the part of my life where I'm financially independent

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I love how you discovered a lot along the way and that kept you going... Learning those things actually played through at the end of the day.. good write up.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thanks for always coming around. In this our world, there are more to learn and make progress if we make ourselves available and teachable.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I still suffer from stage fright, it really took a lot of courage to do what you did. I wasn't there when he made the speech but reading this article, I'm already inspired. Starting from little, it took a lot of time and sacrifice, such initiative. It just shows how important it is to be financially independent at a young age by learning news and productive skills.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It was a great speech. And I took to the challenge to discover more to life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Interesting.. it is not good to be idle for a long time. Always find some thing doing, most importantly something you can earn from.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Busy hands. We should keep our minds busy with productive ideas so we could fill space and occupy time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So it is my beautiful friend habeses to see things we have to go through them. Of course, the earlier we go, the more things and goals we get tired of. Nice afternoon my greetings from Cuba

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you @yesi8201 Cuba is a far place from here but what can the internet not do?

$ 0.00
2 years ago