Life is so Uncertain, so Face Your Fears and just Travel

20 191
Avatar for PatsKy8135
2 years ago

Life is what we make it and our holiday to Abu Dhabi had given me a new perspective on how our existence is just so fleeting. LIFE IS SO UNCERTAIN indeed.

I met a friend whom I haven’t seen in 7 years after we worked in the Middle East only to find out that she had experienced a very challenging situation while working in the desert. Life could have been taken from her easily had she not have the courage to take things easy. Catching up with the time, our conversation was full of reflection, manifesting how the idealism of finding the balance between life and work as an ex-pat abroad.

Stepping into an Arabian Peninsula after 6 years and this time around as a tourist, enjoying what the desert can offer was quite weird. I mean thinking that things were quite challenging considering the pandemic but one thing I am sure of, LIFE IS SO UNCERTAIN. I won’t have the guts to write on this if I didn’t take the courage to push through this vacation for 12 days in Abu Dhabi.

It was with strong conviction that I have to make the bravest decision to step out of my comfort zone. Life is bigger than what I could think of because there were so many things that have happened to the family this year including the death of my father. Who would have thought that papa would go home to heaven this year although he didn’t die from covid but with cancer, indeed life has so many uncertainties, given the circumstances, I faced my fears hence opted to travel and I couldn't be happier seeing things from the dimension greater than earning money as a whole.

So let me start sharing when we...

  • Arrived at Radisson Blu Hotel in Yas Island earlier than expected check-in time.

When I booked the ticket for our 11-night stay, the earlier checked in time I got was around 3 pm! Considering the 4 hours and 30 minutes of flight, it was comprehensible that we would come out from the airport around 8 am more or less with all the hassles of checking in at the custom.

Lo and behold, we got out at 5:20 am, earlier than expected and our adventure just started. As we walked through our way out from the airport, we managed to bump into a friend who was staying at Park Inn hotel, adjacent to Radisson Blu and we took the taxi together dividing the cost of the fare which was around 40 AED, 20AED per share.

The sun was not fully up as it was still a bit dark on the road so we hardly saw anything at all. Sage on the other hand was still so sleepy. Exactly 30 minutes upon arrival at Radisson Blu, the hotel was still so quiet and Foud, the kindest and most helpful staff accommodated us, suggested that he can upgrade our stay for an additional fee of 775AED multiply it 3.78 SCR which was around 2906.75 SCR fair enough for 11 nights stay compared to our two nights of around 2500SCR in Cerf Island, a total of around 1077.87USD!

Facing the golf view and swimming pool area, the upgrade was all worth it. There were times that MONEY can give us what we truly deserve during our holiday. I took the time out for an hour and we started our funny, amusing, and kinda challenging journey.

  • We got lost going to Yas Mall.

So I thought I had everything I knew checking on youtube from those vloggers who had their amazing videos about Yas Island. Generally, it's a tourist destination which is 20-30 minutes away from Abu Dhabi International Airport which was cool however it’s an hour drive going to the main city in Abu Dhabi whereby the cost of the taxi would range around 70 AED which was quite expensive although it’s cheaper by bus yet it would take you ages to reach your destination. The cost was only 2AED as long as you have your Bus card by the way.

Anyhow after unpacking our things, we started to roam around with the weather of 39degrees, quite hot actually but it was fun. Thinking that I took the right path going to Yas Mall to buy food for lunch and for dinner as I only booked for breakfast, we started walking and my instinct told me that we’re not going to where we're supposed to be heading.

Workers were looking at the three of us walking saying that there’s a bus going to Yas Mall and it’s a bit far from the hotel on foot, so we ended up going back to Radisson Blu and took the shuttle which has its schedule dropping tourists to the following destinations for FREE.

  • Yas Mall Entry on the First Day! September 20, 2021 at around 10am!

The entrance was quite solemn as we entered Yas Mall because there was a separate parking space for a shuttle from the hotel. Should you decide to take the taxi, you have to go to the other side of the mall whereby it would cost you 20AED one way!

Upon entry at the mall, the security guard will ask your vaccination card/certificates, what kind of vaccines you took, whether your passport has a stamp at the back among the green list country together with your recent PCR test upon arrival in the country. The PCR test we took 48 hours prior to our flight was null and void, otherwise, every 6 days as we stayed for 12 days, we were required for PCR tests or else you will face the consequence of not being able to roam around at all.

Thank God all results were negative!!!

Despite the restrictions, I have realized that it is when we face our FEARS of Travelling again that we could say LIFE has taken its important lesson in us.

We managed to travel to Dubai through borders and it was an experience of a lifetime as we were greeted with SANDSTORMS which was difficult to move around yet the intention to catch up with friends was more motivating.

We need to make a move earlier as Mia, the blond on the pic has a client to meet while Divine, the long hair with specs needed to prepare for her flight as well. As we were boarding the metro to avoid jampacked, we opted to join the Gold Class Card area. Later did I realize that our BUS CARD was silver and if by chance the metro police would check our cards, we would pay 3000AED multiplied to three! We were still lucky!

Question:

How do you deal with your fears during these uncertain times we are facing?

badges earned by the author and property of Uptrennd University
  • all images used are mine edited on Canva

#ShoutOut to my sponsors for their quality posts and generosity!

Financial Literacy is the Key towards Financial Abundance and Stability

if we can print our own money, the better for the economy!

24
$ 3.68
$ 3.62 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Momentswithmatti
$ 0.02 from @Olasquare
+ 2
Sponsors of PatsKy8135
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for PatsKy8135
2 years ago

Comments

Ang ganda rin naman talaga ng dubai ate, sana all nalang po nakakapunta ng ibat ibang lugar huhu.

Para sakin tinatapangan ko pa lalo sarili ko sa tuwing kinakabahan ako or nahihiya sa mga lugar or sa tao na nakakausap ko then pagkatapos okay naman pala or ayos lang mag try minsan nang mga bagay na kinatatakotan natin hehe.

And it became me more confident and to be a risk taker sometimes and make me happy :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It a good one for changing location of where you are staying with the pandemic But just keep praying stay safe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good that you have taken the decision of moving out to a new destination despite the pandemic. It should be relaxing and the more when we meet our long time friends. Agree with the fact that life is uncertain and move around following all the protocols.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Constant praying. ❤ Stay safe po kayo dyan!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Taking PCR test every 6 days freaks me out, Pat. Hehe! Well, my fears in travelling is when I am on a ship and the waves are big. I felt like it's the end of my life because I thought the ship will sink. Crazy me

$ 0.01
2 years ago

hehehe I can understand your fears Marinov as I also have the same but then again after everything that happened including the death of papa, I realized I just limit myself here in Seychelles. It took me 101% courage praying for a GO signal and I thank God for HIS abundance during the whole duration of the trip. I honestly face my fear of the PCR as well because it's just sooooo annoying and very uncomfortable to the nose lol. Have a blessed day dear.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah!...it's so true. Life is full of uncertainties, you know, while I'm reading your post, my emotions didn't know what to do, maybe it's because I'm so amazed of you, you're really are amazing, you make vacation in Abu Dhabi and that place is very stricted .I'm so happy for you,😌 you inspired me to write an article too😊😊

$ 0.02
2 years ago

hi Umaru, indeed Middle East is so absolute and so strict in terms of their laws but after 6 years, there were a bit of changes like you can stay with your partner even if you're not married at all which is a big shift when we were in Qatar.

Not sure whether it applies to all GCC but at least in Abu Dhabi and Dubai are already accepting this reality.

yay would love to read your blog as well. Excited and looking forward.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Woahhh. So that's the story, know I know, thank you for telling me that💜💜.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

you had to take pcr test every week! its still worth it. looking forward for the next adventure blog..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

it's a requirement should you stay more than 5 days in the country so we made sure to follow protocol or the idea of not being able to enter shopping malls would be very difficult. Hello Mommymatti!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are such an inspiration. I have many fears that I need to overcome and one of them is traveling. but I would like to try to get out of my comfort zone.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

would love to see how you will find traveling these days still very much safe to do considering the country you would want to visit by the way. So far in Abu Dhabi I can say it is very much back to how we were before when we worked although the difference would be the vaccination card as well as the required check PCR test every 6 days.

All the best dear

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What a nice place friend. Let me say that it is a pleasure to meet you, as we had not introduced ourselves before. I am glad to know that PCR is requested and the certification that they are vaccinated. The pandemic is almost in its final months. We have to take care of ourselves just a little more.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

exactly @Infinity...glad to meet you too my dear. Anyways since inception of this scamdemic I don't really give a big deal out of it as long as I keep the precautionary measures to stay healthy, at the end of the day like I wrote on my title, Life is so Fleeting...it is so uncertain... so we better make most of our good days ahead.

Stay safe as always by the way.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very lovely article,i am glad you were determined to stay happy no matter what.Life is really uncertain,we nned to take things slow and steady and never get discouraged no matter the experiences...Our ability to keep making lemonades out of lemons in every situations shows perseverance and resilience....It is well👍

$ 0.02
2 years ago

right! besides regardless how careful we are at the end of the day, if it's our time to go to our eternal home, we would leave everything behind us including our material possessions but the adventure and the memories to catch up with friends are the most precious.

I like how you said making lemonades out of lemons in every situation. Excited for your adventure too dear. Stay blessed.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Indeed, fear can limit us and hold us back. In a world where nothing is certain except death and taxes, we need to let our fears go. Travel indeed teaches tolerance and I love that lovely caption you made.

Glad your test result came back negative. Keep safe, my friend.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I really hate the PCR test especially that they do it always on the nose although I asked why lol! anyhow my determination of embracing the fear of the unknown how traveling these days bring so many uncertainties, I'm glad I did the road towards setting aside the fear of traveling again. It is still safe though it is advisable to take precautionary measures as always. Great day ahead my friend.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's so true... precaution is always necessary.

Yes, I can't bring myself to do the nose thing, really. I've watched it administered and oh boy...🤣🤣😂.

Thanks a lot, my friend and have a pleasant time ahead.

$ 0.00
2 years ago