The Arrow (BTC fees) In The Knee - Where The Truth Lies

11 269
Avatar for Pantera
2 years ago (Last updated: 5 months ago)

Well, I wasn't that much of a Bitcoiner back in 2017 and 2018 or ever. However, getting in at a point when I thought I was already too late, I just hoped that Bitcoin will keep rising and my bags will not be so heavy.

I wasn't part of any debate and didn't have enough time back then for research, so I went with the flow.

Which was to follow the BTC maximalism agenda that was sending many mixed messages. The narrative was transforming between BTC taking over the dollar into a "store of value" back and forth.

It took about six months to discover what Bitcoin Cash promoters were talking about, however, I didn't immediately jump on board. Although I felt that it was very difficult for Bitcoin to achieve something in its current state.

And as the narratives had been weakened a lot, around December 2017, I learned about the Lightning Network and how it was going to revolutionize payments. I was certain this was why everyone was so keen to "hodl" Bitcoin since it was going to become the standard for digital transactions.

That was in 2017. Lightning started development in 2015 with a target of being ready in 18 months. And now it is 2021, six years later and nothing is really ready.

And yet, the same articles from four years ago are published again, slightly reworded to fit the new narratives. How exactly is Bitcoin going to be used by the government of El Salvador is something many are wondering.

El Salvador's President. (Source)

I'm a bit rusty in politics and geopolitics lately, but one thing I remember was that El Salvador had serious crime issues with gangs and drug cartels ruling whole cities and a murder rate that was the highest in the world for many years.

Bitcoiners glorified the El Salvador presidency and while there are reports on authoritarianism by this government, it is not the point of this post.

During the summer of 2017 Bitcoin split with the Segwit fork and the part of the community that wanted Bitcoin to scale proceeded with higher blocksize and Bitcoin Cash.

Crypto news sources and forums had already mastered manipulation and played down Bitcoin Cash. YouTubers followed this way and so many crypto influencers. The Bitcoin Core maximalists had this planned for years and the bag holders of ignorant investors from 2013-2015 didn't have a problem, as long as the price of BTC was rising.

But, making more fiat money is one thing. Make no mistake, most traders understand exactly how Bitcoin works and just when it serves their interests they will lie about anything. Just like the Whalepool group of traders still supports Bitfinex and Tether and blatantly lying about Tether's reserves, the same is with all subcultures inside BTC.

As Antonopoulos used to say a kid in Africa, with a $50 smartphone can now be a bank on its own with Bitcoin. And right now I already know many kids in Africa being their own bank, but with Bitcoin Cash instead of BTC.

Image from: Flickr

Once we begin our quest for the truth, we will also face a new hurdle, getting silenced and berated, banned, or tagged as untrusted from those that push misinformation.

Everyone that is willing to learn will reach enlightenment.

While making fiat money from our investments is great, we should also try to understand where exactly we are onboarding and if the crypto we just bought was not what it seems.

It takes time, patience, and enthusiasm for this amazing technology to counter the conflicting messages and realize where the truth lies.

Lead Image From: Source (Bethesda Game Studios / Bethesda Softworks) (modified)

Find me on the following networks:

I'm also active on the following social media:

Shoutout to my top-3 sponsors!

24
$ 16.55
$ 11.54 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 4.00 from @majamalu
$ 0.50 from @MicroReylatos
+ 8
Sponsors of Pantera
empty
Avatar for Pantera
2 years ago (Last updated: 5 months ago)

Comments

I remember when my friend always shared me about her current crypto currency exchange activity. I was puzzled and get curious, so I asked her how it works and what it is all about. She explain to everything to me but it seems that everything that time was too overwhelming especially that I don't meet nor used one. So, she asked me to try and I did. I am still fresh from the boat and learning myself. I know it will be a long process and I hope that it's not too late to paddle with you. I really wanted to share something about my experience of crypto world but I guess i am not ready yet and my understanding is not ripe yet. This article of yours help me to understand more, thank you for sharing. God bless

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Just the fact that BTC is not good for use as cash, is enough for me to not look into it. I had one experience recently where I helped a friend convert her BTC to fiat money and send it to her since she has no cryptowallet. And she won this BTC from a giveaway on twitter. Wow, I was shocked to see the overwhelming fees. In the end, she only got half of the value in fiat. Seeing this firsthand made me realize the difference between BTC and BCH.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Absolutely spot on. The BTC maximalists seem to think that either everything is fine and BTC can function as is, or that lightning can solve all the problems by moving all the transactions off chain, which seems like a strange way of supporting blockchain technology. BCH has already solved the problem, it's already ready for use and any layer2 networks built on top in the future can be much more granular rather than having to be bolted on top of the entire network to make up for a failure to evolve.

BCH is already being used for transactions, from taxi in Venezuela to craft markets in Peru, from barbers in Australia to resorts in Thailand, it already works. The obsession with BTC seems to be more about branding than the tech or the utility and that needs to change.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

The vast majority of BTC hodlers are not interested in using BTC. They want to sell their BTC to someone for more fiat at some point in the future. This is how all Ponzi schemes work.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

There are lots of airheads in Twitter, not a good place to engage in arguments. I started from faucets in crypto and even convert all to BTC, however when I started writing here I realized BTC is not that mighty...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was a BTC holder before..in fact I converted my collected crypto from faucets to BTC.. But when I learned about BCH through readcash, I have changed m mind. And converted all my BTC to BCH.. All answers are on this platform 😁

$ 0.05
2 years ago

It is only advisable to invest in the various top cryptocurrencies, instead of moving from one crypto to another. El Salvador have embrace bitcoin and soon others will follow there foot steps

$ 0.00
2 years ago