Breaking News: Massive Ongoing Attack On Noise.Cash!

Avatar for Pantera
2 years ago

This just in! According to Noise.Cash official account, the popular crypto social media that rewards with tips 200,000 users, is under a colossal hacking attempt.

We have observed Noise.Cash lagging since yesterday, while also often receiving a 504 time-out error message.

It seems that a massive and highly sophisticated hacking attempt is on the way, with millions of attempts to infiltrate Noise.Cash accounts.

However, Noise.Cash is dealing with this attack in a perfect approach and has informed its users of the recent malicious activities with this noise:

noise.cash official announcement

The most important message is not to reuse your ID/Password combination on other websites. If it gets hacked in one, then the hackers will also try in thousands of other locations.

Purpose of Hackers

A hacker with a supply of millions of IPs is probably not something we see every day.

Maybe the attack intends to damage Noise.Cash temporarily and not just steal a few dollars from the wallets. Since it is so massive and it is still attempting to hack noise.cash accounts but with very limited profit, it could even have a double target:

  • Noise.Cash

  • Bitcoin Cash

While this could be far-fetched as a theory, reputation is also important and when an attack is performed in a highly technical approach, then the attacker probably has motives beyond just a small monetary gain.

The massive scale and the low profitability of this attack make me wonder what is the reason and most importantly why now.

There had been changes with the noise.cash temporary wallet service and a new service can now be used by providing the passphrase from another wallet.

I have not tested this feature yet, since I didn't have enough time. From what I've noticed the website started lagging right after the new wallet feature was implemented, so it is very possible to assume that another reason for this massive attack could be that.

I have to explain that maybe the service is perfectly decentralized and the pass phrased probably is not stored in any centralized database but used to directly access the BCH in the blockchain from the wallet. No matter the security measures, I am not a developer to audit the code of a crypto wallet, so I will only use it with a new address that would contain just a few dollars worth of satoshi.

But, I also doubt that a hacker instantly launched an attack for this reason. It would take weeks before users connected personal wallets, and the attack just happened immediately right after the upgrade.

[***EDIT]: I didn't have enough time to look into the new Noise.Cash Wallet until today. This update by the official Noise.Cash account is explaining how it works:

It is similar to Read.Cash, so the funds will be "SAFU", even in the case someone takes control of our account.

Conclusion

Noise.Cash has been rising at exponential levels and the CryptoVerse is taking notice.

There could be some competitors feeling threatened by its success as a Cryptocurrency platform, but moreover, as a Social Media platform that is enjoying an explosive increase in user base.

Noise.Cash on Alexa rankings

It was my thoughts previously that Noise.Cash will become a target by massive scale spam and perhaps hacking teams, mostly for its rising popularity, since it has already attracted more than 200,000 users, even outside of the Crypto scope.

My thoughts about this attack: It will be over soon.

It didn't catch anyone by surprise and as it seems the damage done so far was minimum. It doesn't change anything.

Noise.Cash has been an extra careful platform with a secure environment and it will continue to develop and attract hundreds of thousands of internet users around the world.

Backpage


Images:

Lead Image from: Pixabay (modified)


Follow me on: ● ReadCash ● NoiseCash  ● Medium ● Hive ● Steemit   ●Vocal ● Minds ● Twitter ● LinkedIn Reddit  email

Don't forget to Subscribe and Like if you enjoyed this article!

38
$ 84.89
$ 68.05 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 15.00 from Anonymous user(s)
A
$ 0.55 from @molecular
+ 12
Sponsors of Pantera
empty
Avatar for Pantera
2 years ago
Enjoyed this article?  Earn Bitcoin Cash by sharing it! Explain
...and you will also help the author collect more tips.

Comments

I have experience that one on that day,at first i thought it's just my internet,but then after i read the update of noise.cash admin it makes me worry, specially that i have already imported my seed phrase. But luckily the error get fixed and now noise.cash is stable. Good job to the noise.cash admins .

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The seed phrase is only imported in the device you import it. If someone hacks your account they will be on another device and they will not have access to your money. Basically, there is a way for hackers to take control of your computer, though. You shouldn't use any programs like anydesk or teamviewer if you don't know a lot about this software, since these apps provide remote access to your system. It is the only case that your money can be dragged out of the wallet if you allow a scammer to take control of your system.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes the situation right now in noise.cash is not good. But thanks to admin for reminding us to secure our account. So far as I logged in yesterday. It's okay already.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

An interesting situation for sure. I guess the silver lining is that the admin is on top of it. It was very annoying trying to get around on the site, but it seems that things are back to normal now. At least for now.

It would be interesting, though, to know what the real intent was considering the lack of "reward" for what they were doing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It doesn't make sense and no doubt, they are not so smart or bright which is why I want to believe that it's more about wrecking Noise.Cash or devaluing BCH because the influence of both have been growing recently and some people are feeling threatened by them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There are some events that are unfolding today. One after another. It is not fun anymore when I notice signs of organized attack in various fronts.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's disheartening.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I know the reason why I can't open my account in noise and now I can't totally re-open it. The more hacker the more security that noise will put because people already trust the site. Let us all be more careful and do our part to secure our account.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

It seems there is a lot of coincidences going on at the same time. Maybe this was an orchestrated attack against noise.cash after all.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is sad to know that how people can be so evil minded. But I am glad that its damage are not so severe.I hope this attempt will end soon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, imagine doing all that for 1.5 an hour, if you are stealing at least go big! I hate it when people try to cheat the system and take the easy way out, just go find a job seriously you lazy piece of meat!!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yeah, exactly that. It is so stupid. Imagine having all these skills and the best you do in your life is trying to destroy something good.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh God! I can't believe they want to hack noise.cash, but hoping that it will be okay.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The more they attack, the more powerful we will be. Maybe it's a competitor, or people from the system. The most important that the developers are aware of that and they will have a better security from now !

$ 0.05
2 years ago

A pesar de tratar de robar el bch de estas cuentas solamente un estúpido lo haría ya q el robo sería mínimo de dolar y Pico. Es de estúpidos este ataque al Noise. Cash. Pero bueno en este mubdo tenemos de todo. Feliz día para ti.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Happy Weekend yesi! Yes you are right, this was a very stupid and not well thought attack!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was anxious about my password so I tried to change it. But it was never accepted despite my attempts (my new password). I wonder what I did wrong. Maybe I will try again now.

I have also been having problems using it because the site often crashed. I only visited twice today, and it somehow crashes after half an hour of use, or even within few minutes.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yesterday, I had problems posting and my account was logged out. I haven't tried to import the wallet yet. But is good to know they are aware and working on this.

And it isn't unreasonable to think that it could be an attack on BCH. These days it's Noise that attracts the attention of more people new to crypto, and especially to BCH. Hopefully, everything is back to normal soon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think that already the site is back and working with no problems, at least this is for me. We will have to remain cautious though.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Things like this are bound to happen when a platform is getting bigger.

I couldn't make use of the platform yesterday and when I try logging in, my account is been logged out. I didn't bother since we are experiencing some upgrades lately.

I am glad the team are doing a great job protecting the platform

$ 0.05
2 years ago

It is now working fine as usual. Apparently devs did a great job in fighting hackers and spam bot network.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ah this explains why I was logged out and had to backup a wallet onto it. I had a mini heart attack this morning haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I checked in my account at 7 in the evening and I was automatically logout I thought there are updates but it was hack and the site even has the note that I changed my wallet address, kind of weird. I changed my password afterwards.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That $1.5 per hour is the most stupid profit a hacker ever made!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

am still shock kind of shocked

They've been able to make $1.5 per HOUR from that attack.

really if anyone knows the attackers tell him/her to find a job.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

LOL! It is probably the most costly attack in history!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I did a quick check on the price of IPv4 addresses and found that they range from $12-$30 per address. However, I suspect that he did not buy them, but rather used something like a botnet. But still this is one of the stupid cyber-attack i have ever seen

A botnet is a group of computers that can be instructed to work together to perform one or more tasks that are difficult or impossible for a single computer. If your computer is infected by malware, you have access to the whole group of computers. Each infected computer has the potential to be a zombie or can participate in the group in one of several ways.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

There are some botnets hackers are using for many of their practices. Some use them to boost content views for some top creators in YouTube and other platforms like Twitch. I remember how in previous years there were millions of zombie computers identified around the world. These were infected by malware that could help hackers control and move traffic of websites or boost views of content creators for a payment. They also use these networks to massively spam.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes apparently this is the case. I didn't know an IPv4 would range for so much, but then again, I am not technically qualified on this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

From Yesterday we are facing 502 Error. I hope Simon and his team would make best effort in sorting out this issue. Hackers are money suckers by just their non-sense action. I hope in this war noise.cash will win.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I have complete confidence on devs (Simon) abilities and we will be back to our noise.cash accounts in no time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dear I think if they closed the online wallet system, this extra load can be minimized.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yesterday my account suddenly logout that i immediately change my password to the platform since i get notified by noise. I do hope that this hackers will be stopped immediately . Thanks to noise for keeping our account safe. I hope noise will be back to normal because upto now always feed error.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I am trying to login again, and observe that some users are still able to publish content and create posts during all this time. They seem to not even be aware of lag or the server error messages I am getting.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maybe at their part they can connect easily sir as for me the same it is a luck when i am able to log in and post but now it came back to server error.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, perhaps some got lucky and didn't have any problem for the time they had to write a post and publish it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes sir maybe their very lucky at this moment.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh my gosh, this sounds just crazy. I randomly changed my password yesterday morning without thinking too much. I'm so glad I did.

I was logged out yesterday evening like many others and had trouble using the site, it was lagging too much.

Today also I had problems uploading a post.

I hope there's no damage and pray this gets over soon, thanks for the update :)!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I have 100% confidence it will be over soon. It seems that Noise.Cash could use this attack afterwards to draw some interesting conclussions and maximize its efficiency.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I get nervous yesterday when suddenly my account in noise.cash log out. When I log in it back it says my password didn't match in their records that's why I change it to new one. But my friend says even they know their password and log back noise.cash warn to change the password for security purposes against the hacker. Hoho. Let's pray that admins can securely block those hackers who is trying to rid or steal us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maybe this attack could do wonders for publicity, since it seems the hacker doesn't profit as much as they would think.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Surely developers have a plan for them that's why we experience maintenance. Let's hope it will resolve sooner :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It comes back for a minute but then again getting the message that server is down. However, during the small timeframe of the page being active, I've seen some guys kept posting like they were not affected at all. They didn't even write about this event but posting random articles, so probably some are able to use Noise.Cash while others don't.

$ 0.00
2 years ago