The Past Few Days

2 6
Avatar for Paganprincess
3 years ago

Two days ago I wrote about my plans to bake for the holiday season. Part of the reason is because I just love baking. The other part is because it's one of the ways I show I care. This year, there's another motive. Things have been tight this year and baking is one way I can still have a gift to give even if I couldn't afford to get someone anything else.

Monday morning I got up, got my daughter her breakfast, did a quick clean on the kitchen and started my baking. I decided to start out with a batch of orange chocolate chip cookies.

The first time I made them was a few years ago. I had actually been planning on making just regular chocolate chip cookies but I've never been very traditional which is why I added orange zest. It turned out to be a hit so I thought including them in my cookie platters/boxes would be a good idea.

Tuesday I took a break from baking and focused on housework and trying to write instead. Sadly the writing didn't go too well but it will come in time. (story wise)

Since we're dropping off cookies to people tomorrow evening I knew I had to get things baked and packed up today. I suppose I could have done more tomorrow but I still have other things to set up for Christmas eve so getting it done today was logical.

I baked a batch of mint chocolate cookies, candy cane cookies (as in crushed up pieces of candy cane not shaped) and ended my day baking marshmallow chocolate chunk cookies. I still have a small batch of dough sitting in the fridge ready to be baked but since that's for us, I figure I can wait.

I started baking around 9 this morning and didn't finish until around 4 when I had to start prepping things for dinner. I put together 2 cookies platters and a couple of boxes. I can't say exactly how many cookies I ended up with since I gave up counting at 120. I didn't have the room in my kitchen to lay them all out so when one batch came off the cooling rack and into the platters, another was moving onto the cooling rack while another batch went in the oven.

I am by no means an expert baker but I like to think I'm not that bad at it. I will say I don't want to do anymore baking for a while though. I'll admit I went a little crazy and ended up with more than I intended. Truthfully after baking, cooking, dishes and cleaning the kitchen I just want to take it easy for the night.

I'd like to take it easy tomorrow too but that will not be happening. At least not until the evening. I'm lucky enough to have a husband who is planning to cook Christmas dinner though to give me a break which I appreciate more than I can say.

I realize this article is short but so be it. My head hurts and I'm exhausted so I think I'm going to curl up and watch an episode of Doctor Who, read my book and then go to bed so I can rest up for tomorrow.

I may only be dropping things off for people but I have a full night planned so my daughter can have a fun Christmas Eve and Christmas.

I've also included a picture of one of the cookie trays since @Hanzell requested pictures. Sorry it's not great and it doesn't show all of the cookies. I just didn't have the space.

3
$ 0.58
$ 0.58 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Paganprincess
3 years ago

Comments

That's alright! I'm still jealous of the neighbors that will get so many yummy looking cookies ;;-;; thank you for showing me and i hope you had a great Christmas dinner with your family!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's not the baking only but cleaning up and wrapping as well. I can imagine you had it for a while. I am curious about your mint cookies recipe. It sounds to me you didn't stick to the simple, ordinary cookies.

Merry Christmas and enjoy your break. 🍀💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago