The Missing Piece (Dr. Silva Part 2 )

2 9
Avatar for Paganprincess
3 years ago

I'm not sure how long I slept but I woke up to find Dr. Silva entering the room. I'm not sure even of what woke me, maybe I'd had some sense that I wasn't alone. She gave me a warm smile that instantly made me feel better in spite of where I was and my quick awakening. She glanced at my heart monitor as it beeped frantically.

'I'm sorry I startled you miss Ainsley.'

'Lilly.' I corrected her.

'Lilly, then.'

I watched as she checked the equipment and examined my IV bag which was probably about half full.

'How long have I been here?'

She looked up surprised like she had forgotten I was in the room. I think I must have slept through the night though it was hard to tell with no windows. Another thing that creeped me out. My only reason for thinking that was because Dr. Silva was dressed differently than the last time I had seen her. She still had her white coat but underneath it was a blue dress instead of red.

Her voice dragged me from my rambling thoughts and I quickly forgot about the change.

'I will answer all your questions as best I can, but you should eat something.' She used the tone of a concerned mother.

'I think I would prefer answers!' I hadn't meant to snap but my head was more clear than it had been. Clear enough for me to remember that she had promised we would talk, and enough for me to remember that she had dodged my questions the first time. I wasn't about to let her do the same again.

She didn't seem phased by my outburst but she did hesitate before finally speaking to me again.

'Of course. To answer your question, you have been here for nearly a week.'

A week. A week of my life gone. What had happened to me?

'You were involved in a explosion. You were found about twenty meters away from the building. Officials reported it as a gas leak.'

She scoffed at the last part like she didn't believe for a second it could possibly have been a gas leak. For the first time since I had woken up, I examined my body. I had some bruising and a few scrapes nothing seemed to be broken. I wasn't a medical professional but weren't people pulled from explosions usually more worse for wear? Shouldn't the injuries take longer than a week to heal?

'It seems you were very lucky to have escaped major injury. You did take a nasty blow to the head though.'

'I don't feel any pain.'

'The wonders of modern medicine dear.' She gestured to my IV.

A face swam through my mind and I blurted out a name before I could stop myself.

'Bailey.' That was the one who was supposed to be here. The missing piece. I couldn't remember but somehow I knew she had been with me at the time.

A shadow crossed Dr. Silvas face as she watched me carefully. I looked at her questioningly. Begging her to tell me that what I was afraid of wasn't true. She didn't speak but the pity in her eyes told me everything I needed to know. My sister was dead.

It's my fault.

I wasn't sure where that thought had come from but something deep inside me told me it was true. If it was my fault that would certainly explain Lauras' nervousness around me.

'I want to be alone.' I brushed the tears from my face and turned away from the doctor.

I didn't want to see her. I didn't want to see anyone except the one person I knew I couldn't see. I half expected her to try and talk me out of it. Tell me what I needed was anything but alone time or something like that. To my relief, she didn't argue with me.

I didn't have to look back to know when she left. The second I heard the door close behind her I burst into tears, sobs wracking through me hard enough to hurt. It was a pain that not even the morphine could touch. I wasn't sure I would ever stop even if I wanted to.

Part 3 https://read.cash/@Paganprincess/more-questions-than-answers-part-3-09823975

3
$ 3.82
$ 3.81 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @wakeupkitty
Avatar for Paganprincess
3 years ago

Comments

I cannot say that talk was a talk, the doctor answered questions. I feel frustrated, have strong doubts about the 'week' plus no windows and a 'certain institution?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ohh i wonder what the cause of the explosion really was and how badly the sister was injured to have died

$ 0.00
3 years ago