Meeting Dr. Silva (Part 1 of a Series)

1 14
Avatar for Paganprincess
3 years ago

There was a beeping sound. Constant and steady and never ending. Somewhere in the back of my mind it felt like I knew what it was but I couldn't figure it out. It was like the word slipped away before I could focus on it.

I slowly opened my eyes. The first thing I noticed was that I was laying in a bed that was not my own. And there was a needle in my arm.

I looked to my left to find the source of the beeping. A heart monitor. Of course, that's why I recognized the sound.

Hospitals have always freaked me out but this one had something beyond the normal creepiness. After listening to the steady drone of the monitor it occurred to me what the difference was. There were no other sounds. No people walking, no talking. It was like the entire building was empty.

Just as I was trying to convince my body to move, the doorknob rattled and turned. I watched, frozen in fear as the door opened. A young woman, maybe about twenty three poked her head in and looked at me.

She quickly entered the room and shut the door behind her before making her way over to the chair next to my bed, which she stood behind.

'You're awake!' She sounded both pleased and surprised.

'Where am I?'

She fidgeted with the keycard in her hand and didn't meet my eye. If she was this nervous, I wasn't sure I liked the thought of her being my doctor. Were doctors fidgety?

'You're in a....facility. Like a hospital.'

Like?

She looked like a deer in the headlights. I shifted on the bed and she stumbled back a step.

What the h*ll is her problem?

'Are you my doctor?' At least that would be an easy question for her. I hoped she wasn't.

She shook her head furiously and gave a little laugh.

'Oh gosh no! No no. You're Doctor Silvas patient. I'm her...assistant. She just asks me to check in a few times a day with you. You've never been awake before now though.'

My mind was working overtime with all the questions I wanted to ask her but I couldn't settle on one before another one popped up. I wasn't even sure she could answer anyway, she already looked scared to death. I got the feeling there was something she wasn't telling me but I didn't know what. I was pretty sure she wasn't going to offer up the information if I asked.

'You know what? I'll just go and get the doctor for you!'

She gave me a nervous smile and ran from the room like she was being chased by a wild pack of rabid dogs.

The sounds of people talking reached my ears. Everything was dead silent as soon as she closed the door behind her.

What kind of hospital soundproofs it's rooms? That couldn't be normal, right?

A few minutes later, she came back, this time with an older woman following her through the door. She hovered near the door nervously while the doctor approached my bed side. Her walk screamed confidence as did the red dress she wore under her lab coat.

'Ms. Ainsley, is it? I'm Dr. Gloria Silva. This is my assistant Laura. I imagine you have some questions for me.'

Where to start?

'Where am I? How did I get here? Why-'

Dr. Silva held up a hand and swiftly cut me off with a patient smile.

'Ms. Ainsley, perhaps we should start small, hm? You are in a care facility. You were brought to us after an...accident that you were involved in.'

'How long?'

I saw the doctor shoot a quick look at Laura as she opened her mouth. She quickly closed it.

'Do you remember anything from your accident, Ms. Ainsley?'

Now that she mentioned it, I didn't. I couldn't remember much of anything except there was someone missing. Someone who was supposed to be with me. I shook my head.

'Is that-is that bad?'

'Not at all. It can take time for the mind to adjust. It's no cause for alarm.' She reassured me.

I tried to focus my thoughts on something. Any memory I could grab onto but it wouldn't come. It was like trying to hold running water in my hands.

'I don't hear anything.' I hadn't meant to say it. It had just slipped out, an errant thought spoken aloud.

'The room is soundproofed for patient comfort. We don't want anyone to be disturbed.' This time Laura spoke.

'I think it's spooky.'

Doctor Silva laughed and placed a comforting hand on my arm.

'I suppose it can be. Think of it this way, you aren't truly alone. You may not hear them or see them, but there are people just beyond that door.'

The thought did comfort me a bit but in my addled state I failed to realize that she hadn't answered any of my other questions. Before I could open my mouth to ask anything else Doctor Silva gave me a gentle squeeze and I yawned.

'I think you should get some rest. I know it may sound strange given that you've been asleep for your time here, but it will help your mind and body to recover.'

'My body feels fine.'

She nodded. 'Yes. I'm sure it does but your mind still needs time dear. I'll come check on you again later and we can talk more.'

Without another word, she walked out the door and I fell into a peaceful sleep.

Part 2 https://read.cash/@Paganprincess/the-missing-piece-part-2-of-series-29b6e123

3
$ 7.46
$ 7.45 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @wakeupkitty
Avatar for Paganprincess
3 years ago

Comments

I don't trust that squeeze and I hate doctors who say "you might have questions where to start" and if you ask they do not answer. 🍀

$ 0.00
3 years ago