Hypno Therapy

2 14
Avatar for Paganprincess
3 years ago

'Come on, give in...' The seductive voice rang in my ears as I tried to refuse. 'Let go.'

I couldn't say no. Why would I want to say no?

'Yes.' My voice sounded strange, sluggish and a little slow. I was probably just imagining it. Doctor Barton said that was a part of my condition, imagining things or just seeing things differently.

When I first met him I didn't really like him. Actually I hated him and my sister didn't like him either. She tried to convince me to get another therapist. I even heard them arguing before one of my appointments but neither of them would explain it. He was condescending and his voice was annoying; like nails on a chalk board. I winced a little as I remembered the grating sound on my ears.

'Let's move on, shall we? Tell me, are you seeing your sister this week?'

My sister? Why did he want to know that? I started squirming.

'Sadie, it's okay. Just relax.' His soothing voice calmed me and I stilled, relaxing on the couch once again. 'Now, back to my previous question. Will you see her soon?'

I felt my head nod in response as the strange voice came out of my mouth again. 'Yes. I'm meeting her today. She's going to pick me up.'

'Excellent.'

He said nothing for several minutes and I felt like I could fall asleep. Maybe I did because the next thing I knew I was wide awake and sitting up on the couch in Dr. Bartons light blue office as he sat across from me, watching intently.

'Now, How do you feel Sadie? Do you remember anything we just talked about?'

My god his voice is annoying.

'No.'

He gave me a small smile which almost seemed genuine. The first time he had hypnotized me I had been reluctant and especially scared when I couldn't remember anything after.

Doctor Barton had assured me it was all part of my therapy and completely normal. He even records our sessions so I can listen back later if I want to.

It was mostly me talking about my past. Things I didn't even know about. He said that was because I repressed them in my waking state but that my subconscious remembered everything.

It could be interesting to listen to but also scary. Like listening to a stranger. Even my voice sounded slower in my hypnotized state. I didn't really like hearing myself that way.

He clapped his hands and brought me back to attention. 'I'm afraid our time is up. I imagine your sister is already waiting for you.' He gave a little wave and went back to the papers on his desk humming softly to himself.

He was right. Rachel was already waiting impatiently for me when I exited the office not two minutes later. The afternoon passed fairly quickly and before I knew it, Rachel was saying goodbye.

'I'll drive you.' I said quickly.

'She looked at me quizzically. 'But I always take the bus. You hate driving in that area.'

'It's fine. Really.'

I wasn't sure why I was suddenly okay with it but I was glad. For too long even the thought of going near there was enough to make me feel violently ill.

'Okay.' She shrugged.

***

I felt a sense of pride and satisfaction in myself as I curled up in bed after a nice long shower. For the first time in years, I had driven my sister home and I hadn't felt sick. I don't even know what I was so afraid of. The accident was so long ago. I guess people were right, I had just needed a little push to help me get over my fear.

Maybe I would even surprise my sister by going to her for once.

I dozed off with a smile as I thought about the look of surprise that would be on her face when she saw me at her door.

Sometime during the night I had a nightmare. I couldn't remember much other than my sister was in it. And there was blood, so much blood.

I shook it off and tried to go back to sleep. I was just dozing off after hours of struggling when I was jarred fully awake by a loud, insistent pounding on my front door.

I opened the door to find two police officers. 'Miss Brooks?' One of them asked.

'Yes?'

'Could you step outside please?' The taller of the two asked.

'Uh, sure. let me get my shoes.' I quickly slipped them on my feet and went outside.

The shorter one had his hand on his gun. 'Could you please remove your hands from your pockets miss?'

I quickly did, letting them see I wasn't holding anything.

'Do you know a Rachel Brooks?'

'She's my sister.'

'The officer looked down at his note book then back at me. 'When did you last see your sister?'

'Last night.'

'What time?' He didn't look up from taking notes this time. His partner was just standing there, watching me closely.

Jeeze are all cops this paranoid?

'I-I'm not sure. It was late and I-' I trailed off unsure of what else to say as a sense of horror came over me. 'Did something happen to her? Is she okay?'

The officers exchanged a quick look before the taller one responded.

'She's dead miss. But then, we think you already knew that.'

I followed their gazes down to my shoes. My once white shoes which now had what looked horrifyingly like dry, crusty blood on them. I heard a click and looked up just in time to see two guns pointed at me.

4
$ 4.31
$ 4.31 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Paganprincess
3 years ago

Comments

oh its very interesting therapist history

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Did the therapist hate her sister OnO she doesn't seem like the type who woild just kill her sister like that

$ 0.00
3 years ago