Budget Readjustment

2 17
Avatar for Paganprincess
3 years ago

With grocery prices set to go up by who knows how much next year, I know I need to change my game plan. Sometimes as much as twice a year, I will look at how I do things and change it up if what I'm doing doesn't work.

I always try to get the most out of our money while still making sure my family doesn't go hungry. I'm not a shelf clearer but I will pick up a few extra things now and then if it's on sale. Especially if I can freeze whatever it is until I need it.

On top of that, I'm also buying more fruit now since my daughter is now eating three meals and sometimes a snack. I do feel better knowing she's eating and I'm glad she likes fruit. I admit, to make it fit in the budget easier I do frequently check discount racks in stores for produce be it fruit of vegetable.

I currently have a decent stock of onions and carrots thanks to doing this. We went to the grocery store about a month ago for a few things and I noticed onions were on sale (4 bags for $5) as opposed to regularly being about $2.00 or more per bag. They also had carrots on with 4 2lb bags for $5 so I stocked up. They're still holding up well but whatever doesn't get used in the next week will be frozen for later use.

I also went a little crazy on eggs since they have had flats of 30 on sale and they don't expire until January. My husband can't eat too many eggs but my daughter loves them and I might have them with breakfast a few times a week to break up my baked oatmeal. I also serve a boiled egg when I make noodle bowls.

Another way I have decided to use them up is making egg bakes. If I make egg cups using a muffin tin, I can customize them to each person and freeze them for meals and snacks. Or, what I'll likely do in the next few days is make an egg bake in one big pan, cut it into portions and freeze it.

I always try to have something fast and easy for days I'm not feeling great or so my daughter can have something when she's hungry since she's home all day now. Since things are going up, I've decided to look into produce boxes as well now but there aren't a lot of discounted ones available in my area.

I'm also not fond of the idea of a subscription and would prefer a more as needed basis. After doing some research, I finally discovered an app in my area where you can order things for a discount that are near their date. What most caught my eye was the produce boxes. They have boxes for $5.00 full of fruit, vegetables or both. It's a bit of a mystery as to exactly what you'll get but I think I'll give it a shot.

As they say, you never know unless you try.

3
$ 0.74
$ 0.69 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @wakeupkitty
Avatar for Paganprincess
3 years ago

Comments

I need to that kind of app here in my country. Everything is still a bit expensive since it's the rainy seasons again here and growing crops is harder

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Everything here is expensive. The only way we can manage is not buying and reducing on food. My children are home too and we have two meals a day, about once a week fruit.

Those trays with 30 eggs I bought too. Good till the end of the year and egg is the most complete food.

I try to buy cheese and meat and vegetables and if possible with discount. The only thing I will never by close to it's date is meat. Four times spoiled is a waste of money.

With us the prices get higher before Eastern, summer holidays and after the holidays, before December 5th, before Christmas and on Januar first.

I wish you strength and luck. 🍀💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago