The Haunting

I've been procrastinating lately, in terms of reading articles on read.cash. That is why, for me to keep up, I see to it that I get to read at least 3 to 4 articles every time I wake up so early in the morning, before I start my day. And then read again all through out the day when I have time. It not only helps me clean up my notifications, but it also gives me ideas for what to write. And so this afternoon, I stumbled upon @meitanteikudo's article about a dream, a nightmare, and a horror story. It is a writing prompt that he initiated. While reading his article, I was then brought back to the time when my imagination was so wild and nightmares haunted me even when I was awake.

 

The Haunting

I was 5 or 6 years old when I got to experience something out of this world. My father was working for a big company as a chief mechanic at that time. He was mostly sent to different places where his skills were needed, so most of the time, he went home monthly to save money for transportation. One time, the company sent him to Davao City for work, and he brought us along with him since the company would provide a house for us for free. That is one of the perks that my father had as a chief mechanic. The house was big and we weren't expecting it to be that big. It has two bedrooms on the second floor and two bedrooms on the first floor, with a huge bathroom on both floors. We were so happy when we arrived at that house because, compared to our house, which is made of bamboo, the house made us all feel rich, lol! 

This is somehow similar to the house I am talking about, without the car of course, hehe

Photo Source

Our first month in the house went so smoothly. My mother enrolled me in a kindergarten nearby. It was 2 blocks away from the house, so most of the time, we just walked there. I don't know how and when eerie things started, but one night, I was in the living area, patiently waiting for my father because of the pasalubong he promised me. I saw a woman walking past in the living area, going to the kitchen. I was a bit sleepy at that time, so I did not mind it at all, thinking it was my mother, but moments later, I saw my mother walking down the stairs, telling me to go to sleep because it was already late. So I told her why she was upstairs when I saw her moments ago going into the kitchen. She said that I was talking nonsense because she never went to the kitchen, she just woke up from her sleep because she did not see me in my bed. I was so freaked out that I ran into her and went upstairs to sleep.

That is when things get creepier and creepier every day. At night, we can smell burning rice, or we can suddenly hear dripping faucets or sometimes falling objects when no one is around. My mother talked about it to my father, but he told us that it was just our imagination playing tricks on us. So to put us at ease, my grandmother, together with my aunts and uncles, stayed with us for a couple of weeks to see if it was true or not. My grandmother believes in ghosts or beings that cannot be seen by our naked eyes.

After staying with us for a week, they also experienced creepy things like someone walking upstairs when we were all eating downstairs, falling objects, and all the eerie things that you could imagine in a haunted house. But there are two things that happened that made us leave the house immediately. We were all in the garage area, just had our dinner at that time. My Tito was left inside because he was doing the dishes when we suddenly heard him scream. We hurriedly went inside to check what happened, and he said he saw a white lady staring at him.

We thought that he was just joking around because we knew that he never believed in those things, but after a while, he suddenly passed out, and when he regained consciousness, he was not his usual self anymore. He was talking nonsense, like we should leave the house or someone would die. That we should never have been there in the first place, that the house was haunted. I remember my lola was praying hard at that time while my other titos and titas were holding him. When my father arrived that night, they decided that we should go back to our old house before worst things could happen. We were so horrified at that time. I remember hugging my two sisters while we were calling our Papa.

But another horrifying thing happened that night. While we were all busy preparing to leave, my mother forgot her bag upstairs. She went up to get it, and then we suddenly heard her scream and fall down the stairs. Oh, I forgot to tell you that she was pregnant with our brother back then. She was then brought to the hospital by my father and my Tito, while my lola took us back to our old house. Later that night, we learned that our mother had had a miscarriage and we no longer had a baby brother. It all broke our hearts because we'd been waiting to have a baby brother.

We still could not believe what happened at that time. We thought these kinds of things happened only in movies. But, to see is to believe, and you have to experience it first-hand so that you can say, "Hey, ghosts do really exist!"

--

This is my entry to kudo's writing prompt. I decided to answer one question only out of the three questions that he had on the writing prompt. If you wish to hop in and join the fun, just follow his simple mechanics.


Date Published: March 10, 2022

 

 

20
$ 6.84
$ 6.26 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.13 from @meitanteikudo
$ 0.05 from @kat2x
+ 12
Sponsors of Pachuchay
empty
empty
empty
Enjoyed this article?  Earn Bitcoin Cash by sharing it! Explain
...and you will also help the author collect more tips.

Comments

Buti nalang umaga ko ito nabasa.. hahahahah :P

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Some forces are not in favor of others living in that house.

I wanted to join this prompt but I've already written all my stories that I can remember.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I believe there are so many haunted places in Baguio, I'd love to read more about that,,

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Her soul needs prayers madam. Souls like that have missions in the real world that's why they're still not in peace.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya nga madam, and maybe the reason behind it was she got killed in that house.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nanayo balahibo ko ate. Grabe may buhay nga syang kinuha huhu. Might share mine as well later and join the prompt.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo beh, grabe tlaga iyak. Namin nun nalaman namin na namatay un kapatid ko, sana may kapatid kaming lalaki eh..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wala pa halowin ma'am ah hahaha aga Naman Ng gantong genre Ng article wahaha pero Ang Ganda ma'am I like it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ewan ko ba, hahaha... Kahapon 2 horror story ang nabasa ko eh..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same ma'am wahaha Lalo na Nung Bata ako ma'am lagi ko pinapanuod mga horror

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yaaayy looks like another topic to write na naman hahahah savior talaga tong mga prompts hahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tama, hahahaha! Aabangan ko story mo beh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pag mga usapang multuhan ayoko na maalala yan..hahaha..pass muna ako sa writing prompt na tungkol sa katatakutan...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hala, bakit naman, hahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Napakatapang ko kasing tao sis..char!...praning ako sa mga ganyang usapan...matagal ko sila makalimutan tapos naiimagine ko pa sila lalo na kapag mag isa lang ako sa dilim..ahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako din naman sis eh takot sa ganyan pero gustung gusto ko manood, magbasa ng mga nakakatakot, exciting eh, hahhaa

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang layo pa ng halloween ah.. Why do we have these contents? Haha! Ano ba nakita ng mama mo, what made her scream? Sorry to hear about the miscarriage..

That was really creepy sis.. Yung nangyari sa tito mo baka hindi nako nakasigaw kung sakin nangyari yun.. Haha! Passout agad agad 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We did not ask her. And at that time eh mas nafocus kami sa pagkamatay ng baby brother ko..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kakilabot nmn ung ate parang ako naman never pa nangyare yan ung tipong lahat kayo sa bahay eh pinag diskitahan ng kung anong elemento.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naku beh, sobrang as in.. Di ko pa nga nabanggit jan un may nakikita kami na bakas ng dugo sa dingding sa banyo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yikes!!! Kakatakot ate. Seryoso ba talaga?? Ibang usapan na ung mga ganyang elemento kasi parang mananakit na din sila.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If it were me, I would have left that house at the earliest sign. I probably would have seriously taken it up with someone if I were the father

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My father do not believe in those entities and at that time, i am so young that i just followed whatever they say..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Seriously? Napaka creepy naman nito friend marami ng nangyari ng ganito kaso kadalasan nakikita ko sa mga movie kang nangyayare din pala sa totong Buhay

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo sis, never in my life na naisip ko na maranasan namin un

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabe ate sobrang nakakatakot naman to ,maybe may gusto pang sabihin yung babae kaya di pa siya matahimik. Pero nakakatakot pa rin, I could imagine the panic and reactions of your family during that time but I'm sorry to hear about what happened to your brother

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As in grabe, to think na ang bata pa nmin noon. Natrauma kami talaga, ilang taon din bago kami nakamove on.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gravehh, parang sah bahay lang din namin dati, pero hindi lang yun two story pero nakakakilabot din ang nangyari.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ikwento na yan, hehe.. Sali ka din sa prompt

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think that the real horrible scenario that you could experience in that haunted house. That was so scary ma'am, that white lady seems angry with the family. I think she was disturbed.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maybe she was. And someone told us that someone got killed in that house. Maybe that is the reason behind it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ohh,, that was scary I think your fam make intervention that makes that white lady ignite.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My bagong prompt pla... Try ko rin.. Nice story te.. Medyo creepy nga..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe, salamat Jane.. Aabangan ko story mo,..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The one you shared really feels like the ones in the movies. To be honest, I find it so creepy my friend that it gives me goosebumps. Nahhh, I don't wantto experience the same thing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No one would ever want that feeling for sure sis..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Is it true story? It's so horrible to live in that fancy house, it's really intriguing at first if there's a beautiful house yet no one living it means there's something wrong or there's a entity living. There must be a bad entity living on that house and don't want anyone stay there.Maybe the house hides a deep secre that the bad entity doesn't want anyone to know it until his or her death.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah it is a true story. According to our neighbor, someone was killed in that house. I guess that's the reason behind it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hala grabe ngyari nga ung curse nya madam nawala brother mo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo madam, sa pagkakalam ko eh 5 months na tyan ng Mama ko noon eh, tapos simula nun lumipat kami doon eh parang lage nagkakasakit ang mama ko.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay nay sumpa tlga ano

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Seriously a horrible story. I always feel afraid to listen this kind of story. I felt sad for your mom.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We still have goosebumps every time we talked about what happened. We all feel sad with the lost of our baby brother..

$ 0.00
2 years ago