The Chime of Death

0 13
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
2 years ago

[WP] The reaper sighs and rubs his face, newly assigned to the Human Death Department, exasperated. “I asked what your song is. You know, Your Song? The last song you want to hear? I know humans spend hours and days debating these things. Surely, you know which Your Song is? Right?”

*****

Death.

It had come to me as turbulent as ever. I was one of the people who were unfortunate to spend their last days, or weeks as in my case, praying for death and wishing that it would come sooner rather than later. An experience full of pain, despair, and depression; I would not wish it on my wrist enemy.

Tuberculosis, which I had been battling for most of my 27 years on this planet, had finally done so much damage that there was no chance of recovery. Even keeping me alive was needlessly expensive, so I asked my parents to give up on the fight already since I had already given up. It was a long four weeks waiting for my immune system to give up on trying to survive, and finally, the time came.

I had that out-of-body experience, and I smiled as the ECG machine played the loud single prolonged beep and the line went flat. My family members and girlfriend who were present cried solemnly while the doctors came in and just performed the final checks before they ascertained and confirmed that I was dead.

Finally, peace flowed within me, like a river in my soul. It actually felt like a spiritual, orgasmic experience, an experience I had not felt since childhood, to know that I was free from affliction, disease, and pain. For the first time in a long time, I knew what it felt like to truly be free. And the feeling was so exhilarating that I almost forgot that I was dead, and there was something that followed after.

And then he appeared, scary in look, and with a strange question on his lips.

“A song… huh…” I asked, looking at the cloaked figure at it looked at me, feeling quite unimpressed with the standard of its' latest quarry. I was slow; a lot of my friends had described me as a dense, slow guy who found it difficult to take simple cues or catch basic references. It wasn't my fault that everyone and everything in this world existed on the fast lane and I just preferred to calm down and let things flow.

“Yes, a song. Is that a surprise to you?” The shadow figure said with a voice that sounded like every single voice I’ve ever heard at once. Well, actually I don’t think it even spoke it, I think the words and voice just appeared in my head. The thing clearly didn’t have a mouth, it was kind of just a giant black orb. If I stared too long into it, I felt empty. The light couldn’t escape it, and apparently, neither could emotion.

“Well, yeah. I expected maybe like a final meal, like a death sentence in life. Or maybe a slide show going over my life’s best moments or something. Perhaps a stat chart. Oooh, maybe like I’d get to talk to someone for the last time. Something that makes me think over my life and everything I did so I can feel complete before I leave, y’know?”

“Well yes, that’s the point of the song. You’d want to choose one long enough for some reminiscing, and one that brings you the nostalgia of good times. Music is actually the most powerful force to exist. It unifies you all, it evokes feeling, it changes emotions. It activates some primal feeling in your heart. And besides, would it have mattered if we went over your best moments? Your life wasn’t exactly eventful, you led a very boring existence.” It said. It was right, I had done nothing all my life. I regret my life, but maybe what lies beyond will be more exciting for me.

“Then that’s my greatest regret. I never paid any attention to music. I was always just working. I’d only heard distant music, and none of it ever resonated with me.”

“Well, you can pick a song and think about things, or I can just take you now.” It replied. It wasn’t impatient, I noticed, which is pretty impressive, as it probably has to do this nonstop.

“I have an idea. Why don’t you sing me a song? And not like, an earthly song of your choosing, but just express your heart to me in song.”

“That is an interesting prospect. You are the only one to have asked that. It is… acceptable.” It answered. I sat down and listened. I may not have paid much attention to sound in my life, but the voice it sang with was the most beautiful thing I had ever heard. It was like every emotion at once. After it was done, I clapped lightly.

“I’m surprised you’re still sitting there. A being incomprehensible to you just changed the auditory equivalent of its soul. That should make you lose your mind, and yet…”

“Well, you did say music unites us. Maybe it’s the kind of language anyone can understand. Thank you for singing for me.”

“Thank you for listening. Goodbye.” It replied respectfully. I smiled at it, and for a second, it felt like it smiled back.

A befitting end to a life not worth writing about.

*****

THE END.

How were your Christmas celebrations?

4
$ 4.75
$ 4.72 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Hanzell
Sponsors of Ozzyy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
2 years ago

Comments