Streets of Africa - Part One

34 89
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
3 years ago

I was born here... Raised here...Will probably die... God forbid that.

I was looking for a catchy beginning but what I came up with ended up looking like a death sentence or some sort so I had to pull the plug.

Hey there, I'm Ozzy, I'm a guy, and this is my first time writing on this platform. That's because I'm trying to make some money to be able to handle my secondary needs during the lockdown.

Now many of you might ask, "Hey, Ozzy doesn't sound like a real African name." Well, it's short for Ozioma. I'm a Nigerian, and from the Igbo tribe. Ozioma actually means "Good News", so I get asked why I like to shorten my name a lot. Well, Ozioma is principally a Girl's name.

You see, it's believed that naming your girl child Good News will help tell God or the gods (or whatever) that you desire the cherished male gender next. So why was this male named a girl's name, so to say? Because my Grandma said she was given the name by God.

So every now and then, I get random DMs from people on WhatsApp and Twitter that go "Hey babe" and I have to remind them "Hey bro, I'm a guy." Awesome, innit?

Finding a title for this piece took quite a while, but then I remembered a verse of the the song "Streets of Africa" by Burna Boy, a musician and 2019 Grammy Nominee from my country. Yeah I like to mention he's from my country, cause it makes me feel like we're good for something, for once. The verse went "I cannot not be happy all day, I'm from the Streets of Africa."

I really like the song, but really don't agree with Burna Boy. Growing up in Africa isn't a really good experience. It's bittersweet, it's not really explainable. It's like when you confess your feelings to your crush and she's like "Awwn". You get it? You don't know if she said that because it's cute the way you think you can actually be her type, or because she loves you back. As we say in Nigeria "That kain thing" meaning "that sort of situation."

What's "Streets of Africa" about? It's a "Diary of a Wimpy Kid" themed series, guaranteed to cause laughs and containing A LOT of relatable experiences.

This is my diary that you all get to see. This is my first attempt at something creative, but if it doesn't really work with you guys I could change and write about something else, whatever people like on this platform.

With further updates you could get to know me better and maybe laugh at my experiences. Hope I makes you happy in these trying times. Thanks.

P.S: I would really want to start a fiction as well, but I don't know what you guys are interested in: Sci-fi, Crime thrillers? Comment please

18
$ 2.37
$ 0.90 from @Ebuzzydagr8
$ 0.60 from @ancient.stone
$ 0.50 from @Koush
+ 2
Sponsors of Ozzyy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

[Removed comment]

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Both Sci-fi and Crime Thriller. Welcome to ReadCash Dear. Enjoy your stay πŸ˜πŸ˜‰πŸ˜‰ I like that "Hey bebe". .🀣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks a lot. This was my first article; I had no idea it still existed!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Catchy article, very nice

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks a lot

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hey@ozzy it was wonderful article. That's why i Really like very much Africa

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks bro. We all do.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Welcome to Read Cash. Yes like sci-fi. Short stories written by yourself would be welcomed!

$ 0.02
3 years ago

Thanks! I'm glad you like them.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

welcome to read.cash! try writing about intresting topics that you like and enjot writing about.have a good time on the platform!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks a lot

$ 0.00
3 years ago

you are very welcome. enjoy here and have a good time. good luck!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

@ozzyy you're welcome to read.cash. We shall be glad to get good articles from you on regular basis. Thank you.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks so much

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are welcome sir. We just have to be active in doing what we like-"blogging". Thank you a lot.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

If you did not play this game when you are a kid, that shows that you did not raised in African homes.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ honestly though

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Welcome. Nice to see you here. What I like best is real life stories and self-made pictures.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's very nice to hear. Thank you so much for your contributions and your support. I would like to see some of your content as well.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Cool article

$ 0.00
User's avatar Sax
3 years ago

Been nice

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hello there Ozzy, I think your name is uniqe. Thanks to your Grandma.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I would like articles on spiritual growth to help us understand that all human beings are equal in the eyes of God.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

A kind of unique article thanks for that❀️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice to know you @Ozzyy and your articles was constructed nicely. πŸ˜‡

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice to know you and your article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Welcome to read.cash. I am also quite new here. Just % days old account. I have been blogging before on another platform for two years and I still am.

Just a share of thoughts, You should write things that you can write best. You have a wonderful introduction here. I bet you can write more interesting stories.

I build a community here Share Some Thoughts (SST). If you would like you can join me there. You can join a multiple community here.

I love hearing other thoughts and stories especially mystery.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for the comment! It's great that you enjoy the story, and I'd be glad to join the community you've got there.

What platform are you talking about by the way

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have been blogging in steemit and also Hive platform. Steemit might have a little problem with the registration now but I think Hive is still open. Hive is actually the same community from steemit that move on to Hive because of some problem in the management.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

oh wow! Thanks a lot. Do they also pay in crypto?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

They pay in forms of tokens that we can exchange or sell for crypto. That is why it is a bit complicated there compare to here regarding the exchange and withdrawal. A bit more things to do.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Just keep writing!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I will!

$ 0.00
3 years ago