Baron III

4 16
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
3 years ago

I couldn't take my eyes of Casper's body, which was slumped in his chair, his head and neck visible. He was dead - that was clear as day. But to think that such a gruesome act would take place - right before my eyes - was revolting.

Retching, I crouched to regain my bearings. I wileof myself to vomit, to express my nausea in some other way than the scrunching on my face, but there was nothing else I could do. It just wasn't in me. So I looked back up at the duo, who were smiling keenly at me.

"I'm not exactly the warmest person there ever was, but I think that was enough mourning. Our joint syndicate still needs your leadership in order to move to greater heights than where your friend has brought us to, bless his soul," the woman said calmly as though she had not just instigated the cold-blooded murder of three men here.

"A joint syndicate?" He asked weakly, even as the wheels in his head turned.

He remembered a day when Casper had told him.about a crossroads the 'business' had reached. A crucial moment where he could join forces with two other syndicates and form an alliance, taking a large but fair 45% of all profits and leaving the other 55% amongst the others to be shared equally.

"Ah damn, he was using all of those ideas for this?" He asked, annoyed and disappointed.

"I'd like to think he put his own spin on your ideas, the greedy bastard. From all you said when you first entered here, you're one to care about morals and ethics...all of that disgusting nonsense," the Mr. Kawaa said offhandedly while the woman scoffed. "I'd like to think you'd have offered a better deal than taking 55% for yourself like Castillo did."

It would appear a statement, but it was more like two other things: a question and a reminder. Not only was he asking me what I'd have done, thus gauging my personality, but he was also reminding me of the fact that they had both decided that I would take over from Casper - I had no say in the matter.

It was a pickle, but there was a confusing part of the whole puzzle. Why didn't they just kill me and take his share of the business for themselves? This option was obviously available to them, and it was not like either of them had any moral commitments - they had just killed three men without any hesitation. So what was preventing them from doing the same to me now?

I decided to ask a question on this, deflecting their attention from their expectations and evaluation of me. I had no intentions of running an illegal narcotics syndicate, but it was obvious that they weren't going to take that answer in good fate. The lobger I stalled that conversation, the more my chances of getting out of this condo, and this city increased.

"There's a bit of grey area here. Something I don't understand. And I don't like that - not understanding things."

Kawasaki smiled again. A smile of a predator zeroing in on its pray. It sent chills down my spine, but j maintained eye contact and steeled my expression. People like him fed on fear, using it to manipulate anyone unfortunate enough to fall into his grasp.

"You're straightforward, unlike your sly predecessor. A bit stern, but there's no place for the weak here. I'll enjoy working with you," he said, steering the conversation in that direction again.

"I'll decide if I'll be working at all. But that's not what I wanted to talk about," I said, tactically putting my position out there and still maintaining my firm resolve and tough exterior. A look flashed across their faces, but I remained unfazed, moving on like we had already finished with that discussion. "This whole thing, or at least Casper's share... What stood you from taking it for yourself? You both know I really don't have any intention of taking over, and you could just take control, choose a sharing formula that works best, and move on with your lives, letting me go or disposing me as you see fit..."

They both shared a look that showed me they knew where I was heading.

"...but then you decide I should take over. Which means you want someone in that position, but not just anyone, you want someone who employed Casper's ideas and approach to this whole business. And who better than the original owner of those ideas?"

The woman looked impressed. A look I had become accustomed to. My intuition was one of my fortes and so seeing through what was happening to this extent was easy.

"You're smart," The woman said finally.

"Very," the man said. "That's why we want you in particular. Your intellect is what we need to move this team forward..."

I cut in.

"Mr. Kawasaki, was it? You're right about my intellect. Without any intention to blow my trumpet, I'm saying that I'm well aware that I'm an intelligent man. You both know this, you especially. So when you lie through your teeth like that, do you really think your wiles and expertise at this art will give you an advantage? That my intelligence which you acknowledged would be put to shame?"

"Do not insult me!" He suddenly said loudly.

"You're Japanese, yeah? Typical. Very defensive about their honor and reputation and all that. I'd have loved to think you had lost al those airs considering the business you're neck deep in, but leopard spots eh?"

He sneered.

"I wasn't insulting you. I just want sugarcoating the truth to avoid unconsciously offending you, like others around you do. You were lying, because you are a cunning man who has been doing it long enough to be so confident that you'd like to me and I'd fall for it."

The woman sat up, the mini power tussle obviously exciting her. "What are you saying then, Eddie?"

"That the powr scaling here was terribly in Castillo's favor. You didn't usurp him because you couldn't have, be not because you shouldn't have. What I want to know is this: what was the extent of his power and influence?"

Chantelle had a scowl on her face, and yet it looked pleasant compared to the glowering look on Mr. Kawasaki's face.

"Did I hit a nerve?" I asked sarcastically. "The question is what it is, what was the extent of his power and influence?"

Chantelle cut in before Kawasaki could say anything.

"You'd know, wouldn't you? Didn't you make all the plans and have all the ideas? What's the need for this question?"

"Einstein, I was left in the dark for most of this. Explain a bit, please. " I snickered.

"Well, your ideas led to him amassing a lot of support from the down under, where you and him all had come from. We burned the ladders that brought us to the top, while you amintained yours, not allowing people to come too close - obviously to maintain your place - but yet maintaining a good relationship with them..."

Those plans were definitely mine, and I was beginning to catch the drift. I interrupted.

"...so you didn't try anything violent because he had the support of the streets and others below him, who make up the majority of the manpower of the syndicate," I said matter-of-factly.

"Yes."

"Hah. Well, that's for you guys to worry about. Like I said, I don't have any interests or designs for this offer of yours. So I'll be taking my leave now."

I walked out of the room, barely stopping myself from running. Once in the secretary's office, I glanced at Samantha, who looked back with a smirk of her own.

"There are surveillance cameras in the room. I got everything on tape," she said, handing me a memory stick and a gun.

"What's this for?" I asked.

"You'll need it, because it'll take them about twenty seconds before they shoot down down the door and then come after you, damning the consequences. Even if you survive, they'll pin Casper's death on you and then the whole criminal underworld will be after you. You have to kill them!"

"I-I can't..."

Samantha was already running out of the door, "You're going to have to lose these morals soon, and now's the best time!"

I had two options now, to either hunt or be hunted. I chose to hunt. And hunt well.

*****

I hope I'm really going in the right direction with his story, because I only have a vague idea of what I want it to end like.

What are your thoughts on the story so far?

1
$ 2.38
$ 2.36 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Hanzell
Sponsors of Ozzyy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

NEXT CHAPTEERRRR!!!! I REALLY LOVE WHERE THIS IS GOING OWO

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks 🥰🥰

I'll try to update today

$ 0.00
3 years ago

yiee I can't wait to read it tomorrow >w<

$ 0.00
3 years ago

🥺

$ 0.00
3 years ago