Happy Bitcoin Pizza Day!

10 24
Avatar for Otsowamchodzi
3 years ago

Yes, that's right.  The day has come.  Today, May 22, is that day we gather around as a community to remind Laszlo Hanyecz about the horrible decision he made 10 years ago to order pizza.  He posted on the bitcointalk forum an offer of 10,000 BTC for two pizzas.  Unfortunately for Laszlo, his order was filled.  If only his internet connection could have gone down before making the transfer.  

On May 18, 2020 Laszlo wrote, "I'll pay 10,000 bitcoins for a couple of pizzas.. like maybe 2 large ones so I have some left over for the next day.  I like having left over pizza to nibble on later.  You can make the pizza yourself and bring it to my house or order it for me from a delivery place, but what I'm aiming for is getting food delivered in exchange for bitcoins where I don't have to order or prepare it myself, kind of like ordering a 'breakfast platter' at a hotel or something, they just bring you something to eat and you're happy!"  

Four days later, he reported back on the forum that the deal had gone down and he had received his pizzas finally.  I can't imagine the feeling those other members of bitcointalk have nowadays when they look back and realize they could have taken the offer first and ordered him his damn pizza.

Now, I'm hardly one to speak on this matter, as I have made more dumb decisions than I could possibly count.  There's also no way for Laszlo to have ever known or imagined the size of the mistake that he was making as Bitcoin had next to know value back then.  Hell, if I had 10,000 BTC back in 2010 I can guarantee none of it would be left today.  The following year, Laszlo's 10,000 bitcoin would have reached $10,000 USD, and that number has only gone up since.  We all know the story of bitcoin's price so I don't need to dwell on what could've been, but $92 million by today's price is still tough to stomach.

Since first hearing about Bitcoin Pizza Day a few years ago, I've seen multiple interviews with Laszlo Hanyecz and he seems to be doing fine nowadays and is in good spirits about the whole thing.  Also, its only fitting that these events took place in Florida.  It probably wasn't even one of the 50 weirdest things to happen there on that day.

PS: I'm totally new to blogging and this is my first post, if it wasn't obvious enough already.  Hopefully, they will improve going forward...

3
$ 0.00
Avatar for Otsowamchodzi
3 years ago

Comments

Imazine that 100000 was during this time. He will be more famous then the winkleebos brother.Suprisingly this is the first time i have heard of the happy bitcoin pizza day.. i was curious since than . Thanks for sharing.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Suprisingly this is the first time i have heard of the happy bitcoin pizza day.. i was curious since than . Thanks for shring

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am pleased to hear that someone can know this thanks to my posts :) Wait for further posts! Thanks !

$ 0.00
3 years ago

In fact, nobody knew that Bitcoin would make a historic rise in price as quick as that. If that guy had known, he wouldn't have done what he did.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ye, I can definitely agree with you. Thhhank you for comenting brother ! Hope we I will see you in my next post :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I look forward to reading your articles. I have subscribed, as soon as you published them I will know. Thanks.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Seriously! I thought it was just a story!but he made a great loss! But seeing the amount,I would have painted.By the way he got famous due to this.Thats why you are remembering him!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha :D Thank you for commenting ! Hope you will stay here for a longer :) Have a nice day !

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Imazine that 100000 was during this time. He will be more famous then the winkleebos brother.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for commenting one more time :D I will be happy if you stay with me for a long time

$ 0.00
3 years ago