Professional Procrastination.

5 43
Avatar for One95Earner
3 years ago (Last updated: 2 years ago)

This is one lucrative career whose main qualifier is COMFORT. I once served in this job description and rose above the ranks faster than I could imagine. It is so outstanding an occupation that it has never been affected by any Pandemic or disaster in the recent past. Well, as you read this, please bear in mind that I was forced to step down. They say memories feed the soul, and indeed I find so much insight from that kind of experience upon reflection. I believe that you as a reader has either served, is currently in it or once eyed this game changing position. I would like to hear your experiences too. To create a great ambience for that, let me start with mine.

This is mostly a result of giving the mind an opportunity to seek gratification. Let me assume that we all know how curious and unstoppable our brains can get, especially when we neglect the role of proactively shaping the process. I was recently working out and laziness kicked in. My brain convinced me that I was tired and just when I was about to stop, I awakened myself to the reality of things. The truth was that I could lift some more. As much as I intended to call it a day and wait for the next session, I challenged myself to go harder after a short break. It got productive because I had managed to reframe my mind. That is amongst the few times when, in rare occasions, I managed to tap into the workings of my own brain. I no longer serve it, instead, I make my brain serve me. Now imagine what procrastination can earn you when patched into a month-long and more, of activities. That is how one becomes a professional procrastinator.

This is postponing what can be achieved today, to a future date. It is a loss by itself because you have allowed yourself to be defeated by your own brain in the debate of "whether now or in future". That is an internal process which even the most righteous minds go through. Ancient Stoics have addressed this specific topic and that shows how old an issue it is. So do you want to be another statistic? For you to even read this, I had to count that small WIN first. "Of Overcoming my immediate gratifications inorder to have this morning journaling routine"

Gratifications are meant to be delayed. We are all men racing against time to ensure that we fulfill our God-given purpose in life. I hold the belief that nothing at any given point should ever come between one and the fulfillment of his Purpose. I am not filling words in here to get your attention, I have been there. I am sharing my life experiences.

I believe the man next to me doesn't need to go through what I have been through inorder to learn what I know. We are meant to share experiences and educate one another. Apart from it reducing the burden of facing things as a complete stranger, it saves time too.

Professional procrastination is being deeply stuck in a rabbit hole. If you are ignorant, that makes you a victim unknowingly. If you are bold enough to care about it then it marks the beginning of your journey out of it. Being accountable of my self to myself changed everything and I believe it's the solution. I am talking about the self imposed pressure. Filling journals daily sounds easy but it isn't, it calls for discipline and commitment, not towards the journaling itself but to set Goals. It will be easy to track down your activities when they are put down on paper. And just the way Power dwells in knowledge, writing stuff down plays as a manifestation. Project it!

6
$ 3.00
$ 3.00 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of One95Earner
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for One95Earner
3 years ago (Last updated: 2 years ago)

Comments

I wrote an article on how to avoid procrastination 3 days ago. You explained it better than me though. 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for stopping by and even comparing notes. It is the diversity of opinion and experience which makes each one of us unique. Let me read your piece.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Just feel free to visit my articles, if you want to read some.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Great

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks also for passing by.

$ 0.00
3 years ago