What Would You Do?

34 101
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago

Image Source.

Please, for the umpteenth time, never settle for a guy because he is just fine, please, go for something deeper. Only those in it can tell you what they are facing but most people fall into the wrong hands based on pressure from family and friends or even the pressure they put on themselves because their friends are getting married.

I have said it many times, marriage is not an achievement as many people think. I know achievement is relative but what I am saying is that shouldn't be your only life's goal. If you are married, so what? What's next? Does that mean we don't have those who are married and achieved so much? It's the same way we have those who married and achieved so much more so it is more about you than about finding someone to complete you. You are not broken so you don't need fixing.

This is why we need to take the time to understand and study our partners. Don't get swayed by the feelings because most people easily get carried away by them. By all means, enjoy the feelings and give it your best but watch out for the warning signs. I already shared many weeks ago about the kind of questions you need to ask your partner before things get serious because that's how you will understand what you are going to be in for.

You can't know all you have to know about a person but at least know the tangibles that would help you make an informed decision about your future together. As lovey-dovey as I can be, I know when to be brutal with my assessment when it comes to the matter of my heart. What I don't want in my future I don't want to tolerate it now.

Image Source.

I've had to break up with a lady many years ago because the influence of her mother over her was too much and I wasn't asking her to be rebellious but simply for her to show her mother by also making reasonable choices that would make her understand that she is matured.

I would give her advice on what to do and she wouldn't do it and the more this lingers the more her mother lost faith in her and it hurts to see all efforts being wasted. The shocking thing is, her mother didn't even dominate her younger sister as she did with her and that's where I knew there was a problem and I wouldn't want that in my life. When it comes to the matter of the heart, I owe no one apology because I have to do what's best for me and oh boy, I did.

Many years down the line I was proved right yet again because up till today, her mother still dominate her even while being married, she got a beating from her mother because I am still friends with a mutual friend we both have and that one opened the can of worms by telling me how things are going. Apparently, her mother forced her to marry the guy she married and she left the boyfriend she was dating. So, because she was unhappy and still didn't communicate with her mother regarding the state of her heart, she married this guy but while still being married she was having secret sex with the boyfriend she left back then at the instruction of her mother, in her matrimonial home.

Another real-life story came to mind as I was writing this and this is why I keep stressing all I've been stressing.

Image Source.

A newly wedded couple had the first challenging test of their marriage when a major decision threatened their marriage. The wife earns way more than the husband and it's something they never addressed before because they felt they would be fine. One day, the husband was asked to relocate to another branch that is completely different from where they reside. Rather than having a meaningful discussion as to how they would navigate that moment of their lives, the husband told the wife to resign from her work and move with him into the new location.

Even with the new location this man is going to and the obvious pay rise, the wife would still be earning far more than him yet he said she should quit her job. It's obvious that the guy had resentment that the wife earns more than him and he wanted to use this opportunity to cage her by asserting his "authority" as a man. It would have been easier on the lady if her office had a branch where they are to go to only that way she would have r requested for transfer on marriage ground.

This is why I mentioned in my article yesterday that marriage is indeed a risk because there is no telling sometimes how someone would react to certain situations. This decision shouldn't be a hard one to make if only they would both sit down and address how they can do it. Are they both happy with their jobs? Can they shuttle weekends for a while before deciding what to do? How long would they do the shuttling before they finally break that stress? Can she be given a year at least to still keep that job while the husband would go to where he is going and then look for opportunities for her there IF they both agreed that they wanted to move?

Are they financially stable enough for them to make the wife go over there and take a job that pays less or can the wife's salary help them for a while so that the husband can state his case with his company by not taking up the new branch and if they reject it, at least till he can start looking for another job where they are currently?

There are so many aspects of this that should be covered which I, unfortunately, can't cover because it's not a decision that should be made in a hurry. Both have the right in the home and the husband shouldn't have to throw his wife under the bus because he is the man. Marriage is all about sacrifices and they must find what works for them best.

What would you do as a man or as a woman in this situation bearing in mind that you are a couple and you are on the same team? I would love to read your objective comments.

Kindly follow me on Noise.Cash... I am trying to engage more with people and connect with everyone with this account. I look forward to seeing you there... You can say hello to me there so we can get familiarized as well. Click here.

Thank you for your time.

17
$ 4.77
$ 4.28 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @FarmGirl
+ 12
Sponsors of Olasquare
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago

Comments

Wow! How did I miss this article of yours? @dreemport brought me here πŸ˜‹

Marriage is really a big commitment and if both partners do not sit down to discuss what is going to be in for them and how they can cope and help each other, it would be so hard to understand when both finally settles down.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yaaaaaaaay! I am glad Dreemport brought you here. Marriage is indeed a big Commitment but sadly most people still don't understand this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The few who understands it enjoys it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's right, dear.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Being in a relationship is a huge committment ,and marriage is a no joke... You must be willing to commit when you enter that stage.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly... Commitment and understanding... Both are vital.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks a lot, I have also said it on one of my previous articles, marriage is not a life goal, and it's definitely not an achievement. It takes lots of thinking, a sound decision, and a prepared whole being to enter into marriage.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's right... We have to be prepared on all fronts for it and most parents here in Nigeria raise their children up to think marriage is the goal without telling them that they have to build the character for it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think you should be awarded "Relationship Doctor." You always do an excellent job in talking deep about relationship. Marriage is not easy, what we must know is that in marriage we must be ready to make sacrifices. Sometimes you should decide to please your partner before you please yourself. But in all ramifications, be reasonable and understanding

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I love how you ended this lovely comment... Be reasonable and understanding... Marriage is about showing consider for one another.

Thank you so much, brother.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Being in relationship is a big factor because it involve time and effort , so it must be serious one that ends up into mariage thing.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's it... It requires commitment if we are to get the best out of it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Entering into relationship is taken seriously. If your reason is you are just bored so make a relationship with someone that is the big mistake.

$ 0.02
User's avatar EJ
2 years ago

Most people go into a relationship, even marriage because they are bored and that's indeed a big mistake.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is good to know each other well and live a straightforward life. What I can not tolerate when I have kids, I wont tolerate it now

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It's really important to know each other, no doubt.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Truth be told, if I were the lady I can't quit my job because of marriage, after all I was in the job before he married me since he did not mention that while we are dating , that means he's okay with my job.

Why not tell me when we are dating so that a possible solution will found before marriage. I don't take I will obey him in that case, I'm not a stubborn girl but to be foretold is to before harm...lol

I love transparency in relationship, why keeping quiet when you know you can't live with in the first place, it is better talk , then if it will be possible for me change I will then we'll work together to make everything perfect, but waiting after marriage thinking you now have authority over me, chai!!! My husband , you'll fail the unit course πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚, things don't work that way.

No one is inferior and no one is superior in marriage, to have a successful marriage , understanding is involved and this start from thier dating stage, a stage where you should decide on what you'll be able to tolerate and vice versa...

I'm just being blunt hereπŸ™„

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I love your bluntness. I think you were they one they sang that song for; Peru...Para...Peru Peru Para πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ€£.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kikikikiki 🀣🀣, not at all ooo, I'm just saying my mind, you gave me the other to talk...lol

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Carry on, please. No shaking.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kikikikiki 🀣🀣, not at all ooo, I'm just saying my mind, you gave me the other to talk...lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The man might have been quite unreasonable, but we shouldn't be so quick to reduce it to assertion of authority. If it were me, we would have easily talked about it and ironed it out

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I totally understand you but it's strange that's the only decision he could come up with by asking her to quit a job she earns thrice as much as he earns.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Marriage is not as easy as we all think. It requires alot from both parties to make it work. If only we learn to understand our partners and have the insight to see what's best for them in future, it will be better.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Understanding... That's key.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

in the last case . are there not husband who live abroad and the wife in another country? for me e can also see anything so I can travel alone while you are there cos of your work, is just understanding

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It's basic understanding and I was shocked to learn he wanted the wife to quit her job.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Marriage is a long process or a longest decision to made. Before to enter the world of marriage both of you must be ready about what are the responsibilities and be aware for everything.

It's really a serious matter that need to think deeply before to decide the final one. You prepare already. Don't put your life into regrets at the end.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It takes a whole new level of maturity, no doubt.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Settling down with a life partner is to be done with carefulness. It is not something that is to be rushed over at all.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It's not a decision to be rushed, that's true.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You used the right word there authority! Men are so quick yo turn back to this word when things are going not the way they want. A woman is not supposed to be a slave to any man and men that exert their so called authority on their wives are nothing but cowards, hiding behind their gender.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I love this and agree with you... Cowards. If they are not they won't have to be reminding their spouse of who they are in the first place if they didn't fail at it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dear @mhizutty; I totally agree with you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago