Thou Shall Not Compare.

38 107
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago

Image Source.

Nothing is ever enough in the world we live in. We always want more of everything and after we set targets on what to achieve, the moment we meet those targets, we set another. That's a good thing because it keeps us moving and that's life, it doesn't stop. Just when you think you have attained a pinnacle, the moment you just want to take a moment to relax, other things stare at you in the face and you just want to keep going.

Success sometimes doesn't seem satisfying. I got a notification yesterday that I've had more than 10,000 views and the first thing that came to my mind was, I want 100,000 views. It was the same back then when I started on Steemit in 2016. The reputation was 25 for starters and I kept going with so many achievements updates being sent to me. It was like fuel to me to keep going and going and I am still going.

That's with many others too because we sometimes see the achievements of others and we want it to motivate us to be better too. We don't want to rest on our laurels as we constantly strive to be better than the person we were a day before. There is a need for constant growth daily and others can motivate us. There is, however, a fine margin between comparison and motivation.

Your motivation must and should come from within you. What makes you do the things you do? Why do you want to do the things you planned to do? Whatever your reasons are, let your motivation stir up from inside. I understand that others can inspire us but that's all they can do but only we can motivate ourselves. The competition must be from within and not from external forces. The moment you lose that fire from inside you, there is nothing anyone else can do to get you back on track. Only you can help yourself in this regard.

Image Source.

Most people make the mistake of confusing comparison to motivation. I've been there before too. I see my friends working and I wasn't working then, so I started feeling depressed. I kept comparing my life to theirs and felt they had it better than I back then. Everyone is going through something they can't discuss with others and we need to stop assuming and wishing we have the life of another. Each man or woman with their stories and you can't desire their success if you don't understand where they are coming from, so you need to allow their stories to inspire you while you ruminate on it to motivate yourself from within.

There must be a reason as to why you want to do certain things. Do you want to buy a car? Why? To show off or to ease your movements? Do you want more money? Why? To help your family, yourself, others? There is always a reason why we want the things we want and how genuine your reasons are would determine how sustainable your motivation from within can be.

We shouldn't feel threatened when we see others attain some level of success. Most people think they are failing because they could only afford a smaller car whereas others are going for the latest.

I heard a story of a man earlier from my brother's wife. Apparently, the guy is a family member of hers and they noticed many years ago that this guy just got into money without anyone knowing the source of it. Presently, he has been sick and has been trying different ways to have people visit him...maybe to renew whatever he had done but no one seem to desire to go because they all knew who he is. Imagine someone on the outside would have seen this man live that life of affluence and think they are failing without understanding the crazy things he had done which he is presently suffering from now.

Image Source.

It's okay to see someone drive your dream car and tell yourself, "One day, I will own this." It means you opened up your mind to the possibilities of getting it not because you want to go out of the honest way to attain it to impress those who are not even looking at you.

Never compare yourself to others because it has its way of reducing you to nothing and denting your confidence. Once your confidence has been affected, it's hard to achieve those goals you have set out to achieve.

I know while growing up, anytime we failed we always have our parents compare us to others doing well. We have even had parents compare siblings to each other and I know you can understand how horrible you felt. Your friend got admission faster than you or a friend got married earlier than you or a friend completed his house when you have t even bought a brick. You have seen those who post pictures of their summer abroad whereas you haven't even stepped on a plane not to talk of owning a passport. Is it a friend who gave birth whereas you got married earlier than that friend? Do they have a job or a booming business? You have a friend even here on read cash that you both joined together but is earning more than you? I can go on and on and on...

The situations would always present themselves for us to compare ourselves to another but we shouldn't fall into that trap. Let other people's success inspire you rather than cause you to resent them. Let it fuel a desire in you that would motivate you to be better rather than depress you. We can all succeed together and you don't have to drag others down for you to succeed. Dragging others down doesn't guarantee success because we are all unique and have a different path.

Stop the comparison and start working.

Thank you for your time.

Kindly follow me on Noise.Cash... I am trying to engage more with people and connect with everyone with this account. I look forward to seeing you there... You can say hello to me there so we can get familiarized as well. Click here.

25
$ 10.07
$ 9.24 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @tired_momma
$ 0.08 from @Maryjacy
+ 19
Sponsors of Olasquare
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago

Comments

It is so easy to compare ourselves to others, I notice that I do it a lot and it hunts me but I have come to realize that everyone has their pace and comparison only puts you on a hot seat.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It always put us on the hot seat and we invite unnecessary pressure which we can do Without.. that's so true, dear.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very well elucidated Olasquare. Reminds me very much of Matthew McConaughy's Oscar Acceptance Speech..."Who is your hero?" :-) If you haven't seen it, do yourself a favour and give it a watch.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahaha thank you very much for this recommendation...I will check it out.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We walk in different path and different success no need to drag other just for us to be on top. But then, its human mindset.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly... It's the human mindset and why we need to change it and do better.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Not even good to compare ourselves to others in terms of achievement or the wealth they acquire. An adage says isale oro le gbin meaning the source of some people wealth cannot be write about. That's what I told my girlfriend two weeks ago when she is complaining that our class mate back in secondary school then are now. Big girls and slay mama's outside there.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahaha that's so right. We don't even need to compare in terms of material things or achievements. We all have different paths.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah that's just the fact and God purpose for our lives is different

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Absolutely different and I hope many people would understand this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We should stop unhealthy competition , we can never be the same , comparing our selves to others will make us not to stay focus in achieving our goals...

Other people success should motivate us, it's okay that you want to achieve what they achieve, but are you ready to do what they are doing ? It's now Left for us to motivate ourselves to take the step to be there also.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, their success should motivate us and not push us into unhealthy competition or comparisons.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Its not being wise to compare ourselves to others in terms of how our lives is to be lived by. Having individual differences , as to personalities, abilities and capabilities. We must admit these realities and just focus on ourselves how to make our lives to be the best person that we could be with the abilities and capabilities God has given to us. We are not accountable to anyone how to live our lives as it should be except to God who created us. God accepts us as who we are physically and spiritually so we must accept ourselves of who we really are. In this way we could overcome comparing ourselves to others, compete with others or even envy others. Let's be happy for them and for ourselves for what had God allowed us to have and accomplished in this earth.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

This is beautiful. That's it... We are accountable to God and no one else so we shouldn't live our lives by the standards of men.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My friend would keep asking me when will it be my turn to do something others have done and my response to them will be "I am not in an hurry and I will also achieve more than that at my own time"

There is difference truly between comparison and motivation.

Someone asked another person what was his motivation? And he said "money" he wants to help his family, he wants to do this and that and he needs money. So for him to get the money, he must work hard.

We need to ignite our self-motivation because only that can push us forward.

Thanks for sharing 🤗🤗

Congratulations for reaching 10,000 views.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you for this, KP. Indeed, we are not in any competition with anyone as each person is running a personal race and many people need to understand this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, if the mind can be Mastermind to stay off from comparison because in one way or the other, we are prone to comparison or rather done it before. I was once a victim of comparison but the ugly ways of quick money making by us(the youth) pulled me off. Nothing moves me anymore. The more you compare, the more you are lured to do the things they do

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly... The more we compare the more people are exposed to things that shouldn't be heard of. It's scary.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is the human nature I talked about. All they want is more & more. More fame, name, desires & dreams.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Which exposes them to ways they shouldn't even be exploring.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm guilty on the thought that I tend to compare myself to others, thankfully I passed by a motivational article which tells why should we not compare ourselves to others and I learned a lot from that article. Anyway nice words you have there

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I am glad you found this useful and it means a lot. We must focus on ourselves and not others.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can relate with this but that was before, I said I'm motivated but I didn't realize that I'm actually comparing, I wanted more and more until I found it tiring and exhausted so i decided to stop. I mean I didn't stop working but I stop chasing their Achievements. I fucos on my priorities and do my work after finishing my priority. So know I'm toxic free.. I'm happy enough with my little achievement's.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's the right attitude to have and I am happy with that. Focus on what's important to you and keep building up gradually. We shouldn't feel threatened by the achievement of others.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So true, we don't need to drag others just us to be on top, helping each other is way better. If she/he succeed you'll surely too, maybe you two have different path buf in the end you'll met each other.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's right. We sometimes have different paths but helping each other eases things. We shouldn't be competing with one another.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We shouldn't do that because it will mislead us. I do compare myself too in the past but I realize it would do no good to me, therefore I set my mind into something new and positive outlook in life.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's right, Gracie... It won't do us any good at all.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is true sir, when we came into the world, we came with nothing. Just like my mom says; "Oju e ti la, ni a la ju" when you want more than you ever deserve. This is a common problem for everyone. They want all things to become their own. Human desire never get fulfilled.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's so true. It's a common brother and in Economics, it is said that human needs are insatiable.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is so true. Comparing towards each other is really not a good thing. I always compared myself to my brother and it's really not a good one cos I always have self pity. Now, I'm coping up on it. Trying to be the best version of myself.

Congrats by the way for the 10000 views!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I am glad you can relate with this and you've overcome it. It drains us to compare ourselves to others because we just can never measure up. Thank you so much, my friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow,a more than 10,000 views,amazing sir ,congrats 🎉

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you so much.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We need to be ourselves at God's speed.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

God above all.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The greatest values in our lives are love, humility, generosity, and generosity. And there is no measure for these achievements!!! It is necessary to strive first of all for these treasures, and do not pay attention to the definition of success by the amount of money and or material goods.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

This is beautiful and perfectly captured the whole thing. Thank you so much for this brilliant contribution.

$ 0.01
2 years ago