Pressure.

39 63
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago

Image Source.

Pressure in life is real but I dislike those who put pressure on others just to feel good about themselves. We have those who exert pressure on others either because they are bored or they want to feel good about themselves or deceive others into thinking they care. What a weird way of showing you care with your insensitiveness.

I feel blessed not having anyone exert unnecessary pressure on me to get married. I would never bulge even if my parents were alive to give that kind of pressure because as much as I love both of them, there are some pressure I won't yield to especially where my heart and my life is concerned.

I was angry when I read @Princessbusayo 's post where she talked about this particular aunty that called herself and her sister up asking them to hurry up so they can get married. Maybe you would feel the anger I felt when you read the post yourself and you can catch up with it here: She Is Bothered.

This particular aunty in question has never checked up on them or helped them in any way with anything ever since their mum died and yet she felt the need to offer unsolicited advice. The issue is, most people whose opinions are not needed always have this need to control how other people's lives would feel like it. I have a scathing attack in my comment on her post and that is because I don't fancy people like that.

Do you see me poking you at funerals when an elderly person dies to remind you that you are next or you should be next? So why would she feel the need to feed the head of those who are still trying to find their feet with unnecessary pressure on getting married? The annoying part is, she has children in the university as well, I wonder why she didn't arrange a marriage for them or maybe the moment they graduate she would force them to go and get married and those children would be dumb enough to agree to it. I told Princess not to bother herself about this aunty and her sister shouldn't bother herself as well because it's obvious she is bored. I hope Princess can share the link to this article with her sister to calm her down because I learnt she is bothered especially with their elder sister threatening to call this so-called aunty to order.

Never let anyone tell you which direction your life should head. You are in charge of your life and no one else. Take your steps, make your decisions and be ready to stick with it without apology to anyone. We are mostly concerned about what others would say because we fear the unknown but we shouldn't. It's okay to make mistakes but learn from them and let them be on your terms. That is how we learn in life when we make our mistakes and take responsibility for it but when you allow them to make decisions for us, we would rather blame them and we might not learn what we should from it. Most people listen to others and make decisions that others ask them to make because in case things go wrong, it is easier to blame others than themselves.

All these people pressuring you to marry won't be the ones to stay in that marriage with you and when things go wrong, they would be one of the many people that would point accusing fingers at you forgetting their part in it because even with their pressure, they know it's your life and you should have made a better decision for yourself.

Image Source.

I know of a young lady that was pressured into marriage. She is very beautiful and of course young then. The mother made her doubt herself by constantly telling her that she is using her beauty to play around when she could have just used it to get married as quickly as she can. The mother arranged her introduction even though the guy was someone she knew also. She tricked her to come home only for her to get home and noticed they had planned a mini introduction. The mother got her the clothes to wear and everything went on without her prior knowledge.

She reluctantly went ahead with the wedding and after 3 years, it crashed. The guy felt she was from a wealthy background not knowing they were just average. She narrated her experience to me with regret in her voice and I felt that. They had a baby then and she raised the baby by herself after they were separated for a year before making their divorce official. He lied about practically everything just to siphon money from this lady and she didn't know because she felt she was 'supporting' her husband. Out of guilt, the mother told her to bring the child so she can raise the daughter for her while she focus on her job and healing.

This is what happens when you allow other people to dictate the direction of your life by yielding to pressure. It is your life and you have to take charge. If something doesn't feel right to you then don't do it. I believe so much in prayer and you should pray till you have peace in your heart but it has to be an act of total surrender to God because you would be living in a cocoon world of self-delusion when you already have something else in your mind and to fulfil all righteousness you are now asking God for help. You will only be hearing what you have in your mind and that voice of direction from God, you won't listen.

I've read, seen and heard so many examples of how people got pressured into marriages and it didn't work out and that's one of the many reasons why I dislike it when people pressurize others into marriage. Don't listen to them, they are just bored so it's left to you whether you want to be an object of amusement; toy to them.

Thank you for your time.

Kindly follow me on Noise.Cash... I am trying to engage more with people and connect with everyone with this account. I look forward to seeing you there... You can say hello to me there so we can get familiarized as well. Click here.

24
$ 5.75
$ 5.21 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 13
Sponsors of Olasquare
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago

Comments

Never allowed anybody to let you know which course your life should head. You are responsible for your life and no other person. Make your strides, settle on your choices and be prepared to stay with it without expression of remorse to anybody.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's absolutely right.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Such marriages are doomed to fail. The result is a ruined life and wasted years. And all because of someone who manipulated us. So listen only to yourself and only your heart-it's up to you to live with it!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I always enjoy your contributions. Yes, we don't have to give in to their manipulations and whatever choice we make we should live with it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's always better to marry aye than to marry wrong. When you marry because you think your aren't getting any younger or because your peers are getting married, you're holing with your life

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Some people did this to me pressuring me in terms of maariage which I never listen co'z I am just waiting the man that God give.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It's better to wait than to be sorry. I totally agree with you on this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agreed. It is better ro marry late than marry wrong.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's right... It's worth waiting for.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This post makes me smile as I remembered that all my friends and siblings are married meanwhile I got into my relationship before anyone of them but am still here in a relationship while some of them already has a baby even my junior sister is expecting another child already

I choose to live alone because I don't want family pressure I left my sister's house because I know she will be the first person to put a pressure on me to get married mind you my man is not ready yet So I think I made a right choice my staying alone to avoid anyone pushing me or putting pressure on me

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I am glad you chose the best way to respond to them by being alone. As long as you know what you want, whatever others say doesn't really matter and I am glad to know that you wont bulge to their unnecessary pressure.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I suddenly remember when I'm still at my 20's, my cousin's keeps on telling me to join dating site and look for a foreign boyfriend,they say's I should use my brain if I wanted to have a great life in the future. I was so annoyed with their mindset, what do they think about foreigners? Popping a dollar? They even hate my Filipino suitors and keep on nagging me as I'm being too hard headed for them. One time I really can't hold my patience anymore and I really fight for my own life, I told them that I don't need to a marry a foreigner just to have a good life, I can have whatever I want through my hard-works. I actually don't understand why they think that marrying a foreigner makes you rich. And I really didn't let them decide for my own future. This is my life,i can choose what ever future I want.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I love how you held down your own and stood your ground. Just imagine how they were thinking already. That's disturbing. Wow. It's an insult for them to think you can't make it on your own except with a foreign suitor.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Beautifully said.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you, my friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I loath pressure on myself too and I can't let one heap them on me.

@Princessbusayo story is a true depiction of the unnecessary pressure our girls undergo when they are of marriable age and no real suitor knocks on the door.

$ 0.02
User's avatar xus
2 years ago

Absolutely. I don't understand what they expect them to do...latch at just any man that comes because they are of marriageable age. It's crazy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We shouldn't let other people dictate us for we have our own mind and life. We are the one who makes a decision especially when it come to important thing like marriage. Don't listen to anyone just because you are pressured, you might suffer in the end.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Don't listen to anyone...that is so accurate.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's really annoying when people put some pressure on you, like they're in a hurry. I mean why not they do it to themselves. Our lives, our choice, our rules.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly...if they use the same pressure on themselves, it would have been better.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sure, I will send this link to her, I just hope she reads it because I have always told her to register here for months, she is just too busy with her life and business. Lol

I will never allow someone to pressurize me in getting married when I know they would back off when they send me there and won't even bother checking again.

We shouldn't allow anyone pressurize us into doing something with the aim that they care which they do not. Thanks for the mention.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Absolutely, they don't care and it's for their selfish interest. I am glad you wont bulge and I hope your sister would ignore her going forward too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We shouldn't be pressured by anyone,we need to make decisions ourselves and don't let anyone show us the way,if it goes wrong at the end we are to blame ourselves for such act.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, we are to take charge of our lives and assume responsibility.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My, my rules. Only my parents are allowed to justify my routine. Nobody else. I can't tolerate when people do so.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It's absolutely annoying when others do so.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Involving in arrange marriage is not good idea, i remember when my mother told us the story of my half sister who is forced to get married at young age. Its not about money matter but a request from my father best friend to let their kids get married when they reach the right age. The day after their marriage, she runaway and my father need to return every expenses from the guys family, see how hassle it is.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Wow. Wow. Imagine. If only they had left her alone to her choices, they won't have to be facing that stress too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Absolutely right friend and from that day, a lot of our relatives stop doing arrange marriage too.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's better. They shouldn't force people to be together.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Some people just like to exert unnecessary pressure on other people's children while they own are there doing what they like same thing after my university people began to ask me when am I going to get married? And I made them understand that there's no romance without finance unless you are read to be my sponsor then I can listen. We so many people like that.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahahaha exactly. If they can't finance it they should keep their peace. Don't mind them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes we need to decide for ourselves and do it, especially when talking about marriage, marriage is not a game, it's for my future and that it is my right to choose who I marry with, its not love you can never live happy if you are just force to marry a man you never loved.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you so much. Exactly...it's your life so it's your right to determine what to do. I am always angry when people try to impose on others.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's a pity the lady allowed herself to be pressured into marriage. Marriage is not something anyone should be pressured into because it's a lifetime thing

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Absolutely...it's a lifetime commitment and shouldn't be done with sentiments.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wonder what people stand to gain from the u necessary pressure that place on other people. What's baffling is that when you take a look at them and their life, you will find out that they are the ones who need the pressure for themselves but they will never see their problems but only what other people are facing. I wish we would just stop for a second and think before we act sometimes.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

😂😂😂🤣 God bless you o. They are the ones who need pressure yet they will be frustrating other people's lives.

$ 0.00
2 years ago