Note To Self.

10 30
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago
Topics: Life, Writing, Thoughts, Feelings, Nigeria, ...

I know it is therapeutic to speak to oneself once in a while. It is not in a way where people think you are a retard but in a way to carefully gauge where you were coming from, where you are presently and where you are heading. It is an honest assessment of seeing how your life is going and a reminder that you are not where you used to be.

A lot of times, as humans, we beat ourselves up too much. We gauge our lives with how beat others are doing but that is wrong. I am not against having others become a motivating factor for you to be better and do better but never let them be the reason why you think you are failing by measuring with their yardstick. Each man to his race and our journeys are different. Stop beating yourself up when you are not even reading the same book.

If I asked you to list all the wonderful things in life, how long would it take you to mention yourself? You are one of the best gifts to the world and you should love yourself accordingly regardless of your flaws. You are not perfect and no one is. Stop allowing others to rub your imperfection to your face while they hide theirs with a woven cloak. That is not to say you won't take to corrections but let your approach be different from beating yourself up to seeking to do better than you did before. We live and learn as we grow and go through life.

Life will either bless you or bury you. It is not what others say about you that matters but what you say to yourself when they are done talking. This is your life, nobody will teach you how to live it, no book, no guru but you have to learn from yourself - from your mistakes and be sensitive to pick up lessons so you wouldn't have to repeat the mistakes of others but the major work lies with you. You are responsible for how you turn out.

I would like to encourage everyone to put how they feel about themselves in a written form. This is not a prompt or a challenge because I don't even have that presence here yet to pull that off. I would love you all to write a note to yourself. I need you to focus on the positives and not the negatives. You know as humans, what we choose to focus on gets magnified. If you focus long enough on what's not working in your life then you are bound to see disappointments everywhere but if you channel that energy into seeing the positive, even the seemingly bad situations can be turned into good for you, it is all about perspective.

I read about a story just yesterday about one of our actresses that was banned many years ago. She said when she was banned, she felt bad at first but it allowed her to open her eyes to producing her movies since others feel threatened by her and her demands. She went on to produce a blockbuster that year. That is life and it is not a mistake when we were told to make lemonade out of the lemons that life throws at us.

Life will always throw all sorts at us. A speed bump is not to stop you permanently but temporarily and it all depends on how you see it. We have to force a shift in our perspective and our thinking. A horse was tied to a chair and the horse stayed there. The limit was in the head of the horse because the strength of the horse is nothing compared to what a chair can hold - a plastic chair for that matter.

I want us to see ourselves in a different light. Instead of judging and condemning ourselves all the time, let us focus on the goodness that is still in us and let us make the most out of it. You know we can still make a fine-tune out of a broken string depending on the kind of music we are intentional about playing. Let us try to obliterate our mistakes and amplify our strength.

This love note should not only be limited to how you see yourself alone but you can take a peek into the future and show us how you would love to feel about yourself in retrospect. Don't forget, you cannot feature in a future that you cannot picture.

We focus too much on what we are not doing right rather than the things we do right. In as much as we try to push ourselves to be better, we still hold on to those things that are inadequate about us which stiffens the growth of the goodness left in us. We can do better. Don't allow other people's opinion of you to rub off the goodness in you. Most people will say what will suit them for their selfish reasons especially when you are not dancing to their tunes, so don't take things to heart. Don't worry about those who made you lose your sense of worth, so try to see the good in yourself.

I know of a lady whose name means "Who can win God". She said anytime she feels down or defeated what she does is "speak her name to herself".

I would love to see your love note to yourself and I have to cut this post here so as not to make it lengthy. I will be sharing my note to myself in the next post after this, either today or tomorrow. I am trying not to post too much because as I said, I am trying to abide by the rules of this amazing platform. I have come to love read.cash and Bitcoin Cash, I don't want anything that would make me lose that privilege.

This post was inspired by @Princessbusayo when we spoke on noise.cash. She spoke on speaking positive words to ourselves and she nailed it spot on. Thank you, dear.

8
$ 0.52
$ 0.10 from @tired_momma
$ 0.10 from @Princessbusayo
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
+ 5
Sponsors of Olasquare
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago
Topics: Life, Writing, Thoughts, Feelings, Nigeria, ...

Comments

I speak to myself all the time, I never get a wrong answer. A good idea this is though. Awesome food for thought for everyone.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's great. We need to speak positivity to ourselves.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We self-flagellated ourselves because of others' opinions of us. When I was younger, I used to do it myself. Over the years, I've learned to be happy with who I am. And I'm convinced that we can't fully love others if we aren't satisfied with what we are. And we cannot give to others what we aren't capable of giving ourselves.

I love what you've written. And I'll write my love note to myself, and even maybe I will have the courage to share.
This is the first article by you that I read. But I'm sure that I'm going for more.

$ 0.07
2 years ago

This is a brilliant comment and thank you for your kind words too.

Yes, we beat ourselves up too much forgetting we are humans and mistakes are bound to happen. We need to focus on the good we have in us and magnify them.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You write it beautifully. I feel it. I always love how you use words artistically. ❀

Did you know, I always have a conversation with myself and always boosting her, complimenting her and smiling at her in the mirror! :) We should learn how to love ourselves and appreciates ourselves. You gotta tell yourself "Good job" more than anyone else.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you so much, Momma. It delights me when I read your comments and your kind words too.

Yes, you are doing great with that - smiling at yourself in the mirror and speaking words to lift yourself. I will post my note to myself tomorrow and I hope you get to read it.

Thank you so much, Momma.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! I have a written note down for myself that I say everyday- morning and before I sleep. I remind myself of great things I am capable of doing and I believe my inner strength can bring to reality everything in me.

I have drafted a post about this too but I told myself to publish it in the 28th of this month. I am really anxious to post but I will wait till then. πŸ™ˆ

Thank you so much for the mention.

$ 0.06
2 years ago

Hahaha what's happening on the 28th? Your birthday? I am definitely going to write a poem for you that day then.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No, my birthday is in January πŸ˜€πŸ˜€ I am just trying to make it for that day since I am working on something though. Don't worry, you will get to see why I made it so then. You will still write my birthday poem if there is still read.cash which I believe it will still existπŸ€—

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha read cash and noise cash are not going anywhere. They will be here for the long haul.

Yes, I will wait till 28th then.

$ 0.00
2 years ago