No One Is Irreplaceable.

2 15
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago
Topics: Life, Writing, Thoughts, Reality, Nigeria, ...

There was this quote I came across a few years back and I have always loved it. It's a timely reminder for me to keep myself humble and stop thinking less of others in any capacity. The quote says "Don't feel proud because you have bread to eat, remember, someone owns the bakery." It is the truth because where you think your success peaked, that's the starting point for another. No one is indispensable. The truth is, we might feel their presence for a while and then be stressed on how to move on but the truth is, humans always adapt and we will adapt.

For the first time, we got a nanny for our child to make it easier for us in the house while we both work. I have always loved being around my daughter and of course, with her energy and attention, it somehow prevents me from doing much but I have never complained. So, we agreed on getting someone and after frantic searches. We found one and she was so good with our daughter. They were like bestie and I was so grateful that we found someone at last.

She hadn't even used up to a month when she first said she wanted to go back. According to her, she wanted to go and help her parents on the farm. I spoke with her and she had a change of heart. Then just a week ago, she said she wanted to leave again and this time around I didn't bother convincing her.

I was a bit disappointed to see the things she stole even though I never suspected her of anything. Of course, she was forgiven and she left. My concern was on how any new person would cope especially with our baby being so used to her already. I felt for our little girl because she sometimes takes a while before she warms up to anyone and it seems unfair to get used to someone for a whole month and 5 days only for her to see another person. I know she is at the age where she won't feel it that much because she is just a year and a month but I still somehow feel for the new person who would have to maybe double her effort to get her to warm up to her - we know how children can be sometimes.

The new person came in and she handled things with more maturity and I was impressed. She was a bit 'forceful' and I love it. I mean, when she wanted to carry the baby and she throws her shoulder in disapproval, she would go on to carry her still and chant her name till she feels comfortable in her arms. Now, within just a week, our baby is used to this new nanny and I am excited for both of them. It required a serious effort, dedication and resilient attitude from both of them.

Our baby hardly eat. When we make her 'food' for her, she struggles with it and it takes someone even more patient to feed her. The last lady did it so well and this new lady is doing a great job too. I feel comfortable letting them stay together because she is calm and understanding. She just knows what to do even in the house.

That is life. Humans move on quickly. We get affected by something and after a while, we find a way around it. The same thing when we lose someone sometimes, it gets hard at first and over time reality sets in and we try to move on with our lives. Indeed, no human is Irreplaceable and we need to stop fighting what we can't control. Nothing lasts forever no matter how it feels today.

Some people feel you cannot do without them. Some people break your heart with disguise and they feel no one else can ever love you the way they did, but the truth is, it might hurt so much but we move on regardless. Have you ever loved someone so much that you feel like nothing else make sense after they left? We owe it to ourselves to move on because we are not designed to keep our lives on hold after they have moved on, we should do the same too.

Life is a funny one. No one is indispensable and this always rings in my head to give me a clear head never to take anything to heart. Don't take life too serious they say because you will never get out of it alive. We find friends and we sometimes lose them. We find love and sometimes they move on. Government comes and goes as we also move from the hand of one dictator to another and still, here we are, living, trying to move on and then doing the best for ourselves.

5
$ 2.38
$ 2.20 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
$ 0.05 from @Princessbusayo
+ 1
Sponsors of Olasquare
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago
Topics: Life, Writing, Thoughts, Reality, Nigeria, ...

Comments

You are right. No one is irreplaceable. We may feel the impact of someone in our lives after they have left but we can't because of that move on, the truth is we will surely find someone better in that area more and then we tend to forget the other person. Many times, I miss my mom but I just have to adjust to the people around me who tried their best to do what my mom couldn't do but they just can't replace her.

I hope the new nanny would get used to your baby girl and I know little children sometimes can be funny at times. With more time and attention to her, she will grow to be fond of the new nanny.

I love nanny jobs especially taking care of little ones.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

So true, my dear. With more effort and attention she will get used to her.

I love what you said about giving attention to those who are close by. Most of the times we focus on what's gone rather than appreciate those who are making efforts to show us care. That's spot on, dear.

Thanks a lot.

$ 0.00
2 years ago