Be Unique But Don't Stop Learning.

31 78
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago

Image Source.

We all have the individuality that makes us unique. In a good way most of the time and yes, in not so good a way sometimes for most. Most people with toxic traits and character would still tell you they want to be accepted the way they are. In as much as I respect their right to be different, we can't forget the importance of learning in life. We must desire to be better and do better.

I shared a post yesterday regarding integrity and I enjoyed every comment from those who engaged the post. You can read about it here.

From the comments, it shows we are all different and unique. We might have similar traits and think alike but still, there would always be those who would desire to do things differently. They might be wrong but you can't ignore their rights to do things the way they feel. With an open heart, they would pick up the lessons and then try to improve.

We like to protect our space while gaining control. We want to do things our way without being told what to do and that's humans for you with our uniqueness. There is no need to try too much to change another person. You can only point them in the right direction and watch them go all the way. The lessons learnt and their determination would enable them to know if they can go all the way.

Most people try to fit into a box and it's like struggling to fix a round peg in a square hole. It's a battle that would never end and it would not only leave you defeated but exhausted. The best route to failure is when you leave your uniqueness to try and be like someone else because you feel they have it better or they are lucky.

I like balance because a lot of people try to hide under being 'unique' without leaving room for growth. In our uniqueness, we should keep growing by adding values to ourselves. Imagine a football player knowing how good he is with his feet and speed, he needs to first accept the things he is blessed with before he can improve on the things he isn't good at. It is not about 'copying' another person but about improving. They are different and a lot of people confuse them. Just as low self-esteem is different from pride. Pride is thinking of yourself more than you ought to and low self-esteem is thinking of yourself less than you ought to.

I am sure many people must have read from my posts how I am a laid back person; more of an indoor person. It would be unfair for me to expect everyone to be like me just as I wouldn't expect others to make me be like them. Acceptance goes both ways I would say. We have to accept others the way they are while pointing to them where we feel they can improve which still has to be left to them to accept or not, and also we have to accept that not everyone can be like us.

Image Source.

Most of the issues we have in the world today apart from the comparison is that we want people to do things the way we would have done them but the truth is they can't. Apart from certain conditions being responsible for reasons why some do things differently by the virtue of the pressure they face, they can't do things the way we would have.

I shared yesterday how I returned the money my former company mistakenly paid into my account. Yes, I mentioned that I value integrity above all and I understand if anyone would have kept the money without alerting the company. I imagine it would have been different for others especially someone who has a wife in the hospital and he is cash strapped. He has been running around and no one to come to his aid. Imagine that alert coming for him, he would brood over it and decide to go all-in at least to save his wife. A decision like this can be tricky I would say.

What works for me won't always work for others especially when we have different circumstances to deal with. Some like going out and their outward disposition had connected them to some high profile individuals and if I want to be like them then I would end up hurting myself in the end. I might improve on myself while trying to balance my indoor personality with the outwards and that's why we need balance in life even with our uniqueness.

While growing up I have seen so many people try to be like others and it ended up costing them a lot. While I was young, I saw how some children get home late and I would stay at the balcony and watch how they stroll back to the house without any sense of urgency. The day my brothers and I tried it, even with our late sister then, we blamed ourselves.

We went out to greet another friend down the street and they have this giant fruit that we call 'fruit'. We stayed all evening throwing stones at it and we got a lot that we are it there. We lost track of time and we got home I think around 7:30 pm. Dad was already home by then and there were no mobile phones back then so I can imagine how visibly worried he must have been because we were not home which was strange. We received a serious beating that day. A non-African person might call it "Assault" hahahaha but if you are African, we call it "Hard Reset". You can't remain the same again after it. 🤣🤣😂.

Be the best version of yourself but stop striving to be like others. Has it ever happened to anyone that the moment you decide to do what you are not used to, that's the moment you will be found but those who always indulge in it are still yet to be found out? 😂🤣. Just stick to being you and try to do better.

Thank you for your time.

20
$ 9.99
$ 8.71 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @JonicaBradley
$ 0.15 from @Bloghound
+ 12
Sponsors of Olasquare
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago

Comments

Haha that throwing stones at the tree was hilarious and reminded me of my childhood.. beautiful memories

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahaha we've all been there.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

"hard reset" 🤣🤣🤣 I can't remember the number of times my parents pressed that button while I was growing up

We are all unique and we see things diffe, that's the reason why I don't judge people on their choices. The way I see things, isn't the same way they do

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahaha we have all received that hard reset mehn. Hahaha.

Absolutely, we see things differently and should respect everyone's choices.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is still happening nowadays that people like to be a version of others but costing them too much.. . Why not accept your flaws and improve yourself in a better way without looking at others. Just be the best version of yourself

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly. We need to be the best version of ourselves. It comes by first accepting our flaws and then seek to improve on it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In our quest to be accepted by many, we tend to mixed the personalities of different people and copy them all at once. But we fail, because first it is not our first nature and second copying other people is tiring. But anyway, thank you for reminding everyone to just strive to be better version of ourselves.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Absolutely... We all need to do better as humans. Thanks a lot.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well as a human we can only pretend to be someone else which we all know that we can never be someone else

Ola assuming it was your dad that gave birth to me ni he must have kill me because back then when I was young i was nothing but a goat who doesn't care what might happen at the end but then my mum always give me some washing and setting belt but my love I never changed until I started growing up

Lol 🤣 some kids can be to adamant I swear

$ 0.02
2 years ago

😂🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 thank God you admitted to being stubborn but still, you are sweet and I love that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahahaha 🤣🤣 not anymore baby your love melted my stone heart

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😂😂😂🤣🤣🤣 I am proud. Good one.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehehehe 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Always good to be the real you and welcome change or improvement too.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Absolutely, my friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

From my early years, I have learned not to be like any other person. I have been warned that I am a unique being as such, I should not venture try looking like anyone. I have been living my life like that.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's the best way to live, my brother. We should stick to it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

"I like balance because a lot of people try to hide under being 'unique' without leaving room for growth." So much this!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yaaaaaay! Thank you, mama. I am so happy to have you here.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Every teenager ever, "I want to be unique just like all my friends." The desire to be unique and fit in at the same time is a stage of life. The best of us find our uniqueness through growth.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You always carve out beautiful words; "The best of us find our unique through growth". Growth can be painful sometimes. Absolutely, mama.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Right from my childhood days, I have never at one time try to be like another person, I have always uniquely lived my life. Although this usually caused a lot of differences between me and others because I seem to them as introverted and withdrawn. Nevertheless, I never allowed that to bother me because I have a strong conviction that I was on the right path. Even today, being a man and a pastor, I still maintain my uniqueness among my colleagues and this has helped me achieved much more than I would if I was doing what everyone else is doing.

Conformity is an enemy of creativity and productivity.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

This is so true sir. When we try to conform to the standard of the world we lose our creativity and productivity. When we round all our edges we will surely lose our form or shape.

Thanks for this lovely contribution.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've always wanted to fit in. To be recognized. To be included. And that is why I always copy what others did to fit in. I always copy how they act, how they approach people, how they deal with others. I thought doing such will help me, but it turned out to be the other way around. I lose myself trying to fit in, then I realized I could have been who I am and that is how they will accept me.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

We've all made that mistake at some point thinking we would be accepted when we act like others. True acceptance is when we are ourselves. Thanks for sharing this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are welcome Ola. Your article is such an eye opener. 💗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am happy to hear this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for sharing us this wonderful article.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🤗🤗🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The truth is we all are unique in our own different ways but to improve more on ourselves takes determination and learning too. We shouldn't live our lives trying to be another person. Yes, we can emulate them in a good way but we should try to make a different from it instead of going in their own way which won't favor us.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Beautifully said, my dear. Absolutely.

$ 0.00
2 years ago