Darkness Brightens Up My Life

Avatar for Nyctofiles
2 years ago

Writing Prompt #4-Darkness

I've changed the community so I unpublished it and published again. Sorry for annoying notification.

"Darkness brightens up my life. The dark is not always dark.

-Nyctofiles the Great

Another contradicting and confusing title and line right? Just like my recent propmt article Our Differences Our Are Similarities. To challenge myself, that's what I'm going to do with the prompt challenge. Besides, I love playing with words.

I've read numerous articles about this fourth prompt. Given that the topic is Darkness, it's obvious that most themes of those articles are dark. So I decided to make a light one.


How do you define darkness not just being the absence of light? What's darkness for you? What do you feel when you're in the dark?

Darkness is always affiliated to evil, negativity, death, fear and more negative connotations and similes.

But for a Nyctophile–a person who loves darkness and night, just like me, darkness is not just an ordinary absence or lack of light.

I still remember what my favorite hero in Mobile Legends says even I haven't played for a long time.

"The darkness can also be a friend. " -Alice

Darkness brightens up my life. It's not always dark. I always affiliate it with different positive things.


Darkness can be a comfort

Many are uncomfortable in the dark because of fear, past experiences and such. But for me, there's comfort in darkness.

There are times during the day, sunlight seems irritating and uncomfortable. Aside from scorching heat, I hate something that's too bright. If you see me outside in a sunny day, I'm sure that ny eyes are squinting because of little sensitivity to brightness. Besides, I always feel dizzy to during the day because too much light overstimulates me.

I'm not from a bloodline of vampires. I think I'm like this because I used to darkness.

I can't really explain why and how I find darkness to be comforting. It seems magical, LOL. Maybe, because we are together with darkness from the moment we were born until we die. Darkness is our companion, from our shadows,the moment we close our eyes, and when the sun decides to sleep.

Another, there's anonymity in the dark that can be comforting for some people too,just like me.

There are friends whom you're comfortable with and those who dont. Darkness is a friend too that I'm comfortable with that others don't.


Darkness can be a peace

Comfort and peace always compliment each other. We're comfortable in peace and we're peaceful in comfort.

I think, light is not always peace. I noticed that wars are always bright with lights coming from tremendous explosions, firing of firearms, and fires blazing.

With that, I think that darkness can be a peace too. Did you notice,even it's dark when our eyes are closed in times we're praying or trying to sleep, it seems peaceful.

I really love and enjoy when everyone is asleep in the middle of the night, there's tranquility. There's no irritating noises and overstimulating bright light. In my opinion, darkness including the night is peaceful.


Darkness can be productivity

You might already noticed and even knew it especially when you've read my introductory article, my name Nyctofiles is my own variation of the word 'nyctophile'. And personally means 'files' or written works I wrote in the night or dark.

I'm a night owl. That's why I'm more productive at night and in the dark, not total darkness though, I have a dim light so I can see what I'm doing.

I'm more creative and energetic in the dark and night. I do something productive at night such as finishing my school works and writing articles. Unlike during the day, I'm lazing around by watching anime or reading, still doing my chores though.

In darkness and night, there's comfort and peace thus I'm more productive.


Darkness can a reflection

It happens a lot when I can't sleep in the midst of the night surrounded by darkness, I just think and reflect.

I noticed that my ideas such as new topics to write are always generated in the night and dark. I'm not just more creative in the dark with new ideas. My mind during this time is more active and busy so I always think a lot and reflect.

When my mind work better, reflection during this moment is better too. I always think about things I've done, my future and even my past. I'm trying to be better version of myself everytime so I love reflecting. But sometimes it leads to overthinking that always relieved by writing just like my poems written in the dark.

From what I learned in Science class, reflection happens when light bounced back from a surface. Even without light, in the darkness, we can do a different reflection.


In literature and writing, darkness is frequently linked to negative meanings like death, evil, and hopelessness and more.

Darkness, the absence or lack of light, is not the same for everyone's personal dictionary.

Darkness for me is a comfort zone. It's peaceful. A period of productivity. A moment of self reflection. That's why I love and appreciate it a lot. Darkness brightens up my life.

For many, it can be traumatic and fearful. We are prone to danger in dark. We can't see things we're afraid of in darkness. I can't blame people who hates it because we have different experiences and environment. There's nothing wrong with it.

How about you? What's darkness your you? Can you relate to me?


This is my second article about the fourth prompt of @JonicaBradley . Hoping to write about the first two prompts too.

You can join the prompt challenge too and enjoy!

© Photos from Unsplash

Sponsors of Nyctofiles
empty
empty
empty

3
$ 3.84
$ 3.74 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @wrabbiter
$ 0.05 from @Eunoia
Avatar for Nyctofiles
2 years ago
Enjoyed this article?  Earn Bitcoin Cash by sharing it! Explain
...and you will also help the author collect more tips.

Comments

Hi po ulit, I just want to ask po kung paano mag transfer ng bitcoin cash from bitcoin. com wallet to coins.ph? Thank you in advance po. 🖤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Di po ako nagamit sa ngayon ng bitcoin.com wallet pero baka naman po pwede magsend kalang ng fund sa bitcoin cash wallet mo sa coins. Ph.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ano po ba yung ginagamit nyo pala?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Coins. Ph wallet lang po

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Last na po hehe. Verified po ba dapat yung account sa coins.ph?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kailangan po verified para makapagcash out po.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ah sige po salamat po ulit! Pasensya po sa abala hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ah okay po. Thank you po ulit! 🖤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ah thank you po sa info, bago palang kasi ako dito eh di ko pa alam yung iba lalo na dyan sa pagtatransfer or pagsesend hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am selenophile, but I do love darkness and night too. And you are right, darkness is not always dark, because you can really find peace in it. Actually, I considered darkness as my friend. Anyway, I'm a fan of your writing tho. 🖤

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I love the moon too and the stars. Yes, darkness can be our friend.

Thank you!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Welcome! Waiting for more writings from you and I hope those will help and guide me here coz I'm a newbie. 🖤

$ 0.00
2 years ago