Countless Questions, One Father

Avatar for Nyctofiles
2 years ago

Writing Prompt # 5-Questions

Disclaimer :

This is a work of a fiction with a slice of my reality. All events are product of author's imagination and inspiration from experiences.


My mind is filled with countless questions and memories , right now. Since I was little, I always ask questions to my parents especially to my father. Definitely, I'm a Papa's boy. These questions and the answers had a big impact to my life.

Some questions are the stepping stones and foundation of my learning. Those simple questions with answers that I can use later in life.

"What color is it? " I asked while pointing on my shirt. I learned that it was green, my favorite color.

"How to draw a rocket? " the question came out of my mouth while there were pencil and paper in both of my hands. Then,he draw one so I can copy. This thing my favorite thing to draw because of my dream of being astronaut.

"What's next after number ten? " I asked my father so I can continue counting higher than ten.

Some questions are out of curiosity. Those questions with answers that will satisfy my curiosity, at the same time, feeding me knowledge.

"What are they doing and why? " my question when I was a young boy,my father took me to the city to see a marching band. I learned that it was a fiesta and it was my first time seeing a parade so I was really curious.

"Where does the sun go when it sets? " I asked because I wondered about the sky and celestial bodies.

"How I was made and born? " it's a question that made him burst into laughter and answered nothing. I learned the answer in school.

Some questions not just gave answers but also a time for bonding. Those questions with answers that made my relationship with my father stronger.

"How to make a kite? " I asked because my friends have their own and I want to play too. Then, we made a kite together while I'm the assistant. He also taught me how to make it fly.

"Can you make me a wind vane and anemometer for a school project ? " I requested because it needs little carpentry skills and I might hurt myself if I did it alone. As usual, I'm the assistant in making of this project.

Some questions are made because of concern. Those questions indicates love, care and concern.

"Are you okay, Pa? " I asked my father when I noticed that he didn't wake up in the same time he used to. His head ached so I bought Paracetamol and massaged his head.

"Why are you keep on drinking? "my question after he told me to buy another bottle of his favorite gin after finishing one. He thought I'm disrespecting him so he hit me with his leather belt. I was just concerned because drinking has been his vice for years and it can harm his health.

Some questions are made too seek entertainment or entertain. Those questions can bring fun, laughter and entertainment.

"Can you tell us about your horror experiences ?" I asked after the feature show with Halloween special ended. I and my friends, whom I was together with watching, are carefully listening to my father's stories. He told us about his experiences with aswang in his home province and other ghost encounters. He also share some urban legends in his province like Maria Labo.

"Are you an ice cream? " I asked so I can deliver my punchline and roast him. This was the time we're pick up lines were common. He asked why and I told him that he's a 'rocky road'. It's our inside joke about the deep acne scars he has. He has his own pick up lines for revenge too.

Some questions are vital and have a big impact on oneself . Those questions have answers that can affect someone's decision or future.

"Where am I going for college and what course? I'm not sure what to take," I asked him. He told me that he's not the one to decide. My father advised me to follow what my heart desires and my dream. I was inspired by his answers so I decided to study Astronomy.

Some questions are essential and can have big impact to others. Those questions have answers that can affect and impact other people?"

"How to court someone? " even I'm shy to talk about it, I asked my father. He gave me answers and advices that we're really helpful and seems effective.

"How can I fix my relationship with my fiance? "I asked my father because I was seeking for advise. I didn't want my relationship turned into ashes. His answered help me and now I'm married.

"What I need to do to become a good father? " my question I asked when the moment I knew my wife was pregnant. Now I think, I became one not just by his answers but also actions since I was young that I've observed.

Some questions are not able to be answered. Those questions can't be answered yet we still asks.

"Pa, why did you left us too soon? "I asked my lifeless body of my father I'm huggging in the hospital bed. I asked even I know that he won't answer. My tears are flowing, my chest is heavy and my mind was full of memories and questions.


Another week, another prompt from Miss @JonicaBradley. What a perfect prompt, it's broad that I can write more than one article, I think. Thank you for this.

If you want to try writing about the prompt and enter the prompt challenge,just write and visit her articles for more details.


Another flash fiction again that came up in my mind because of the amazing prompt. It's also inspired by the recent Father's Day. It was very personal because ut contains some of my personal experiences.


Here's my other articles from prompt challenge:

Other flash fiction:

Sponsors of Nyctofiles
empty
empty
empty

12
$ 11.04
$ 10.65 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @kli4d
$ 0.05 from @emily2u
+ 7
Avatar for Nyctofiles
2 years ago
Enjoyed this article?  Earn Bitcoin Cash by sharing it! Explain
...and you will also help the author collect more tips.

Comments

That was a nice prompt that makes me feel sad of the end and I realize some thoughts too, the what if I am at the same situation of the boy, I think I can't ask someone important to me like that. 🤧 it's hurts and it's painful to think.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you.

I'll be the same as you. I can't ask questions like that because I'm a distant person. Besides, I won't really be able to ask my father like that due to the reason that our family is already broken. I'm finding answers on my questions alone especially about the ones that need a father figure type of questions.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Fiction or real, this is sad. A perfect Father's Day piece.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you for appreciation!

$ 0.00
2 years ago