My year during the pandemic

0 13
Avatar for Nerohara
2 years ago

My experience with COVID isn't particularly great. Even though I wasn't infected by it, three of my loved ones passed away during the pandemic. They weren't infected, but died for natural reasons. You could say that it is terrible.

My Grandpa and Grandma were old, while my mother passed away after giving birth. The thing is that the child he gave birth to wasn't from my real father, but from another man. I was fine with it and even planned to move to my dad's place so that they could have privacy and since they have a child, I don't really think that I should be there still.

But it was all for naught. I expected to see her smile when she got home, even if it wasn't for me. I only wanted my mom to be happy. After I found out that she was dead, I felt numb, like it was merely an illusion due to me staying overnight waiting for them. In the dream, I saw her smile whenever she looked at the child.

I'm not even sure if it was a dream, or an alternate universe where she was alive and well. Maybe I'm crazy, but I want to think of it that way. Although my mom and dad are separated, both of them are too kind for their own good. My mom lends money to those people who she thinks are trustworthy, but there was no condolence or anything at all when she passed away. My dad is the same. He always helps others only to be taken advantage of and then leaves when there's nothing to get from him anymore.

I was really hoping that the next semester or school year would be face-to-face, but someone blew it up and my province was put on Alert 3. Online classes were good, but there were circumstances that made it viable, especially for those students who have to work just to live. It is also hard to learn, including the fact that some professors or teachers don't even use the Google Classroom they created and still use Messenger to send files and activities. It is frustrating to see it getting wasted when it is clearly easier to send files and activities there. The fact that I have to scroll up just to find the files irritates me.

Honestly, I'm not really looking forward to the current situation here in the Philippines. As a matter of fact, if they don't react to the current situation, then there will be a COVID Part 2.

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for Nerohara
2 years ago

Comments