Just Another Student Story

0 28
Avatar for My_cloud
3 years ago

CHAPTER NINE

IN THE MIDDLE OF THE STORM PART TWO

What i feared most finally came, at the moment my family was in a very difficult position,Our currency Naira was dropping rapidly which made things extremely hard for us here. The situation became so bad that i had to bit my daily eating to once a day. I still could not afford to buy cooking materials so i had to resort to buying cooked food, there was a store that sells rice and spaghetti with stew just outside where i lived then towards evening they sell a locally made meat pie, i dont really know what to call it tho but it was not exactly meat pie or fish pie but it was shaped like it and had alot of onion with little fish on it, yea i know i dont like onion but i had no room for choice.

The situation got so worse that even the money sent was never enough once i convert it to their currency,and i was finally back in town so i had to spend more money in going to the border. My landlady was abit friendly, and we became really close when i started attending her church. Tho it was really far but their pastor was a Nigerian, and the English group in the church was really friendly and welcoming towards me which made me feel more at home. But based on the distance i didnt put much effort in joinning their choir or any other major group, so they where not aware i could play drum. There where times my landlady would cook food and call me to join them. On a normal day i would not have agreed but hey, now is not the time for Modesty i was dieing of hunger.

Things in school was not helping matters as well, there where day i would go and no one would show up, and there where some days i decided not to go at all. Boredom was another major issue i had to deal with, i was alone. I had no money to buy data so during the evening when the sun had gone down, i would walk for miles looking for free Wi-Fi . I finally found one tho it was abit far from home but i had no choice, the Connection was weak but it was better than notting. Every evening, i would treak for miles to get there and in the end,i still wount be able to complete my download. I would have to come back each day to continue from where i stopped. MTN the network provider i used was also giving free browsing as from 7:00AM to 7:30AM so i had that 30 minutes to get some things done tho as usual it was usually slow. It took days to download a single file. What kept me company was my novels, i had alot on my phone and i kept downloading any chance i got. As days went by, i had to stay without eating for a day so i could manage the little i had.

I had Nintendo 62 emulator on my phone which allowed me to paly Nintendo 62 games. Finally i was able to download one game after almost a week, the namw was legend of Zelda ocarina of time, at first i thought it was boring it was actually the first time i have seen or heard about it. When i finally started, the game was great it kept me occupied for days. There where some days i even did alnite playing this game. I was captivated by the world of legend of Zelda, the plot was great, the twist in time and time travel everything was wonderful. I decided to do some research on it, and i was surprised to see how popular it was and it has even broken alot of records which made me wonder why i just discovered about it? The game had various part which Nintendo decided to spilt on the various Nintendo consoles. Lucky me there was another part on Nintendo 62, legend of Zelda Majora's mask. This part was epic i mean you where given just three days to stop the moon from crashing down on earth and you have to travel to various regions just to find and save the spirits who can stop it, how in Gods name would three days be enough to do all that? Well thats where time travel comes in. The game was indeed epic from then on i became a fan of the zelda series.

depict the distraction, it still did not help change the fact that things where not going as i would like them to. It was a new month and mom finally sent me something, tho it was really small but i understood the condition of things at home and for that i was really grateful. I decided to take a trip to the border, so i could get some cash and maybe buy one or two things from the border. I had this urge not to carry my phone along, but i quickly push it aside. I mean have beem carry it for some time now, why cant i carry it today? The journey to the border is long, i need my phone to keep myself busy. But i still had the growing urge not to bring my phone alone. It was rainning season so getting to the border, the whole place was filled with water. I had a back road where i usually pass. There where bikes one could pay to cross the border, but the issue back then was their fee. They would charge 1000 or 8000 naira just to cross you in the name of they are going to settle officials on the way. So i normally walk, i cant afford to pay that much when what i have is not even enough.

due to the rain, the road was filled with water. I had to pull my trousers up in other to cross i even decided to snap the area with my phone so that i could show my friend online. Oh did i mention i could come online on Face book anytime i wanted? I had an app that gave me access to free facebook tho the downside was that i could not view pictures but i could chat with it. Even if i could not use my whatsapp, at least i could access most of my friends on facebook. I finally crossed the water tho i was not out of the border yet but i got to the busy side of it. I saw an old begger who started walking extremely close to me, he started saying things i didnt understand,The he touched me. I quickly drew back but i guess i was not fast enough. The old begger left, i started my journey but i kept thinking about the old begger and was wondering what he wanted or what he was trying to say. That was when it hit me, oh no i touched all my pockets it was no where to be found, i retract my steps i could not find it. It was gone, i knew very well where i kept it, i mean i just used it before i met the old begger. Oh crap that was what he was after, how did he know where to check? How was he that fast? My phone was gone......

To Be Continued....

1
$ 0.00
Sponsors of My_cloud
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for My_cloud
3 years ago

Comments