Sleep and all my Myths

15 36
Avatar for Murakamii.7
1 year ago

October 28|Friday

It's a rainy Friday on my side of the Earth and people on my Facebook feed keep on posting about their food cravings. Instead of hot meals, some are craving fruit and macaroni salad and mango float.

The weather calls for something hot. It makes us stay a while in our bed. I have been enjoying the comfort of my bed today which reminded me of the set of questions I first saw in @ARTicLEE's post. Kindly click on his post if you like.

What do you do for good sleep?

I would turn off the lights and then make sure there's enough space for me to roll over. When I had a long day at work, I don't have a hard time sleeping. Further, I would stay away from noise when I want good sleep. When my roommates would get too noisy, I would make signals to shut them up. Wow, that sounds rude.

Do you recognize the link between sleep and food?

When I'm full, I feel sleepy. I instantly want to lie down and not move. Maybe food makes us lazy. It's like I'm a pig. My mom would scold me whenever I lie down after eating. She says I'm like a pig. She advised that I should wash the dishes first. That way, I would prevent myself from sitting or lying down minutes after taking a meal.

"Stress kills sleep" what is your opinion?

I think it depends on the person. Some people can't sleep because of too much stress and overthinking. My father and boss are some examples. They can't sleep because they're too stressed.

However, for me sleep kills stress. Whenever I feel burned out, my relief would be a good amount of sleep or a power nap.

What can you give up for good sleep?

I would give up everything that would make me stay up late. I would give up studying or watching movies for good sleep. Back in the day, I wouldn't study at night when I feel sleepy. I would not sacrifice my sleep to study. I would just study in the morning or at any vacant time during the day.

Do you think going to bed early guarantees dreamy sleep?

Maybe. When we sleep early we have much time to dream however, chances are, we won't be able to remember what we dreamt about. I have read somewhere that we dream every night, we just can't remember it when we wake up in the morning.

Sleep is one of the most undervalued human activities. We need a lot of it but we fail to realize it until we are adults or until we are sick. Back in the day, we used to sneak from our house to avoid afternoon naps. Now, we tend to squeeze naps in between work. Oh, how ironic life is.

May we all find the value of sleep and put our theories into practice. We all know we need more time to sleep yet we remain slaves to our workloads. May we find the courage to choose what's best for us mentally and physically.

That would be all. Stay safe and dry.

Until then.

*lead image is from unsplash.com

8
$ 0.74
$ 0.54 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.15 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.03 from @Jane
+ 2
Sponsors of Murakamii.7
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Murakamii.7
1 year ago

Comments

True, getting enough sleep recharged us and can kill stress

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes yes.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ako run lydes nag crave jud kug bisayang manok nga sabwon nakoo arang ka swakk kaayos cold weather. Sa sleep2 sad, mao nay polema nako. Kay insomniahon ko, honeslty ug makainom rakug daghan makafeel ko nga daghan kug tug. Hahah

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hahaha kamahal bas tambal sa imo insomniašŸ¤£

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Likewise, I sleep to kill stress and if I am really sleepy I would really give up everything for it because if I wouldn't I can't still focus. So much better to sleep it off. However, back then I noticed that I can't sleep early or I will not get drowsy easily even if it's getting late but now that I've many things to do, I would get easily sleepy, hays.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes. Tiring yourself is the key.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha when you first said noise I was thinking of the platform.

It indeed is ironic how we didn't want to sleep when we were younger. I wish there was now a way to borrow those times we skipped. šŸ¤£

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hahahaha. We can only wish.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I like to sleep with the light on and I also believe that sleep is a good medicinefor stress

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ah huh.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mayo kapa mamsh dali lang makatulog. Ag ako tawon buntag na laman wala pa gihapon tulog. Mag lisod ko ug tulog.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Na take vitamins maam

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Naa nakoy gitumar mamsh.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ako dn hndi makatulog kpg may light. Pero kht hndi maluwang higaan ko, carry lang. Basta enough body ko dun haha

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes naman. Huwag yung magtiis mamaluktot. Nakakangalay sa paa

$ 0.00
1 year ago