one gloomy sunday

29 24
Avatar for Murakamii.7
2 years ago
Topics: Realizations

Death could be the most -hated word in the vocabulary and death of a love one is sure to be the most painful episode a human-being could have. Death is never new to any of us. I'm sure we somehow have seen death happening to our relative, our close family member or a friend.

Death could be abrupt or gradual. A lot of people I know would prefer to die because of sickness because they say they will have ample time to reconsider their plans, reconcile with people and most of all ask forgiveness from God. I have also friends who would prefer to die because of an accident so that the pain will just be felt at once. You won't be hurting for a long time just like when you are sick. I can still remember, Roxie, my roommate from college who wants car accident as her cause of death because she thinks it is appealing and she would sound rich by that.

But no matter abrupt and gradual death is, it would really be painful for the family and friends that will be left behind. Years ago, my friend's mom was diagnose with cancer. She was taken to the hospital and underwent different medications but her body was too weak that she prefered to just go home and spend time with family and cherish being at her house. She was so weak that every night and day she would cry because of pain. There has been numerous episodes when she tells everyone to let her go because she can't take it anymore. Everyone knows that she will give up sooner. But her daughter went on denying the fact that even after years had passed when her mom died, she was still questioning the Lord, 'Why did He let her mom die?' I can't blame her. She is entitled of her own feelings.

Two weeks ago, my 87 years old grandmother passed away. She isn't my biological grandmother. She is the wife of my grandmother's brother. But, even so, we were still close especially when she was younger because we go to the same church. Her biological grandchildren lives far away that she only has us to turn to. This grandmother is generous. Her kids were doctor and engineers and her grandchildren are also the same. From time to time, she would travel to different countries and she would never fail to have something for us. She loves to have beach trips too when she was still able.

Until, time comes that she can't go to church anymore and can't recognize our names. When she sees me she would often asks if I'm done with my studies. Until, her body became weak and she would spend all of her time in bed. Everyone knows that she will be leaving soon. In fact, her children started to prepare everything for her at the cemetery. That might be rude and unappealing to some but her eldest child was being practical since she lived in Manila and it would mean a lot of hassle if they don't plan ahead.

I thought death would get a different reaction from Christians. According to Philippians 1:21, For to me, to live is Christ and to die is gain. I thought they would never cry because they knew well enough that we were not meant to be here. We are just travellers and our destination is far greater than we can imagine. So death is a celebration because only then, we can be united with our Creator. But on grandma's last viewing, her eldest cried. My mother told me the tears wasn't because she can't accept her mom's passing but due to the sorrow and the hole that grandma left. She may have accepted her mom's death but she can't stop her tears from falling knowing she can't see her anymore.

Tha pain of seeing a love one die is a mix of feelings for me. As a kid, I have dreams of scenarios when and how my father or any family member dies. I pray before I sleep but I still have those morbid dreams. So, I grow up anxious and scared and I would play scenarios in my head on what possible things could happen if I lost a loved one. Of course, I wouldn't be able to bear that. But over the course of time, God has His mysterious ways of teaching us to change the way we pray.

And that I believe comforted me from all of my fears and worries.


Thank you so much everyone! To my sponsors, upvoters, to the people who spent time to read and comment, you made my soul happy! Thank you heaps!

September 19, 2021

7:39 p.m. | sunday

Murakamii.7

13
$ 6.38
$ 5.92 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
+ 9
Sponsors of Murakamii.7
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Murakamii.7
2 years ago
Topics: Realizations

Comments

Ako I don't find it rude na nakaayos na lahat. Kasi kung ako din ganun gagawin ko for myself. Gusto ko ready na para di na intindihin ng mapagiiwanan ko when that day comes. I have witnessed some of our relatives na hindi prepared. Walang memorial lot, walang coffin and all. Yung hindi pa nagsisink in sa kanila na namatayan sila pero kailangan nila magpakastrong kasi walang ibang mag-aayos para maghanap kung saan ililibing, anong kabaong ang pipiliin tapos anong susuotin. Meron pang instance na natagalan pa sa morgue kasi nga natagalan din sila maghanap ng pera para pang kabaong then saan ibuburol. Then syempre naexperience ko din yung ready na lahat. Very smooth lang yung process. Kasi alam na kung saan ililibing, saan ang wake lalo kung hindi sa bahay, ano susuotin and all. Ang inayos na lang nila yung bibilhin na food for the people who would visit. Pero nasa sa tao din kasi yun ano preference nila. Kalimitan sa iba ayaw nila pinaghahandaan kasi parang feeling nila any moment mamamatay na sila.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Death is an inevitable event in everybody's life. We will all experience that thing. However, no matter how much we prepare for it, we can't still stop ourselves from the pain. I am so sorry for your loss. You are right, we are just travellers and we will all return to our own home someday.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You got it right, sis. Thank you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I could feel your pain through this post.. so sorry you guys, your grandma seems like a lovely lady.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

She was, Dolly. Thank you so much

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Death is inevitable, if it's our time we can't do anything about it. Let's just Cherish every moment we have with our loveones so everything will left are good things. I'm sorry for your loss.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

True snail. Thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There is comfort in the words of God but still, the loss of someone takes time to accept. Grieving is a process that we all undergo.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, Lee. I think the pain won't just go away. We just learn to live with it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I believe that deep down, no matter how much we think about it, we are never prepared to lose the people we love. Sorry for your loss.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, friend. We know that they will leave us soon but we can't be prepared enough.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

People grew up being afraid of death. And it is something that cannot be avoided. But I'd rather go quickly than in agony. Interesting article. Regards.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We are all mortals and death is given. It's just a matter of how we cope up with the pain and grief our loved ones left to us. I'm sorry for your loss, sis.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

True sis, we just learn to live with the pain. Thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Death of a loved one is painful indeed but the great memories we have had with them somehow lessens the sorrow and anguish as time passes by. I believe your grandmom is with the Father na.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

We can only hold on to memories. Thanks friend

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True sis, you're welcome...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lola ko namatay Lang this Sept 10:< halos Hindi ako makapaniwala dahil siya lagi ang nasa tabi ko para alalayan ako sa lahat ng ginagawa ko pero nang iwan agad siya:< pero lagi siyang nasa isip at puso ko❤️ I'm sorry for the loss of your grandmother

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh, I see. We all go through that phase, Honey. We don't stay here forever.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree, to loss our beloved ones is really a painful things,I lossed my nephew and aunt almost two years ago but I still couldn't forget their laughs and love. Sorry for the loss of grandmother. I feel sad.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Being sad is really inevitable just like death. But we will learn to live with the pain eventually.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm so sorry to hear about your grandmother. Death is obvious and we all have to face it. Don't be upset dear. Please don't.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ohh, thanks friend. I'm fine and well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can't stand people dying especially those I am close to. They live a big hole with us and it takes a while to forget and move on. Sorry about your grandmother. We all would leave this earth soon and our prayer should be God shouldn't let that happen while still young and at the end, to make heaven.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, Princess. First and foremost we should be reminded that this is mot our home.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm not ready!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

To mingle?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

To die!!!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago