Just in time for Reconciliation

23 36

July 9, 2022

Happy Weekend Read-Friends. It's Saturday and it felt good to have almost three hours of uninterrupted nap. The feeling after having a nap and after pooping are two of the most heavenly feelings in my opinion. It's like I've released something toxic and I'm recharged.

Today is a holiday in the Philippines as we join our Muslim brothers and sisters in the celebration of Eid'l Adha (Feast of Sacrifice).

This reminded me of the varied beliefs and religions that we honour and respect here in our country. Just last Thursday evening, we welcomed a new roommate. There were two double decks and the one that is above my deck is vacant. The new roomie is a fresh senior high grad and very beautiful. I called her "ma'am" at first as it has become our default call name at the boarding house but she corrected me and insisted I'm to call her by her nickname. Nice!

Anyway, the young girl is twenty-one years old. She found a job at the nearest salon. She knows how to do manicures and pedicures. She even offered her services to us. When asked about his family, she sadly shared that it's only her mom that's left. Her dad died a few years ago and her elder siblings have their own families. There is one elder brother who has finished college but never bothered to get a job and just plays mobile legends instead. She added she wanted to work to help her mom.

I and my two other roommates are older than her and we were somehow touched by this young girl's vision of life. She should be processing her admission to the uni. By now, she should be excited about her first day at school in a few months. But life is not fair for everybody. These are the days that I'm reminded to be grateful.

It wasn't an accident that we have her as a roommate. It was for us to be reminded how blessed we are not to have to work right after high school. She is a reminder for us not to complain because there is someone that has a right to complain than us. These are the days that I'm thankful for my parents for sending me to the uni no matter how hard it is to send me and my sister at the same time.

What I like about this girl is how she isn't shy to express her faith. On the dawn of Friday, we heard her singing songs for the Lord. It wasn't loud just enough for all of us to wake up. She sang three songs and proceeded to pray. I didn't see her. I only heard her as her bed is on top of mine. My other roommate saw her that she sits while having her devotional.

Here is a girl who should've been excited about her days at the uni. But is deprived of the opportunity. She could complain to God but she can still afford to wake up early to sing praises for Him. If I were her, I would have appealed to my elder brothers to send me to the uni. If I were here I would be sad and rebellious to God because of my situation.

But she is not me. She doesn't complain about it. She is just excited to be able to work and help her mom. She chooses to worship and remain in God despite all things. She even has her faith firm because of her situation.

And yet here I am. A college grad who got a part-time job that somehow pays decently. Not high but also not low. Just enough to make ends meet. But still, complaining. Still rebellious and ungrateful. I can't remember the last time I say my prayers. I became distant from God just because I think He never listens to my prayers and He has never answered my prayers yet. I'm in rush. I want instant response and that's where I fall short of His glory.

My new roommate is evidence that God knows my sentiments and that He hears from me. She is a God-sent. He wants me to draw inspiration from her and reconcile with Him. From here, He wants me back in His palms.

Ohh, this wasn't how I envisioned my article to be but look at how it turned out. While writing, He gave me wisdom that allowed me to figure things out. It turned into a reflection.

My roommate came just in time for me to reconcile with Him.

*lead image is from unsplash.com

8
$ 2.05
$ 1.93 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.04 from @Jane
$ 0.02 from @Princessbusayo
+ 5
Sponsors of Murakamii.7
empty
empty
empty

Comments

Your roommate may come just to remind each one of you how blessed you are in life and as well to inspire you by how she held strong despite the hardships she faced in life

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ah huh.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Prayers for you and your friend, Mura! That wasinspiring!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks sis.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am happy that your new room mate serves us a blessing for you. Blessing not in terms of financial but a blessing for your spiritual life. God might use her to remind you to be grateful of what you have. Its time to renew your connection to God.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ah huh. It's unexpected but I'm glad it happened.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hope she'll be able to find more opportunities for her labaaan lang po and I'll pray for her

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes. I know she will be provided with a lot of opportunities

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kapag ganyan ang taong nakapaligid talaga sayo eh mahihiya ka nalang at mapapaisip hehe

$ 0.01
1 year ago

At magpapakabait hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is inspiring as I saw two different personalities from you and the girl. One truth I would tell you is that God really listens to us when we go to Him. If we think He will not hear us, then that is our belief but when we believe He will answer us, it will be so. God is everywhere and He gives his response. You might not hear him but being delayed of things is an answer from Him saying “It is not yet the time, my child ”.

I want you to always give thanks and not to complain because when we are far away from God, He will be far away from us too.

Go and check Isaiah 59:1-2

I think I am inspired to share that with you my friend. Take care of yourself 💓

$ 0.00
1 year ago

God is pleased that you are inspired Busayo! Thanks for that reminder. I will surely try to get back on track.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's my pleasure 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mukhang mpapasabak kyo sa knya.. Napaka devoted 😊

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hahaha nakakahiya kaming nakakatanda. Mabuti pa sya haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Btw noh, ako sauna siaw2 rag skoila peru kahumn man gihapon bisag hapit hagbong sa kada subject, while ang uban pa cguro naa sa akoa kahimtang cguro mas taas pa ilaha naabut mas daghan ug namauhan sa pag skoila😅

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Mao na chor. Char kaajo bisan nag naning na sija hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahahah naning ba uroy, wa gani ko kamangno mi graduate d.i ko🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

God makes our life a 100 times better to live <3

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's right sis!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

While reading this, I also thought about my life too, been ungrateful all this while and things have been going well with me.. Got made when answers to my prayers are delayed but here was someone in need, who still prays everyday..

I really need to get back to God

$ 0.01
1 year ago

This is your heads-up too!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes dear

$ 0.00
1 year ago