BYE-lingual

3 39
Avatar for MrsPepper27
2 years ago

I have read Eybyoung's article about her daughter that knows how to speak three different languages. Note that her daughter is only four years old, this coming October! Isn't she awesome? So I asked myself, how many languages do I know and speak?

Past

I used to be a KDrama and CDrama addict. My love for these two dramas started when I was in elementary. Who will forget F4 and San Cai? I went crazy over this drama. I remember that during my elementary days I will keep some of my money so I can buy some posters and cards of F4 and Barbie Hsu. I also know their songs by heart. And even tried re-enacting some scenes that I love the most. But since I was still in my younger years that time, the idea of studying their language hasn't crossed my mind yet. It was just when I started working that I thought of why not trying to learn their language. I have no problem with subtitles but just purely watching a KDrama without reading the subtitles sounds great, right? So I started to check on YouTube since I don't really wanna enroll to in a specific class way back then. I just thought that self-studying is the best fit for my schedule. I also downloaded some applications that teach different languages. I started studying the Korean language first. I started with greetings, basic words then phrases. It was fun honestly. Additional skills for me.

My desire to move to another field pushed me to study the Chinese language. I have started to dream to work in another field for a change so I was spotting some job vacancies on our portal page and one of the positions that caught my attention was to be Bilingual Support. But for me to be qualified I need to learn the Chinese language. So I decided to study Chinese using the same method I did when I studied Korean. Then I started to watch Chinese Drama. Eventually, I just found myself enjoying the drama. The very first ever CDrama I have watched is Shen Yue and Hu Yitian's A Love So Beautiful. Aren't they adorable?

Present

To be honest, I only know two languages that I am confident using, Tagalog and English. My native tongue is Tagalog since I am a Filipino. I grew up hearing and talking using Tagalog as the main language at home. I just started to learn English words when I started attending school. I get to use it most when I started working. Being part of the BPO Industry, you will really require to at least speak or express yourself in English, whether it is English Carabao or the Pro-Style.

Future

As you know, I am a freelancer. And the competition in this industry is very tight. The more skills you have, the more possible you can get a good client. So I am planning to study another language that can be helpful in me to look for more clients in the future. I am thinking of working on some French or Nihongo. As I was scrolling for some works, I noticed that most are looking for an assistant who knows Japanese and/or French Language. I am planning to study again by myself. Maybe I will start by next month, depends on the volume of my workload hahaha.

I found it fun to learn new languages but to be honest it is quite challenging too. I reached the point that I was almost lost in words to express myself, and was confused too. There were also times that I got to mixed Korean and/or Chinese languages in some conversations hahaha I used to be multilingual, but now I am BYE-Lingual :D

Before anything else, check these awesome people's works too. They all rock!

Sponsors of MrsPepper27
empty
empty
empty

So, this concludes my entry for @JonicaBradley's Language Prompt. You can check her article here. Hope you enjoy reading it!

My thoughts

I am a learner. My eagerness to learn something new is one of my strengths. I guess there is nothing wrong with that, right? Do you consider yourself a learner, too?

Words have been checked thru Dupli Checker Plagiarism Checker.

If you wanna know some of my daily activities, short posts or want to have some good vibes, you can visit my Noise account MrsPepper.

7
$ 0.10
$ 0.05 from @bbyblacksheep
$ 0.05 from @FarmGirl
Sponsors of MrsPepper27
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for MrsPepper27
2 years ago

Comments

And kagandahan din sa French is dagdag points siya if in case you decided to go or work in Canada dahil second language nila yun. Isa yun sa mga gusto ko din noon kasi gusto ko talaga tumira Canada kaso wala naman hindi ko naman sineseryoso. Naaayon sa bugso ng damdamin. 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've been planning to study french din, I know some basic words lang hahaha. And japanese, I know some few words din hahaha I've been studying nihongo for like a year or more than a year narin ata, nanunuod lang ako ng YouTube tas I was able to learn some din hehe. Dami rin kasing advantages kapag may alam tayo na ibang languages 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Agree. Additional skills din. Ako naman mag start pa lang hahaha good luck satin!

$ 0.00
2 years ago