Do Parents Need To Listen, Too?

2 20
Avatar for MrPepper
2 years ago
Topics: Family, Parenting

Monday has just ended and it was indeed a hectic one for me. Had to spend another hour at work to cope up with some missed hours last week. When I got home, had a chance to eat a yummy meal cooked by my wife. Finally, I had my 'me time'. I was playing on my phone earlier when my son came to me and he started to speak 'blah blah blah'. I was too focused on my game and I just nod at him a d repeat what he said. My wife who I don't know that was watching us said something, "Baby come here, daddy is busy playing". I know she didn't mean to offend me but somehow I feel guilty. I heard her talking to our son and trying to decipher what our son is saying then I heard their laughter.

As soon as our game ended, I hugged them both and with a pleasing and apologetic face, I told them my sorry. My wife smiled assuring me that there's nothing to worry about. But our son removed my hand from hugging him and lay his head on the shoulder of her mom. And when I tried to look at him again, he finally give me the sweetest smile.

At that moment I realized that listening to our kids plays an important role in developing their life. And that it is not only our ears that should be used when listening, open your eyes and heart so you can see what you can't hear.

Is Listening To Your Kids Important?

For our kids to listen to us, we must learn how to listen to them first. Becoming a parent is not an easy task, it comes with great responsibility. As a new parent, I am honestly overwhelmed with all the things to do and don'ts. I am just lucky that my wife is really much better than me in this one. Well, at least I am trying my best to be the best father everyday.

One thing I learned is that I need to listen earnestly to Prince every time he will try to communicate with me. Especially that he is still young. I believe that the foundation of a kid's development starts as young as possible. So teaching them the good and bad as early as possible is important. I want him to know that I am always here willing to listen so when he grows up he will not be shy to tell me the things running on his mind. I want him to know that aside from being a father, I am also his friend that he can share anything with me.

Listening may sound easy but it is not. In reality, when one becomes a parent, listening seems a hard task to do. It is quite hard to listen to toddlers speaking while you have a lot of things running in your mind. Imagine your kid saying a lot of words that you can't understand and you need so much patience or else you might just get upset because you can't understand his words.

That is where the magic lies. We already have this connection with our kids. The trust is also established. The next thing to do is to make sure that trust will not be broken. Giving your time and focus to listen not only what your kids are saying but also checking their body languages is a must so you'll get to know more about your children. Arent you thrilled to see how your little angel reacts once she tells you how her first day outside in the park went? Aren't you interested how she says 'Mommy', 'Daddy' each time she will call you and your spouse? Each parent must consider that listening to their kids makes it likely that they will listen to us. It also makes the bond of both parents and kids stronger and deeper.

Check out these people's work too. They're awesome!

Sponsors of MrPepper
empty
empty
empty

Thank you for dropping by. I hope I am able to put a smile on your face today. If you like this one, don't forget to hit the like button, subscribe and share your thoughts too. I will be glad to talk to you! See you around!

-MrPepper-

*All images including the Lead are from Unsplash.

Rest assured that all the words, phrases and sentences are produced by the joint effort of my brain cells and my heart. But for your peace of mind, all are being checked through Dupli Checker Plagiarism Checker.

Written by: MrPepper
Date Published: September 14, 2021
Article #: 5

5
$ 0.84
$ 0.79 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @FarmGirl
Sponsors of MrPepper
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for MrPepper
2 years ago
Topics: Family, Parenting

Comments

This is good. I am not a parent myself but I have observed some who don't give time to their kids, or just say "I am tired, go play..." I believe kids collect memories with people around them and when they grow up, they will mirror these things they experience or see around. And you are right about listening well to children, even when they are grown-ups. They still need warm embraces, hugs, and an open ear to listen to them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, parents should listen to their children too. As much as possible ganyan ako sa anak ko lalo na at babae sya. Importante sa akin un sasabihin nya para mas magabayan ko pa sya, at mas makilala pa sya. Akala kasi natin kilala na natin talaga yun mga anak natin. But habang lumalaki sil, madaming pagbabago sa knila na di natin alam at malalaman lang natin yan kapag papakinggan natin un side nila sa mga bagay bagay,

$ 0.00
2 years ago