Looking for a Substitute

6 29
Avatar for MizLhaine
2 years ago

There are many ways on how substitution can work. It could be in games like basketball where players substitute other players so that they will given time to rest or they are not playing well and a call for substitution is needed. It could also be in schools when a particular teacher is on maternity leave or for personal leave and someone is needed to take over his/her post. In a school performance which the lead role is on emergency and needs substitution. Anywhere and in any situation we can see applications of substitution, even in buying goods from the grocery stores or market.

Image from Pixabay

As the in-charge of the groceries for the family. I can really see the difference in prices and now everything become "Mahal" - expensive. The groceries that I was buying for only Php 1,500.00/$30.00 before is now almost Php 2,000.00/$40.00. So I was thinking of techniques on how can I live within the weekly budget. One of the things I consider is look for substitute goods. The substitution could either be choosing a different brand for the same goods or looking for other products in substitute for what I used to buy.

One example is the things for my youngest child. When she was a baby, I used Cetaphil baby wash for her because she has a sensitive skin. A 230ml of Cetaphil Baby wash costs Php 320.00 from Watsons or Mercury Drug, now she's 2 years old I tried using Johnsons Cottontouch which I only buy for around Php 200.00 for 200 ml. The difference in the price is really big and I am happy that her skin is also not reacting badly to the new baby wash. Another is buying ready to cook snacks over ready to eat snacks like biscuits, cupcakes and the like. When the pandemic started, kids are just at home and what they usually do are playing, eating, doing modules. They can actually eat a pack of cupcakes with 10 pieces in just one day and that would cost around Php 60.00 per pack. I saw an alternative, a ready to cook puto mix which cost arount Php 70.00 with 2 packs inside and each pack can make at least 10 pieces of puto. Though I need other ingredients, those ingredients are just available at home and the way of cooking is just through steaming.

As a mother, I always look into the good of my kids and I am thinking of their welfare when I am substituting products. I am ensuring that their needs will not also be compromised along the process of substitution. I am not an expert, I am just a mom, a wife who wants to live within a budget for buying goods.

How about you? Do you also make substitute for goods to live within the budget? I would love to know your techniques and tips.

Lead Image from Pixabay

3.9.2022

~MizLhaine

4
$ 3.39
$ 3.26 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 1
Sponsors of MizLhaine
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for MizLhaine
2 years ago

Comments

Ang hirap pag ikaw ang nagbabudget ng kwarta no. Go sin ako sa substitute. May mas mura naman di yon nalang muna.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Mahirap talaga mag budget. kaya kahit ano ano nalang na diskarte ginagawa para lang makamura.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's good for adults too 🙈🤣

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Agree, applicable sa lahat. Yong sa mga sabon pwede dito.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am happy to know the way you find these substitute for the products you were using for your baby. You are doing well as a mother.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks for that! I am always looking forward on how can I stick with the budget without compromising the welfare of the kids.

$ 0.00
2 years ago