Alumni Fun Day

9 29
Avatar for MizLhaine
2 years ago

Alumni Homecoming allows batchmates and classmates to gather and to reminisce the good old days. It is usually organized by the institution to establish camaraderie among alumni. Due to pandemic, most Alumni homecomings were not celebrated anymore. But now, gatherings can be done in the new normal.

Just recently, our high school alma mater celebrated its 49th Founding Anniversary and instead of Alumni Homecoming, they name the activity as Alumni Fun Day because not all batches were present. I am the class president before and I asked them if we will join, and my batchmates said "Yes". So we started planning 3 weeks ago and we have a shirt for our batch. I asked my colleague to create a design for us. Here is our shirt design.

For our food, we decided to "Bring Your Own Baon" to share. Before the event, only a few signify to attend. And indeed, during the event, we were just few, at least 8 people only from our batch, although there were those who would come and later on leave ahead. But what surprised me was that only few batches were there. Batch 1997 , Batch 1998, 1992, 2003, 2007, 2014 as far as I remember. We bring food to share. Since, we were just few, these were just enough.

Even if we are just few, we actively participated in some Parlor Games. We won in one of the parlor games and we were chosen as Most Active Batch. Hubadan mo Ako is a Parlor game that we are going to wear 2 shirts and pass it to the next person. The first group to finish the task will be the winner. And that's the only game we won. 2 of our batchmates also were able to win a raffle prize.

We enjoyed the games and the activities. But there's one thing that makes me sad, it is our shirt. I was excited about it, but when it arrived I am bit disappointed. The design is good but the quality of the shirt is not good. It is so thin, as in "manipis". Very low quality. But there's nothing that we can do about it. It is there already. Next time, I will see to it that I will see a sample before I would go for printing. Nevertheless, we have a picture taking.

Overall, the activity was a success. I enjoyed it and I was happy to be able to see my batchmates and also my previous teachers. My attendance brings me back to the memories of my high school days. Both good, sad moments, kilig moments, achievements, downfall, lessons and learnings. I did not make the low quality shirt to ruin the event. I am looking forward in participating more Alumni activities in the future.

How about you? Do you also attend Alumni Homecomings? I would love to know your experiences.

~MizLhaine

4.4.2022

6
$ 4.87
$ 4.81 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @George_Dee
$ 0.02 from @Momentswithmatti
+ 1
Sponsors of MizLhaine
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for MizLhaine
2 years ago

Comments

it is always nice to join these kind of activities sis.. however, since one of our classmates died, I had decided not to join alumni events anymore.. it makes me sad

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh, that classmate I suppose is close to you, because it makes you sad that they will not be present.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, you guys must have enjoyed hanging around and reminiscing the memories of the good old days. My batch being the first is always responsible for the organizing but we lost some of my mates for two consecutive years and it killed the morale to organize a reunion since then.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Last month, someone created a GC for our batch in college. They are planning to have reunion. I hope this will be realized. Waiting for the confirmation when it will happen.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wow, that's good. It really takes someone to lead.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I attended one sa high school namin. ako yung representative sa batch namin. tapos nagka issue kesyo daw feeling leader2 daw ako sabi ng ibang classmates. ako naman is happy ako that time to help organize. kaya sa mga next alumni di na ko umattend. nag travel na lang ako out of the country. ang toxic na eh.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ay I love travels. Siguro ako din pipiliin ko nalng hindi mag attend kaysa may marinig na issues.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like alumni but sad to say in our batch alumni wont happen, there's no alumni happened. It feels cool that event.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It needs somebody to lead and initiate the gathering. Yeah, it is enjoy, you will reminisce the past.

$ 0.00
2 years ago