Night Owl's Creativity: Purple Resin Crafts

10 31
Avatar for MisakiLhaine
2 years ago

I think I am becoming a night owl now. I feel so sleepy and tired every morning, then feel energized at evening to late night.

My creative self is more active at night, it's been a week now since I am sleeping late because I had a hard time to sleep. Alot of ideas are running in my mind, so I executed some of them every night.

One of them is about resin crafting. I'm interested about it aside from drawing and paintings. Infact, I already posted in my noise account some of my resin crafts which are artist palette and letter keychains. I also planning to make customized resin crafts as part of my art business.

I am Resourceful!

Last week, I bought some materials for my resin projects via online but it hasn't arrived yet. The silicon coaster moulder I've purchased arrived last week, while the pendants and necklace chains arrived few days ago.

Got some flower freebie from seller.

I'm too excited to try the moulder so I did not wait for the other materials.

Two days ago, I'm decluterring some of my stuffs when I stumbled upon our old makeup kit. My sister and I bought it 10 years ago. I supposed to throw it,but I suddenly realized that I can still use it not on my face but on my resin arts.

This was taken after I used it in my resin crafts

Crafting Time

Necklace with Pendant

I want my pendant to be colored purple, I am a fan of BTS so I wanted to put their logo inside the pendant. As I checked the makeup kit, it doesn't have a color purple eyeshadow. So I mixed a dark red and light blue eyeshadow to make a color purple. I didn't achieved my desired color since the amount of light blue is lesser than the red.

I've put the colors in the paper cup together with the epoxy resin and hardener. The ratio I made for the resin is 2:1 (2 amount of epoxy resin and 1 amount of hardener).

These are the epoxy and hardener.

The hardener's color should be clear, i think it's exposed to high humidity that's why the color turned yellowish. I purchased it last year for my other resin crafts,and now I used the remaining amount for practice.

This is the residue of purple resin.

My first attempt was failed.

I am about to pour a small amount of resin into the pendant, but I accidentally pour a larger amount. I attempted to put the BTS logo which I drew in a small piece of paper,but it submerged into the resin and no longer visible. I tried again twice but still the same, so i decided to add some petals but it submerged too. I gave up and let it be that way.

Sorry, I was not able to take photos of the process, or while I am doing it since I'm too immersed on crafting. What I'll be posting is the finished product.

These how it turns out. This is a macro shot of the two pendants.

I think I suceeded on my 2nd attempt. I had a great control this time. I pour a lesser amount of purple resin then i put the logo then pour another amount of resin, but this is time a clear resin (no color at all).

My 1st attempt was a bit bulky than the 2nd one. Upon looking at them i think they both look fine and I realized the 1st attempt was not really failed.

Coaster Resin

It's time for the coaster crafting now. I also want my coaster to have a touch of purple. I plan to make it a combination of gold and purple. I just used the remaining purple resin I used for the pendant and pour it in the moulder.It was not enough to cover the remaining space of the moulder, so this time i made another set of resin with gold eyeshadow.

The ratio is still 2:1. I used the wooden spoon the same thing i used for mixing the resin to measure it. I used 6 spoonful of epoxy resin and 3 spoonful of hardener. I poured it to the remaining space then I slightly blend them in the middle. I also added some few petals to give additional design.

This is what it looks like while it's still wet.

After a day, the resin was completely cured. Here it is now.

I love my coaster. 😍

I also wear the necklace to check if it's really stainless and non-tarnished, and also to know if it will not irritate my skin. So far it's good, after more than a day of using it i don't feel any itchiness or irritation in my neck part.

Sooo happy on the final outcome! I need more practice, and more design to make before I can finally out it in the public.


A/N: I'm so proud of myself for thinking that I can still use the makeup for crafting resins. Haha I can use it on my practice sessions. I become a night owl artist now, i am crafting them at almost 12midnight last last night. Haha

On my next crafting, I'll make sure to properly take some photos of the process.

Thank you guys for reading and upvoting! Thank you also Rusty for upvoting my previous article, seeing you in my notifs for the first time made my heart skipped a beat. ❤

Own images used

6
$ 2.10
$ 2.00 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @alykavinsky
$ 0.03 from @MarcDaclag
+ 1
Sponsors of MisakiLhaine
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for MisakiLhaine
2 years ago

Comments

You’re so artistic though. Not everyone has the same skills as you are. You’re really good! Just keep doing what you love. For sure you’ll get the best reward for your hardwork. 🥰

My little nephew is an army too. Hahaha that’s why I’m familiar about BTS although my love for Blackpink will never change. 😅

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you so much! I am actually a multi fandom, though not that active. I love blackpink and their song as well. ❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice craft though I don't have any idea on how to do it hehe. Just keep it on!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you so much! I'll probably share some crafts again. Thank you for sponsorship. Btw, i don't know what happened. I approved your sponsorship then it suddenly got remove on the list. Now i can't find it. Haha I'm sorry, i am not sure if i mistakenly click the reject or not.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Its done, just one more approved from me to send an amount and its all good.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awwww, thank you! I thought i did some mistakes, coz this is the first time i've experienced getting a sponsor. Thank you for your sponsorhip! ❤❤❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your welcome, but sorry for the small amount.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Noooo, don't say that. Whatever amount I am always grateful. ❤ thank you again.🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is fun, seeing the raw materials take shape and beauty! Keep it up!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hahaha it's fun doing it but kinda frustrating when the result doesn't go as you want.

$ 0.00
2 years ago