How it All Started: My Arts&Crafts Business

12 55
Avatar for MisakiLhaine
2 years ago
Topics: Arts, Crafts, Sewing, Hobbies, Business, ...

Starting my own small business was the biggest decision I did last year. I am excited and anxious at the same time. It's really my plan last 2020 to start selling my arts/crafts, since I found my new hobbies back then but it got delayed for a year due to some personal matters, that's why it only happened last year.

When the lockdown took place in 2020, Our Company opted for a Work From Home Set Up. I was just at home working using my sister's laptop (coz the company only provide limited numbers of laptop/PC for us). It's really hard at first because it's a new experience to me, there are alot of factors that can affect your working efficiency. Like, poor Internet Connection; sudden power-outrage; and slowness of laptop due to heavy files that i need to open. Those are just mostly some of my dillemas during my working time.

I had some stressful working days and arts/painting/drawing helped me to relax. I made the most artworks during that year and I also found my new hobbies, which are Sewing and Resin Crafting.

Sewing Canvas Tote Bags

I got an idea to sew my own canvas tote bag while doing some painting on a canvas bag i bought in the past. It made me buy a mini portable sewing machine so I can try and experience sewing.

Actually, I have a background in sewing since both of my Mom and Grandma used to work in a Dress Shop/Garments Factory, i love watching my Mom sewing curtains, our own clothes and stuffs.

I also bought canvas fabrics, tape measure, pins, thread and extra needles. My first mini sewing machine was worth P200plus only (4$+) it was really small and looks like a toy. I was able to use it for months before it stopped working. Next, I've bought a new mini sewing machine that was worth P1.3K(26$+). I made my first few bags, that I've used personally. I feel like I am ready to sell my bags, but my fear was bigger than my courage so I didn't do it in 2020.

After losing my job, I've upgraded to a much better sewing machine. I invested around P10,500 (210$) for a new sewing machine. It's convenient to use and much easier for me to sew.

My sewing machines
My first Canvas Tote Bag
My few attempts of other bags

Resin Crafting

It all started out of curiosity, on how it feels like to do resin crafting. I got hooked at watching different videos about Resin, it's mesmerizing to watch so I wanted to know if it's the same if i'll be the one doing it. My first resin craft is Resin Palette. The intention is to just make a resin palette myself so I bought a moulder, epoxy resin and dried flowers, but I found myself enjoying it so much that it made me buy other stuffs too. I've bought a letter moulders and some materials for keychain making.

My first Resin Palette
My handcrafted resin keychains

I stopped making crafts and sewing bags for a while. I don't have much time to do all those things while working at home since I am always rendering overtime. Instead, I go back to paintings and drawing again.

Months had passed, then afterwards I lose my job. It made me realized that maybe this is the sign or my chance to finally do what I was not able to do back in 2020.

I made a plan again, on what products to offer. I decided to sell resin crafts first before the canvas tote bags. I invested in additional resin crafts materials as well as in the packaging that i will be using. Everything was almost ready except myself. I hesitated again, I got really scared. It took me a couple months of contemplating before I finally able to start my plans. It was almost end of November 2021 when I started with my Arts&Crafts business.


Everything started from just a simple hobby or escape whenever i feel stressed. After all the delays and hesitations, I never imagine that I'll be able to continue my plans and make it happen. I am thankful to one of the youtube video I came across while scrolling for some yt tutorials before. His words gave me a subtle push to start taking action. I think, everything that happened was part of my journey and it all perfectly in time. I wasn't late nor early, it happened the way it should be. On my next article I'll share the current status of my arts&craft business.

Lead Image edited in Canva

Own Images Used

12
$ 4.73
$ 4.58 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @MarcDaclag
$ 0.03 from @Usagi
+ 3
Sponsors of MisakiLhaine
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for MisakiLhaine
2 years ago
Topics: Arts, Crafts, Sewing, Hobbies, Business, ...

Comments

Wow. You're really talented. I love your works. Even though your plan to have a small business got delayed for a while, I'm proud that you're now selling your products. I also have a small crochet business and I know how hard it is to start and to continue your business. Good luck and I hope you got tons of sales this year! ❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is so good to know sis. Im planning tye same thing. I do crochet and I bought sewing machine too. Fornow, ill be using tge computer and free Internet to load up references for the business and of course, puhunan too.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's nice! I see alot of post about crochet and i think it's a really great and in demand crafts business nowadays. I am wishing a successful business for the both of us. Aja!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes,aja! Lets have sleepless nights to be more successful sis. I wish you more sipag and creatively

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So glad to see na itong mga hobbies mo natutulungan ka ate to cope up with some stress sa work. Ituloy mo lang po but of course unahin pa din ang top priorities. ❤️

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes dear! It really help tlaga nung I am still working pa, pag mejo stressed sa work I have some outlet para malabas ung stress ko. Thank you dear, i appreciate it alot.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

welcome ate ko, tuloy tuloy mo lang at baka di natin alam eh yang business mo soon eh pumatok na din online.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

you know that is so cool. turning your hobby into a stream of income . it also must have been hard for you when you lost your job but hey, another door opened and now you own a small business! hope it grows well and successful, you deserve it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It's tough at first, but thankfully I've moved on from that sadness of losing a job. Thank you! I really hope so that it will be successful one day.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's good for you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As long as it fulfill you never stop, great handicraft and arts, very rare!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you dear! I'll share next time some of my recent crafts.

$ 0.00
2 years ago