Suggested Reading 6

14 543
Avatar for Mictorrani
2 years ago

In this series, I assume the role of a reader instead of a writer, discussing articles by other writers... things I recommend.

Someone asked me how often I publish “Suggested Reading”. The answer is that I have no fixed schedule for that. It depends on how much time I have to spend on reading at Read.cash (which varies) and how much material I find to include. When I have much enough, I publish a “Suggested Reading”. The time between the issues can be anything from a few days and up.

From the beginning this was not intended to become a series. The response, however, was so good so I decided to continue. I won't promise for how long though, it will be as long as it feels meaningful.

@claudio83 published USA launch National Cryptocurrency Enforcement Team, which shows us on example of how Bigbrotherism is spreading in he world of cryptocurrencies.

A quite new member, @Endurance, has so far published only one article, BTC’s trojan horse – the lightning network, which (in my opinion correctly) describes what the much blown up Lightning Network achieved:

“It copied the currently working banking system with all it’s flaws and make it use BTC. It is subject to centralized partners who will use KYC and large hubs can easily blacklist any of your transactions.”

A few days ago @MintDice published the read-worthy What is Game Theory, and How Does it Apply to Bitcoin?

In Is a Capitalist Society at a disadvantage during the ongoing silent War?, @Jaxson discusses if and why Capitalism might lose against Totalitarianism.

@Bjorn speculates about artificial intelligence: AI: Hope Or Threat?

@sanctuary.the-one-law continues consistently to describe his ideology in A State of The-One-Law.

In Control Yourself To Not Be A Consumptive, @Luna1999 brings up a very common problem, whose importance is sometimes neglected.

The same author discusses the four temperaments in Melancholy, Phlegmatic, Sanguine, and Choleric. The concept is not something peripheral, it has had an enormous impact on human thinking during a long time. As I wrote in a previous article: “This [the four temperaments] was the basis for the medical paradigm that dominated the Antiquity and ahead, until about 200 years ago.”

Then I want to mention three recent philosophical articles by @aniruddhasen, who, in his best moments, belongs to the very best authors here. I don't only refer to the sheer writing, but also to the thinking behind. It is not just words, he has something to say with the words.

Choice and destiny

It's all about nothing.

The red tomato

@Olawale4967 wrote The Shadow Side of Greatness, about how in some area of life very successful people often are total failures in other areas. There is a price to pay for greatness and success, a price that perhaps is too high. This is an article all young career aspiring people ought to read before making choices for life.

In Outing the Oppression Olympians, @MarielB22 brings up another important question – the regressing world. She definitely has a point. The subject could be taken much longer and deeper though, but everything must start somewhere, and this is a start as good as any. This article is not politically correct, so I suppose there are readers who will not like the opinions presented there. I would have described it differently, but in essence I agree with the author.

I also suggest you read The happy memories. by the always well writing @gertu13. It is a little piece of everyday wisdom.

“Never use other people's relationships as a gauge for yours.“ writes @Olasquare in It Is Different For Everyone. I would say that everything is different for everyone, not only relationships. So, what @Olasquare says is more general than he makes it in this article.

Then we have a new Russian member, @Blogika, who produces interesting articles. Her articles are published in as well Russian as English. They are well worth reading. Take a look at her profile.

Let's mention some articles of an entirely different sort. Not serious literature, not ideology or philosophy; just some fun knowledge:

@pandoru1997 writes about Swarovski crystals, in Secrets of Swarovski crystals. The article is quite old by now, but its content is timeless.

Do you know your birthstone? by @cmoneyspinner

The six most expensive flowers in the world by @viggy40, a member I have not encountered before, although she has obviously been here for a year or so.

Then we can include Day 13 of 31 days of Halloween!! The Slenderman !! as well. The author is @Theblackdoll. This is the story of an urban legend.

Some pieces of fiction by @nomadghada:

The Venusian Sky (Sci Fi Fiction)

Alien Moon (Sci-fi fiction)

And finally a story by @Pearlkel: The Priestess. Obviously the author is Nigerian, but I am not sure whether the story is some sort of Nigerian legend or pure fiction created by the author from scratch. If you, @Pearlkel, read this, perhaps you can inform us in a comment?

Read the whole series, ”Suggested Reading” and my series “Retrospection”.

Copyright © 2021 Meleonymica/Mictorrani. All Rights Reserved.

You find all my writings on Read.Cash, sorted by topic, here.

My 5 most recent articles:

Colours V: Colours Of Plants

The Three Sacred Treasures

An Ugly Philosopher, a Nagging Wife, and an Illustrious Student

Retrospection 10

Suggested Reading 5

15
$ 12.16
$ 11.67 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.08 from @sanctuary.the-one-law
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
+ 12
Sponsors of Mictorrani
empty
empty
Avatar for Mictorrani
2 years ago

Comments

Thank you very much doctor. I'm glad that my writing is worth reading, that means it has benefits for other people.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It certainly has!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for the mention. I bookmarked this so I can take my time to check out your suggested reading.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Some of those look like articles I'm going to be reading soon! Very interested in the Oppression Olympics one as well as the AI one.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm glad if I can help you and others to find more relevant reading. Somehow, that's the purpose of this article, and this series.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much for the review and mention. It means a lot. I really appreciate this and yes, it's more general and not limited to just relationships.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you very much for the mention. Good authors in your citations. Thanks for the text recommendations.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for the shoutout 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Interesting catches to add to my list of interesting minds. I stumbled upon @Blogika a few days back
and must say her perspectives are intriguing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, indeed.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you sir for finding my articles worthy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, my post could have been more profound. However, due to limited attention spans here on read.cash and elsewhere, it was succinctly stated. I could write a doctoral dissertation on it and bring in Kant's categorical imperative, just for example.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are right, too long and deep articles are wasted here.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This post is literally walking encyclopedia haha.. thank you so much for mentioning.. bookmarking this article so that I can visit these amazing writers one after another :) bless you

$ 0.00
2 years ago