Quizzes & Puzzles 48

22 341
Avatar for Mictorrani
1 year ago

The last couple of weeks of this series, I have received more response on an average, in form of comments with answers, than I had before. Perhaps my questions have not been as difficult as before, I don't know. Anyway, I hope this trend will continue.

I am also glad to see that it is obvious that most of you who have been answering, and that goes for the whole series so far, have been doing so without using Google. That makes this so much more fun for both you and me.

I know that many of my questions are difficult, so don't be sad if you cannot answer right to everything; nobody has done that so far. Read the answers and see it as a fun way of acquiring new knowledge instead.

Now, some new problems with which to exercise the brain. But first a look at answers and solutions to Quizzes & Puzzles 47. New problems below the image (cartoon).

Answer to Quiz 47:1

Which is largest, a 1 carat ruby or a 1 carat diamond?

@Sylv_Sylv gave us the correct answer a diamond.

The diamond is larger because the ruby is heavier.

Answer to Quiz 47:2

Shakespeare's three witches are famous characters in one of his theatre plays – which one?


It was in “Macbeth”, as @fantagira knew. It is likely, though, that Shakespeare has built on older folklore and mythology, possibly the Three Fates of Antique lore (or the Moirae). Anyway, his three witches are prophetic and predicted Macbeth's destiny.

Answer to Quiz 47:3

Creation and rock band formed in 1967.

Genesis. The rock band, Genesis, was most interesting and influential during the 1970s – after that they became more streamlined after commercial ideals and lost some of their specific characteristics.

Answer to Quiz 47:4

Emilio “El Indio” Fernández was the model for a trophy awarded yearly since 1929. What?

The Oscar statue.

Answer to Quiz 47:5

In J.R.R. Tolkien's literary world, who are referred to as the "First" and "Second" Children of Illúvatar?

Elves and mankind respectively. This piece of information is found in Tolkien's book “Silmarillon”.

Answer to Quiz 47:6

In English, one says:

  • I was

  • You were

  • He/she/it was

  • We were

  • You (plural) were

  • They were

However, there is an exception to this rule, when it should always be “were”. Can you give an example of a correct sentence containing “... I were ...”, and explain why it should be in that way?

@Danika gave a correct examples: “If I were you, I would rather appreciate the questions” and “She wished she were a stewardess.” I have been considering @Danika's explanation, which I first saw as incomplete, but I now tend to say it is right in essence. (See the comment section). Let me say it like this: If something is not certain, it should always be “were”. It happens most clearly if the clause expresses a wish or if it is conditional (contains explicit or implicit “if”). Grammatically, it is called that “to be” is in the subjunctive. This practice is gradually disappearing from modern English. It is quite common to find native English speakers (and writers) who have no idea about it. Still it gives a good impression of style and education when it is observed.

Answer to Quiz 47:7

An animal with a horse mother and a donkey father, is called a mule. But what is it called if it has a horse father and a donkey mother?

It's called a hinny. @Sylv_Sylv knew this. Hinnies are less common than mules.

And now some new exercises for brain & memory...

Quiz 48:1

In which way does the pupil of a cat differ from that of a human?

Quiz 48:2

If we talk about Ormuzd and Ahriman, which religion are we discussing then?

Quiz 48:3

Cobalt is used as a pigment in artist's colours, which colour does it give?

  • Red​?

  • Yellow?

  • Blue?

  • Violet?

  • Black?

  • White?

Quiz 48:4

What did Popeye eat to become strong?

Quiz 48:5

A writer, in an indirect sense a saintly man, half Chinese, a fact that for a long time blocked him from getting a permanent residence permit in the country where he actually resided. His literary creations belong entirely to the popular culture. It is in no way deep or difficult literature, and perhaps it is more known from a television series than from books. Who was he?

Quiz 48:6

Who was the philosopher who became the teacher of Alexander the Great?

You'll find answers and solutions in the next “Quizzes & Puzzles”.

Quizzes & Puzzles has its own label in my Index, where all issues of the series can be found.

In my INDEX, you can find all my writings on Read.Cash, sorted by topic.

Copyright © 2022 Meleonymica/Mictorrani. All Rights Reserved

(Cartoon by Christian Dorn/Pixabay, CC0/Public Domain.)

14
$ 3.63
$ 3.38 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Trifecta
$ 0.03 from @fantagira
+ 10
Sponsors of Mictorrani
empty
empty
Avatar for Mictorrani
1 year ago

Comments

Quiz 48.3 Cobalt gives blue colour

Quiz 48.6 Plato?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Blue is right, but wasn't Plato.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hurray!!! I got it 😁

48.6: I have read about this before and even write an article on it but I can't fully recall who it is. Let me give a try: ARISTOTLE

$ 0.00
1 year ago

A good try, because it is right: Aristotle.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ans for Quiz 48.3. Is it blue.
Ans. To Quiz 48.6. It should be Aristotle ( this was a lesson in our textbook and continued withh my children also)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Blue and Aristotle are correct.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh..great! Cobalt was our uniform tops (kameez) colour through out my schooling

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The only question I can answer in your previous one is to give an example when we'll be using if I were hahahahaa. Don't have any idea in the next set of questions as well but will try to answer quiz 48:3 because there are choices HHAHA. I'll go with black since it is used by artists and my guts is telling me so hahaha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Well, it was a good attempt, but it is not black.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

ooh hahaha I see, I see

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I’m not sure about others, but I’ve only started to read your quizzes recently. It’s a fun way of interacting with you audience.

For this week I’m gonna take a wild guess that 48.3 is Blue (just cause it’s my favourite colour) and 48.4 Popey ate spinach (that I knew 😉).

I agree, not using google is so much more fun.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Blue and spinach are right.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I laughed when I saw the Popeye question because I literally believed this, and when I was a kid and we had sports days coming up, I'd request spinach meals from my mom because I felt I'd be faster and stronger immediately after eating it. Matter of fact, we had wild spinach in the yard, so I'd go even eat the leaves raw. lol! Popeye shaped a generation, that's for sure. Was it Aristotle who taught Alexander the Great?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Children take things so literally. Fun story. And Aristotle is right.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That’s so funny! Spinach is so nutritious that it does indeed help with strength, but not in a way it helped Popey 😅 It probably was a great way of coercing children into eating healthy 😉

$ 0.00
1 year ago

lol, yep!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I guess Popeye The Sailor Man got his energy from Spinach, I have watched it in cartoon don't know much about his character.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Spinach, yes that's right.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

48:1 a cat's pupil is oval shaped.

48:2 yellow, just a random guess

48:6 Aristotle taught Alexander the Great

$ 0.00
1 year ago

48.1 I think you mean right - but strictly, it is not oval, it is a slit when it is small. Geometrically, a slit is not an oval. But as I said, I think you mean it right, so we let it pass.

48:2 Yellow is wrong.

48:3 Aristotle is right.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hello Mictoranni! It's been a while innit? How have you been? Good to see you're still around.😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hello, it was nice to see you back. I thought you had left Read.cash.

$ 0.00
1 year ago