Classical British & American TV-Series

10 584
Avatar for Mictorrani
1 year ago

I must admit that I am no great fan of television and spend very little time watching TV. However, it is an important part of popular culture and it has its merits if it is not abused. During the first 20-30 years of its life, it also had an enormous impact on people, how people perceived the world around them, and on culture in general. That's the classical period of television, which, together with pop/rock music, then was a melting pot of creativity. Neither of them are so any longer. Both have gone stale. Creativity has moved elsewhere.

The selection of TV series mentioned in this article is subjective. There were and are many other series around – even entirely omitted genres. This is my selection and may or may not coincide with what you would choose. I have especially excluded comedy series, because humour doesn't age well. What was fun 20 or more years ago, is not often fun today.

I have also focused on old series, from the classical era of television (even if there are a few exceptions to that), series that shaped the public taste and defined genres. Nothing created today would have the same impact; indeed, television today doesn't have the impact it had during the 1950s-1970s. There are too many channels and too many programs competing about the audience – not to mention the competition from internet and other media that didn't exist during the classical period of television.

Many of the old series are available on DVD. I also made some searches on YouTube, and could establish that episodes of these old series are sometimes available there. When they are, however, it is almost always a violation of copyright. That means that they come and go quickly. So, if you find something you want to see, watch it immediately. Don't expect it to remain until later. Or download it to watch at your convenience.

Western series have a strange appeal, and they age well. Unlike many other TV series, they do not feel too old-fashioned. Maybe because they have never been contemporary. Instead the genre developed its own standards; it's own archetypes, symbols, and style - indeed, its own little world; an imaginary world, in some aspects quite different from the real historical epoch it is based on. The times, mainly from the North American civil war to the 1890s, were probably considerably less violent and dramatic than later artistic interpretations suggest. The classical period for TV Westerns were from the 1950s to 1974. All good Western series were produced then.

I think one can say that the four big ones were Bonanza, Gunsmoke, The Virginian, and High Chaparral. In my opinion, the best of them was High Chaparral. The people there were less stereotype, more real, and the interaction between the characters were one step beyond what other Westerns used to offer.

Gunsmoke is the longest running TV series in American television ever. Too long. A

series - and that goes for all series, not only Westerns - tends to repeat itself too much if it continues beyond 3-4 seasons. Sometimes much earlier than that. Longer is not better.

During this period, there were a number of other high quality Western series as well. One that deserves mentioning is Rawhide, with a young Clint Eastwood in one of the major roles. So does Alias Smith and Jones, the last of the classical Western productions. Nothing noteworthy has been produced in the genre after that.

When it comes to murder mysteries and detective stories, the best of them are British. For this genre, they have a massive literary tradition, starting with Sir Arthur Conan Doyle (Sherlock Holmes), and then the generation of Agatha Christie (Miss Marple and Hercule Poirot) and Dorothy Sayers (Lord Peter Wimsey). The tradition continued far into the television era, with TV series based also on more recent authors, such as Colin Dexter (Inspector Morse, and to some extent Lewis), P.D. James (Inspector Dalgliesh), and Ruth Rendell (Inspector Wexford).

Public Eye is a detective series unlike every other. It is about a private detective named Frank Marker, and when I first saw a couple of episodes of this series, I thought it was close to the worst rubbish I had ever seen. Much later, I heard people who saw it as genial, the best that had ever been made. That made me look again when I found some episodes on YouTube. I can see what they mean, but I still think it is boring. I wouldn't even mention it here, unless there were so many people who love this series.

The Americans never reached the same standard in the genre of murder mysteries, although they have made a number of adequate ones, often more rough and hard-boiled than the British ones. Examples of that are the works of authors like Mickey Spillane (Mike Hammer) and, above all, Raymond Chandler (Philip Marlowe). The latter is the father of the hard-boiled American style.

Of the not too rough, I think the series Columbo, Perry Mason and Nero Wolfe deserve to be mentioned. Undoubtedly, the American style is better suited to Westerns, of which nothing significant has been produced anywhere else.

Spy series is a separate genre. I'm not personally very fond of that, but there is one I want to mention, the British series Danger Man, about the agent John Drake. In my opinion better and more realistic than James Bond.

Then, when discussing old TV series, we have to mention The Saint, Simon Templar, which doesn't really suit the definitions of the different genres we have discussed, but is related to them. It's a classic, with Roger Moore as Simon Templar. After The Saint, he and Tony Curtis played the main roles in another series, The Persuaders.

Let's also mention a British science fiction series, Space 1999 or Moonbase Alpha. It was produced (1974-1977) and at the time it was the most expensive British TV production ever made. Two seasons were made, but this is an excellent example of that “longer is not better”. While season one is amongst the best ever produced in the genre, season two is not worth the time watching.

Science Fiction is tricky, it belongs to the genres that don't generally age well. It must be admitted that even season one of Moonbase Alpha feels a trifle outdated. But it is still worth to watch.

Speaking about science fiction television series, it is impossible to avoid Gene Roddenberry's Star Trek. The TV series started a phenomenon, apart from TV series, Star Trek became movies, novels, comics, games, merchandise, everything. It has cult status, with fanatical followers, called Trekkies.

Related article:

A Song of Ice and Fire - Game of Thrones: Books, TV series & Quotes

Here you can find my articles about TV & Movies.

In my INDEX, you can find all my writings on Read.Cash, sorted by topic.

Copyright © 2019, 2022 Meleonymica/Mictorrani. All Rights Reserved.

(Image by OpenClipart-Vectors/Pixabay, CC0/Public Domain.)

18
$ 13.16
$ 12.72 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @wakeupkitty
$ 0.05 from @Jnavedan
+ 10
Sponsors of Mictorrani
empty
empty
Avatar for Mictorrani
1 year ago

Comments

I don't know each one of them. Never watched that much television I guess but I do agree culture moved, and so did creativity. I saw that happen about 30 years ago and the telly lost it's charm while I lost the patience to watch. I agree the British crime series are the best, German is better too but I loved Alias Smith and Jones just like Smokey and the Bandit.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I agree that some German series are good.

I have never seen Smokey and the Bandit, so I have no opinion about it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I like those kind of English series like Poirot or Morse... and also I remember when I was a kid I watched Bonanza and I don't know why but I loved it jaja

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, the English crime series are the best.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hello, my friend.

For many years I was captivated by television. Even some of the series you point out captivated my attention.

Fortunately, today I have freed myself and now I watch them very sporadically with a critical eye.

I now understand that they have connoted messages with the intention beyond entertaining.

Especially, I was a fan of Gene Roddenberry's StarTrek and some Irwin Allen series like Lost in Space.

Another series that set the tone was Zorro starring Guy Williams which with only two seasons still airs on some channels.

Yes, as you rightly say, the golden age of the series took place between the 60s and 70s.

Greetings.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hello Jnavedan. Yes, Zorro should have been included here, of course. I'm sure there are more series I have missed, and everyone has his/her own favourites. Thank you for your contribution.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You're welcome, my friend. I really enjoyed this article.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I really want to watch public eye.coz it seems more interesting as you have mentioned about it. I love to watch detective series coz I broaden your mind you start think beyond the boundary. And also meystrious series you have written.

$ 0.00
1 year ago
$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you i must watch it and write over it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago