More Than The Pay..

32 50
Avatar for Mhizutty
1 year ago

I woke up to series of phone calls this morning that I almost cried out in pains cos I needed my sleep. The phone calls coupled with my sister and her loud voice screaming all over the house, just had to practically ruin my perfect dream where I was having fun and sleeping peacefully.

After returning the missed calls I had, I decided to also call my elder brother who had called me while I was still asleep and as I did, he told me about how my niece has been crying all day that she wanted to come and see me and her Grandma. At that instant I felt so loved and special. Quite frankly it's a feeling that I don't get all the time so I'm going to bask in it for awhile.

Since I was already up, I had to go about my other activities and in my to-do list was getting a job. As if I had not had enough, it started to rain and my plans for job hunting had to be postponed.

Now let's get to the main purpose of this article.

Whenever people hear the word job, they are often times concerned with the pay. Infact when someone says I've gotten a new job, the next thing after congratulations (that's if they have courtesy enough to even congratulate you) will be;

  • Where is the job?

  • How much do you earn?

Most people only even ask where the job is just so they can ask how much the pay is.

I guess what I'm trying to say is, money in a job is not everything. The first thing I actually consider whenever I go in search of a job is if it would affect my choir rehearsals on Saturday which starts by 5pm and then my Sunday church. It doesn't matter if you'd pay me a million and we can't come to a compromise on how to fix in choir and church then I just conclude that the job is not for me but sometimes I almost want to succumb but I manage to always hold my ground.

Most people make this mistake of going after the money and in the first 2 weeks they are already tired of the job because it's not something they can do.

A job should be something that you enjoy to do. Something that doesn't drain you mentally as well as physically. Do not let the pay attract you and then trap you in a situation where you can't cope.

This is often left in the beginning. Most people even go as far as saying that if the job pays well, they will learn to love it. I'm afraid you either love it or you don't, whether it pays well or not.

It's like a girl who claims to love a rich man but really doesn't. She just wants his money and not him. I need not tell you how such relationships end cos we've seen them well enough to know the story. Therefore, that high paying job you do not love is no different.

I have always had a thing for all the jobs I've ever done, so much that when I want to leave I am missed not because I'm the best, but because I do it with all my heart and I always leave a good mark behind.

People who get promoted and praised are those who enjoy what they do. Take read.cash for example, there are so many dormant account today because those people probably got in because of the incentive to earn and not really because they have the passion for writing.

I won't lie and say that when our friend rusty doesn't visit that passion wanes but if you're here for the bigger picture, you'd definitely pick yourself back up and continue because you know what it means to you unlike other who have given up and left.

All I'm saying is, in our quest for money, we should try to find what we are passionate about and remember that not all jobs are meant for everybody.

Lead image source..

Author's Epilogue

I was already feeling so tired and sleepy and not in the mood to write today but all thanks to Bae❀️, who gingered me and even made writing easy by telling me to look inward into my day.

I'm happy cos I went to pick my niece and we have spent the day together. We'll let you see pictures of us tomorrow after church.

Thanks for reading...

Mhizutty the voice of truth 🎡🎢🎡

21
$ 6.01
$ 5.63 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
$ 0.05 from @Trifecta
+ 11
Sponsors of Mhizutty
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Mhizutty
1 year ago

Comments

I learned to love my job. It made me what I am now. The main reason for pursuing this job was because of the salary. But as the time passed, it gave me more than the pay but the reason for living. I am serving the public through my job and I love it.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

The salary may be the motive for the job but you've done well by finding something to love about it...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm glad you love your job and it pays well, not everyone is as lucky like you are.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes this is really the truth of it all, time is really important especially when it's comes to church activities, and that is what I always do, if my job will not permit me to serve God then it's means that job is not for me because if it were for me the time would have been in my favor. No body would bribe my time with money, thanks for sharing friend.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I'm glad you agree with me. When His gives a thing, he makes it perfect and we'll suited for the person in question.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That is right friend

$ 0.00
1 year ago

While money is important, I agree with you that you shouldn't make choices about a job just for the pay. If you have the option to, then a you should choose the job you enjoy because then it doesn't feel like work and I think you give your best output as well. Sadly sometimes people have to settle for what they get so they can pay their bills.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That's the thing, the bills are the reason why people settle for whatever is available and suffer in silence.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

With our country's situation, it is whatever that will put food on the table, people are going for. They don't mind if they love the job or not, the stomach needs food. But there are those who still have passion for what they do and are willing to do it without looking at the pay involve.

I think next time if you need to sleep and do not want anyone to disturb you, put your phone on silence, airplane mode or switch it off. I place my phone on airplane mode many times.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

You're so right oo...I really don't blame then for going after what can feed them and their families.

Thanks jare...most times I always just sleep off forgetting to put my phone on airplane mode but I'll try to be more conscious now.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

With the way Nigeria is, I doubt most people are doing the job they love. They are doing what put food on the table for them and I believe God can also help you to get a job that won't affect your service to Him.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

This clearly depicts the case of available being desirable. I hope to find a good one soon, I know God is on the matter.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You will. "Before you call on Me I will answer, while you are yet speaking, I will hear."

$ 0.00
1 year ago

So if they offer you a one million naira job with the condition that you won't be going for choir practice, you won't take it? 🌚 You fit even quit the choir all together πŸ˜†

$ 0.02
1 year ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

Omor as e dey be now ehnn, I don dey consider the thing ooo..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You wouldn't't blame them would you. The economy of the country is already in shambles

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Hmmm...I guess I understand, people are just trying to get by.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Everybody can earn $500 Daily… Yes! you can earn more than you think by working online from home. I have been doing this job for like a ADt few weeks and my last week payment was exactly 2537 dollars. .....https://www.workbz.com

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think both sides are quite important, because sometimes you get a job you dearly love but the pay is not what you can survive on. You have to look for alternatives then.

I think there could be a balance between both, where you don't always have to forgo one for the other.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

There ought to be a balance quite alright but finding that balance is what the problem is cos often times there is none available and you have to choose between high pay or a job you love.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hehe. Job aside. Let's assume the reason choir practice has to be Saturday is because that's when everyone will have time as it is the weekend. Is it good for the voice? Working it on Saturday and singing again on Sunday. Wouldn't it be best if the choir practice was on a Wednesday or Thursday so th voice can recover in time before Sunday?

$ 0.02
1 year ago

It's usually Saturday cos of availability and the idea that working days are monday to Friday. Apart from that, Saturday aids easy remembrance of what has been learnt Instead of fixing it for Wednesday and by Sunday it's like everyone has been brainwashed. Trust me I've had this experience and it wasn't funny..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Depends on the job though, we shouldn't get too attached to it cause at the end of the day, we are working for someone and people change

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That's another way to look at it, all of one's effort just go to waste when a new owner comes and wants to maybe sell the establishment.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

There were times Rusty didn't do me right. Lol... But I couldn't just give in. I admit I felt like my work wasn't wanted. But, I stood my ground cos I couldn't stand not doing what I loved. :D

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That's the spirit indeed!....keep doing it bro and he'll show up in time at least this is what I say to myself.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sure. I'll keep at it. :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You have a point. Some people do not even want to know what job it is. They only want to do the job simply because of the money which is not really good. Some people may not even think how how much transport fare they'll spend to the place. All they want to know is the salary and at the end of the day, when they calculate their transport fare and their salary it's either they have little or no change.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I always laugh when I hear people complain about this very thing you mentioned and I always ask them if they did not do the maths before taking the job...funny!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

i bet if everyone has the same mindset, everyone will not be stressed with work, as we all love what we do. unfortunately, there are some who got no choice but to take whatever job is giving them the best salary because they need it.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

You're right...it's the way we've found ourselves. Things are on the high side and we need money to pay bill so wherever money is, people start going.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes that's true...

$ 0.00
1 year ago