My first time experience

Avatar for McYusuf
2 years ago

Hi everyone.

Hope you are having a good time over there in the part of the world you are in. It is raining here as I am getting myself prepared to sleep but I still have much on my table to be attended to. The weather is cool and I am not married. So nothing like weather for 2. I just had to put on my headset and play some music while composing this. And I hope you have a nice time reading.

My first cooking.

If you are a typical Nigerian, you grew up in this country and you are not a โ€œget insideโ€ child, then you should have your first cooking from the mum and dad play we made outside where we will cook our meals with sand and also serve ourselves the so-called food on leaves or bottle covers. ๐Ÿ˜‚. I enjoyed those days. Gone are the days.

But officially; My first cooking experience was a whack.

I remembered back then when I had to prepare my first meal. ๐Ÿ˜‚. At times it is always good to make mistakes because it would surely open room for improvement. But when one denies the opportunity to learn and is always scared to make mistakes then I would say it might turn out difficult to pave the way towards making one's better become best.

I would always stay with mum in the kitchen not for learning, but for getting the opportunity to have a first-hand taste of the meal with mum especially when it is time to fry meat or fish. I am sure if I had helped her pass the spoon and the frypan. I helped her wash the dishes she might want to be in need of. I would always get a taste too. That was my first impression of the kitchen.

As time goes on I advance more. From helping her get cooking utensils I got an upgrade to supporting her to clean the fish and meat, grinding pepper, and some other petty kinds of stuff but still, I wasnโ€™t given the access to get closer to the stove. And thatโ€™s indeed my target.

It went on like this for days, weeks, months, and even years. I was still unable to start cooking and I wasnโ€™t much concerned because I knew one day the time would come.

There was a day Mum went on a trip. She already prepared all the meals we have to eat for all her days out of the home. So her mind would be at rest that we have no or less problem when it comes to feeding. I wasnโ€™t satisfied with the food at home. I wanted to taste the food I prepared. So I waited and monitored my brother and sister till they fell asleep. I also acted like I was sleeping then I woke up gently and headed over to the kitchen to check the stove and I realized there was still some kerosene left in there. I went to the backyard and harvested some pepper ๐ŸŒถ and vegetables. I started to tiptoe so I wonโ€™t call the attention of my brother and sister who were asleep. I went to the kitchen to prepare the soup ๐Ÿ˜‚. If you could see the happiness in my face then. You would think I won a lottery. I lit the stove and then dropped a stainless plate on it so it would absorb heat faster and quicker. I added some oil and left it to get hot. I just assumed the minute mum would leave it on fire without knowing there is a difference in using the pot mum uses and the stainless I was about to use.

The next thing I did after waiting for a long time was to add the pepper to it. I already mixed the pepper with water so I poured it into the hot oil. Immediately I poured the pepper, the stainless caught fire ๐Ÿ”ฅ and everything started to burn because of the overheated oil. I was in despair meanwhile I didn't want my brother to wake and catch me in the act. I poured a lot of water to stop the fire. Then immediately I used my bare hands to hold the stainless plate to drop itโ€ฆ

Ooh ๐Ÿ˜ฎ ! I shouted and started to jump up and down flinging my fingers then dipped it in a bucket of water ๐Ÿ’ง to cool. The sound of the stainless already woken my brother and sister up. ๐Ÿ˜‚ They came looking at me and my drama in the kitchen and started to laugh ๐Ÿ˜‚. I was ashamed of myself.

My brother told me to get another vegetable then we started the cooking all over. He was like a pro in my face as he made everything so perfect. He used the pot instead of a stainless. Wow ๐Ÿคฉ! His soup was ready then itโ€™s time to have a taste. After taking my first bite, then the three of us looked each other in the eye and burst out with laughter. Immediately I spite out the soup and shouted too much salt!!! ๐Ÿคฃ ๐Ÿ˜† ๐Ÿ˜‚. We later poured the rubbish soup away.

My first time asking a girl out

I should compose something on this too as the challenge requested but I would keep this for another article. Not to make my article a boring epistle.

Thanks so much, @George_Dee for giving me the opportunity to write โœ๏ธ something about my past and smile ๐Ÿ˜ƒ. You can check out his post My first time experience here.

Image by George_dee and permission to use it on contest post

9
$ 4.27
$ 4.06 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
+ 4
Sponsors of McYusuf
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for McYusuf
2 years ago
Enjoyed this article?  Earn Bitcoin Cash by sharing it! Explain
...and you will also help the author collect more tips.

Comments

Aigoo! Same goes for me too bro..I will definitely wait for the next part of this article..

Hmm....Here's another writing prompt, but then again, I wasn't still write the other one..๐Ÿ˜…

$ 0.02
2 years ago

๐Ÿ˜‚ ๐Ÿ˜‚. Sis! Maybe you should get a diary and keep saving them for day that writerโ€™s block might want to show up. Then you get to them.

You are really a great image on the platform we appreciate your contribution as always.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I will say you had a fun experience when you were younger. Your story made me laugh throughout my readings and I like the way it was arranged.

Learning to cook at a younger age is not easy you need an experience person to teach you gradually without making any mistakes on the steps. You having the idea to use a stainless plate instead of a pot is very funny, anyways you were small then. Even your elder brother was unable to get the soup well, to tell us that mother is the best, they are good at what they do.

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahaha. Fathers are also good too. Donโ€™t make us feel like we canโ€™t do anything in the kitchen ๐Ÿ˜‚ I remember when dad do cook too. But not compared to Mum. Muaaah ๐Ÿ’‹ to all our mum out there

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I won't dispute the fact that fathers are also good, I have seen some fathers that can even cook more than the mothers. I will use my uncle for example because he can cook very well. Anytime my uncle decides to go to the kitchen am always happy because I know he will come out with something better.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚ when you people took a bite, I thought you wanted to say is the best soup you have ever tested, only to realize it was the worst ๐Ÿ˜‚

$ 0.02
2 years ago

lol ๐Ÿ˜‚ ๐Ÿ˜‚.. he also thought he could be the best but in his mind he knew he was just on trial and error. ๐Ÿ˜‚

Thanks so much for reading.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You got me laughing ๐Ÿ˜‚. The scenario of getting sparked in the palm or flesh from a cooking pot is out this world. I have had this experience countless time. You first time experience story is nice. I'm waiting for the next episode

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahaha. My boss! Here you are!
Thanks so much for reading through. I already made the nest episode.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Eweeee!!! I can't stop laughing, first Time of cooking turns into a drama with the pot and fire... Hope the place did not swell up, I mean the hand you used to carry the hot pan...eyah epele ๐Ÿ˜น๐Ÿ˜น๐Ÿ˜น

Well it's a first time experience, gradually you got to understand the whole concept about cooking, just step by step, Rome is not built in a day and I believe you're now a pro.

I would want to miss the article you'll be writing on your first time experience on asking a girl out, can't wait to laugh our my ass .... naughty me ๐Ÿคช๐Ÿ˜‹

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hahaha. I just made the article. ๐Ÿ˜‚ I have been kinda busy for days now. Sorry for the late response.

The palm got red ooo. But I couldnโ€™t remember if it later swelled up.

And yeah I am a pro but not compatible to a veteran like you . Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your first time asking a girl out ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿ˜…

$ 0.01
2 years ago

๐Ÿ˜‚ ๐Ÿ˜‚.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

๐Ÿ˜…๐Ÿ˜…๐Ÿ˜…your brother makes me laugh, so he did everything as a pro not knowing he can't cook and spoil it with salt haha.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You know na! That feeling as a brother and the eldest you would want to showcase your abilities through experience but later the soup itself became a judge. Thanks for stopping by sir

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are welcome bro

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am more after your first time dating a girl ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahaha. ๐Ÿ˜‚ ๐Ÿ˜‚ ๐Ÿ˜‚. Just made it some minutes ago. Been kinda busy for days now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago