Let's be dramatic with poetry

5 142
Avatar for McJulez
2 years ago

October 9, 2021

As I continue watching the series Hometown Cha-Cha-Cha that was recommended by my friends which was originally recommended to them also by their special someone (sana all), I am scribbling down my thoughts for today's article that I am sharing with you.

Yesterday, I wasn't able to make one because I just slept after our quiz and watched some films and some TikTok videos. Going back to the topic, let us be dramatic today with poetry. I fill this article with some lines of my personal poems, from my favorite songs, and anything under the sun that is related to my topic today.

Roses are red
Violets are blue
You are all amazing
These words of mine are true.

Diving into Dramatic Poetry

Dramatic poetry is any drama that is written in verse, which is meant to be recited. It is also a drama that is written and meant to be spoken. It usually tells a story or refers to a situation, and this would include closet drama, dramatic monologue, and rhyme verse.

From this given definition, I hope you've got an idea as to what this kind of drama is all about. During high school, it is always given to students as an activity or group project. 

I can remember those times where we do some dramatic poetry and perform it in front of our classmates and other students. It is overwhelming and it makes anyone nervous, but as a student who wants something good, I did my best even if I am already shaking inside.

Enough of that things. We will proceed now to the types of dramatic poetry.

The first one is tragedy drama which has a tragic ending, just like for example, the death of either or both the leading characters. In short, it is any story that ends unhappily. It is to be noted that the verse dramas "Hamlet", "Romeo and Juliet" and "The Crucible" are examples of tragedies. 

"Held in time, in a world of tears I slowly drown
Goin' home, I just can't make it all alone"

From Bee Gees - Tragedy

Another type is the comedy drama which endeavors to amuse or entertain. As the name implies, the ultimate purpose is "to make the audience laugh" Examples of this type are "Comedy of Error," "The Tempest," and "The Midsummer Night Dream." by William Shakespeare.

The last type is the dramatic monologue, which is viewed as a one-sided conversation. In here, the speech is given by one character. The thought, emotions of the speaker are revealed through his actions. An example of this type is "My Last Duchess"

Actually, I like to talk about my other experiences regarding this topic which we did before in high school and in the different contests I have joined, but maybe I will just make a separate article for those. Besides, this article is already getting longer.

I hope you enjoyed well our topic for today the same way as I enjoyed writing it here for you. Smile as you look up in the night sky. Silently hope that the stars will align and grant your wish. Before we formally end this article I have made, I have a question here which you may like to answer.

If you can recall a performance you did before as a student, what is the funniest thing you do?

Sponsors of McJulez
empty
empty
empty

Read more articles:

If you are enjoying it, do not forget to show your support. Remember also that you are handsome/beautiful in your own way. So be brave and confident!

Thanks to my readers and sponsors for following my publications. May God bless you a hundredfold. Also, this is original content. Most of the photos I use are free images from either Unsplash or Pixabay.

4
$ 3.31
$ 3.08 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 3
Sponsors of McJulez
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for McJulez
2 years ago

Comments

I was a shy student. Just sitting in the corner :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Sometimes, I'm shy too po. But our teachers really want us to bring out what's best in us kaya kung ano ano pinapagawa haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like short plays. Had we have exposure to Shakespeare plays then, id love it even more! Wah i only got to read about them and it is a little painful to be reading script . But i think i will love it now. Hahha.

What did I do? I did a lip-sync of annie's tomorrow hahahaa..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I don't know that song, but it seems you had a great experience doing it. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha ..I never took another stage role after unless it is a group thing. You know when you are young they push you to perform ahhaha...

$ 0.00
2 years ago