Lapses do Happen

19 46
Avatar for McJulez
2 years ago
Topics: Attention

That feeling when you are reading a lengthy article, but when you reach the last paragraph where you realize that you can't recall what you have just read, that is absolutely annoying. 

Our attention could lapse, and it does affect our lives.

Have you ever experienced going somewhere to get something but then when you are already at the place where you are supposed to get something, you forget what it is? That happens to me sometimes, and it is really exasperating, especially when I really need it, but I fail to remember what it is. But then after a while, it will suddenly pop up in my mind. It will appear at the most unexpected time, or worst, it comes into your mind when you do not need it already.

It does affect productivity, making life a bit harder sometimes. It is like you are missing some of the efforts you exerted. Though they make us feel annoyed, there is something we should put in mind. It really happens sometimes at no particular time. You will just realize that your attention lapsed.

When it happens to you, do not feel sad or mad. Our focus may be pulled away, but that is okay because nothing in this world is considered perfect or absolutely flawless. However, we have to dissipate or make use of the energy in our minds to take our focus back, especially to where we really need it. It is exhausting to do it multiple times, but it is better than just letting ourselves forget what we should have really been done when we have it.

While it is okay to multitask, know that it affects our focus too. As an alternative, instead of doing several things at the same time, why not do it one at a time and then do the other things when you get tired or bored with the current one? However, we all have a choice, and I cannot stop you if that is what you want to do. As for me, I want to tell this thing because it helps mitigate some lapses of attention.

Being productive does not mean you do a lot of things in a day. Do not do things many so much. Say you are scrolling in a specific social media. Then you don't realize you have been scrolling for hours already. Well, it gets updated every minute or in just a blink of an eye. It entertains us, but it also aggravates the possibility of your attention being lapsed. So, take a pause from what you are doing, take a deep breath, then proceed after.

Another great thing to do is do not just do physical exercises. We should also do some exercises for our brain, like playing a jigsaw puzzle, which benefits various cognitive capacities that are healthy for our brain. On the other hand, maintain a good posture when sitting on a chair. Massage your head when it gets hurt a little bit after a few hours of work and looking at the monitor. And close your eyes when you feel that you need to. We may not obtain unwavering focus. Our brain is at least being guided to get back on course when we need it. 

Closing Thoughts

Life is sometimes like this. We get to experience things like having a lapsed attention. The next time you feel like you have been missing out or you feel like you are already getting old because you momentarily forget what you need to get in a room you entered, do not put a sad aura on your face. Instead, work on it and do the things I have mentioned, if you like. And if ever you experience some of the things I have mentioned, and you are reading it right now, do not laugh as if you are really old. It might be a sign of aging, but know that we can make our brain healthier. Last but definitely not the least, always have a presence of mind. Words are powerful, and so is our brain. So do not worry too much. Smile and be productive.

12
$ 7.94
$ 7.64 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
$ 0.05 from @deedum
+ 4
Sponsors of McJulez
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for McJulez
2 years ago
Topics: Attention

Comments

Ahaha while reading this, there's something in my mind that makes me laugh. I often forget something, and that's really annoying I swear, haha okay I will do some brain exercise too. Thank you for reminding me that I am getting old. Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahahaha, I also feel like I ain't getting younger whenever I become forgetful about things. 😅 Aminado LOL.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Dumadaan ang mga araw, at tayo'y patanda ng patanda haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Many times I have experienced this and I'm not even that old 😂, I will try to do things one at a time now, to lesser the stress.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I feel you. I ain't old yet but sometimes I feel like old already everytime I become forgetful lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This lapse thing affect me a lot. You might just tell me a thing one second amd i need a refresher the next second

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Absolutely. I feel that too sometimes.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is the reason kung bakit gusto ko nakapokus ako sa work ko.. Kasi isang iglap lang at mapalingon ka, pagbalik ng mata sa ginagawa hindi ko na maalala kung ano na nga ba ang next kong gagawin.. Hahaha... Napaka short term ng memory ko nowadays

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Grabe rin kasi ang stress na dolut ng pandemiya na ito. Sana talaga bumalik na sa dati

$ 0.00
2 years ago

truth po..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It happens to almost everyone either young or old

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I think the reason why we forget things is that we might have over stressed the brain Let’s learn to take some rest then the human body will be back to normal It happens to me very well and now I’m trying to avoid it

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Agreed. Our mind as well as body gets tired also. So we must take a break also sometime

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haahahahah ...bakit parang natamaan ako sa lahat.. I mostly multitask in my field of work and yeah sometimes I became out of focus and forget what are the most important things to do...

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ako nga rin po natatamaan habng sinusulat haha. Mahilig rin kasi akong magmultitask sometimes

$ 0.00
2 years ago

haahaha kasi gusto natin matapos agad kaso sa kaka multi task natin wala tayo natatapos kahit isa...aigooooo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Relaatttee. Minsan pag may gusto akong kunin sa isang place nakakalimutna ko kung ano yun tas I'll just stay there until ma remember ko kung ano yung kukunin ko.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Mapapakamot ka na pang ng ulo pag hindi mo naalala ang kukunin mo 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Truue hahah minsan nga nababto pa ako ng mama ko dahil dyan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago