An open letter to the girl who can’t love herself

8 37
Avatar for McJulez
2 years ago
Topics: Letter

If ever you found yourself reading this letter, I hope my words will be able to connect with you and bring a little magic from within.

An open letter to the girl who can’t love herself

(First and foremost, this is originally written by one of my classmates who asked me if I can post it here since she doesn't have an account. I hope you will like it.)

Loving ourselves is hard to define and even harder to do. More often than not, we think that we love ourselves until the time comes – we realize that we’ve barely left ourselves with love and feel too lost to even think about what happened.

Loving yourself is a very long way process but just like any rough road, the destination and the purpose of the journey should be more important. But the biggest question before everything is, “Do you know who you are?”

You can’t love yourself when you are not sure who you are anymore. We think that life passes by so quickly and we seem to overlook the small happenings that change us. A lot of things occur but maybe we’re too busy to focus on them that’s why time really comes when we look at the mirror and see a stranger.

The answer is to discover and rediscover yourself. This might seem complicated but we have to assure ourselves that this is impossible to happen overnight; what we only have to do is to take small steps each day. The steps will be unclear too – there will be times we feel like we are back or falling behind our progress, but it’s okay. The most important thing is that we are trying.

Once you find yourself, I’m sure you will be amazed because at this time, you have already been through the hardest parts. You have recognized your mistakes in the past and you have forgiven yourself for being that person.

I’m proud of you that you had the courage to be the better version of yourself no matter how hard the circumstances are.

I’m proud of you for overcoming your fears despite the unknowingly blank future we foresee during those times.

I’m proud of you for stepping up and believing in yourself and that there are always rainbows after the storm.

Loving yourself will now be an easier task because your heart is now light and there are spaces where joy could grow. You only have now to open your eyes to the beauty around you. Find where your heart feels like home and nurture that place, wherever it is.

To you, who loses hope in passing the dark times. I believe that you can and it may look impossible right now but you don’t have to assess everything today, just do what feels right now and leave the rest for tomorrow. 

The breakthroughs will come to you and piece by piece, things will be clearer. You may learn to burn bridges and that means you’re already setting your walls high again from people who make you feel small; however, you will also learn how to build strong connections with people who are good for your soul.

Closing Thoughts

Believe me, in a day we aren’t sure of yet, you will look into the mirror and see the progress you’ve been yearning for, and tears won’t fall because of the wounds from the past, but because of how you’ve carried yourself when no one else was there and how you’ve grown bigger than the pain that once cost almost of your everything.

The only thing that makes the difference is if you decide to do it for everyone but you. Making yourself the center of your world is not selfish; in fact, you can’t love truthfully when there’s no love left for you. 

The process of growth is long and only you can determine how far you’ve gone. Be honest with yourself. Begin when you’re ready to admit your mistakes and accept that people do face downfalls but we don’t deserve to suffer for too long because we can get better.

To you, I hope I made you think of something that is good. I hope that despite all the consequences, you will learn to love yourself. 


8
$ 1.81
$ 1.66 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Koolname
$ 0.05 from @rebeysa85
Sponsors of McJulez
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for McJulez
2 years ago
Topics: Letter

Comments

Your friend seemed to be great writer. It is not only inspiring, it is full of substance too.

Indeed, our world is filled with darkness sometimes. The important thing is we got to get up and love ourselves more.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks. Hope it helps. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Minsan nakong nawala, akala ko lahat ng bagay na ginagawa ko ay mabuti, yun pala habang tinitignan ang sarili, di pala ako to. Lasingero at barkadista tapos , sira sa babae kahit pinag loloko na haha pilit padin pinag lalaban haha then I realized tama. Na I have to love myself first. Haha yun na naging tama na buhay ko. Sana nga tama padin ngayun haha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Tama. Mahalin muna ang sarili. Kung masaya ka sa pinili mo, tama ang naging desisyon mo. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have been under the process of rediscovering and loving my self as well. It is true that it is really hard to forgive yourself (what more to love yourself), especially if you've done something in the past, a mistake, that you could not just get rid the guilt off. Sometimes I doubt if I ever even have a right to be happy, after what I have done and didn't do. But I realized and learned from the people that constantly remind me that the only way to get over it is to face it head on myself, and try hard to become better than the past me who made that mistake. As I read this, I was also reminded that I am not facing this alone. Let's be better than who we are yesterday!😊

$ 0.01
2 years ago

All will be going to went well. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Loving ourselves are very essential talaga. We need to love ourselves first so that we can also love others, but before that know yourself first, your worth and do things that could make you happy

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Opo. Love first ☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago