Interview Questions for my Experiences in Hive as a Newbie

8 50
Avatar for Mayt
Written by
1 year ago

I've created my account in Hive for 2 weeks now, but posting and interacting within 1 week. I experienced some difficulties at first but got to learn some tactics by reading and interacting with some co-hives. Now I can say I'm a little bit familiar with the platform while using ecency and peakd at the same time. Well, some are still in the process of learning but as a newbie, I know you understand the complications.

Now, I have here some interesting questions, and I'll answer them based on what I experienced in Hive.

What’s one thing you wish you’d known when you started working at Hive or what advice would you give to a newbie?

One thing that I wish I understand in Hive and known from the start is how to use RC (Resource Credit). This is the only struggle I encountered as a newbie so far. After creating an account, I don't have any idea how to start or what to do to join the crowd. So I just hang in there, without posting or interacting. After a week, I got a notification from the Ecency app that I need to write something. So that motivates me to read some of the posts, and know how to start or what to post. Then I learned that a self-introduction is a must. I understand the process... You're just new, hopping into a new place, then you'll not introduce yourself? That's a disrespectful way of being a newbie. So maybe that's reasonable enough to write a self-introduction and start my journey on Hive. So I did. I've created a self-introductory post and published it, then there you go, I did my first step. That post is the only thing I did, then @crazywrites6 who referred me commented. So what I did is upvote, and reply, just like usual. But then after that... I don't have any RC left... Can't comment on anyone even for the next day. That confused me. So... What I did is read and browse some of the beginner's guides that others commented on my first post. Thanks to them. It's a big help for all the newbies like me.

So... newbies, my advice is to read and read and read first about how Hive works. There are plenty of things we need to know before jumping into publishing, commenting, and interacting with others. Here is what I've found helpful on my part:
PART 1 -
https://ecency.com/hive-189306/@ryzeonline/hive-a-complete-beginners-guide-with-fun-doodles-pt-1
PART 2 -
https://ecency.com/hive-189306/@ryzeonline/hive-a-complete-beginners-guide-with-fun-doodles-pt-2
These 2 posts are from @ryzeonline. That's 2 portions of his blog. It's long but worth it to read. You'll surely learn some basic information about how Hive works simply and enjoyably as it has a doodle on it.
And also before I forgot, if you're like me who was ignorant about RC at first and didn't save some of it. I mean spend it all without knowing it could be empty soon, you can try joining The Terminal at Discord. They are ready to help you as a newbie, maybe delegating some RC when you don't have enough of it. And any questions related to Hive are welcome on their general chat.

What’s your go-to productivity trick?

As of now, I'm into the "self-exposure" trick. As a newbie, I want to be known by some of my co-hives. And like what I've read in @KittyGirl's post on discord, posting regularly, commenting, and interacting with others' posts, and of course, upvoting even if we don't have enough Hive Power to give a good amount is okay. That's my goal every day... And ohh, I'm trying to reblog good posts too, just 2 posts for a day is enough to help them with their posts. :))

What led you to this career?

I'm a full-time online worker before. But now that I have a baby, I can't prioritize work (8 hours working in front of a laptop). I'm just a full-time mom now without a salary. 😅 And yes, it's hard to rely on my hubby for our everyday needs. I need to assist him in some way that I can. And because blogging is one of my "talents" (not that good though 😅), I grab the opportunity whenever there is. So I joined Hive. And I'm shocked at how good it is. Good thing I've signed up and now trying to earn little by little. Well, I'm not yet getting my profit because of the 7 days duration... but let's claim it. Someday, this is all worth it.

What are you currently excited about in your job at Hive?

Honestly, receiving a lot of notifications on my phone... Hearing the messages coming one after another means I have been upvoted. The curation trail is one thing that amazes me in Hive. Especially on my first post. When @ocdb upvoted, there comes the trail... That's a lot that you'll surely get excited about when you're not used to it. Well, I still felt that excitement till now whenever the curation trail upvoted you.

Same in read.cash when TheRandomRewarder upvoted your post, that's like a curation trail, one after another. Well, that's before. Missing it now, honestly. 😅

I hope this interview's questions and answers can help those newbies. Not that much information, but basic knowledge that helps me at first might benefit you too.  😉

Disclaimer: All photographs by me, unless otherwise stated. 

4
$ 1.02
$ 0.94 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Unity
$ 0.02 from @fantagira
+ 1
Sponsors of Mayt
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Mayt
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

I have had an account on Steemit since 2017. Now, I see that I have an account on the Ecency platform with all my Steemit articles automatically reposted. Do you know how and why?

$ 0.01
1 year ago

As what I've read, all the data that was on Steem was taken with the new Hive chain. Therefore, every post that was ever authored on Steem was brought along, as well as user accounts, etc. It's like Steem became the original book and Hive is the exact copy.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Maybe, I can log in to that account using Steemit credentials. I will check.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Try it. Not that familiar though. Just read that info on discord.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Great to hear you've been enjoying your time on Hive. You even found your way to the terminal - that's my favourite place to hang out 😉💙

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks to you. You're one of the good Samaritan who teaches me the way. That's the reason I got to enjoy Hive now. I am free to comment, publish and upvote there.☺️

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Aww, I'm so happy I could help. It's hard enough to start from scratch, but with no RC it is so painful.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, definitely. It's like you can't move. Anything you do is invalid. 😅

$ 0.00
1 year ago